We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released  (Read 10631 times)

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2014, 08:05:28 am »
There are still 4 topics requiring work:
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): when the queue contains items from a paying service: for a technical reason I still ignore, it looks like the required service key is notified to the Sonos official application but not to our plugin
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): it could take a lot of time if the queue content to be restored is big

I finally found an ultra efficient way to manage queue saving and restoring, simply through a Sonos playlist (saved queue).
The change will be really noticeable. I will make more tests but I think it will be fast more or less whatever the size of the queues.

Unfortunately, it is now too much fast and it can lead to Sonos crash in particular conditions, when groups are involved and the queue is big. When a zone becomes a coordinator for a group, it apparently inherits the queue content of the previous coordinator. During this time, the queue of the old coordinator must not be updated. At least, that is my current analysis. More work and more study will be needed...
This problem could be present even in the current and previous versions, even if I never noticed it. I am not sure.

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2014, 08:23:13 am »
Hi @lolodomo

The Sonos error message "Unable to play Say.5.mp3 - the track is not encoded correctly" is back again.  A reload of Vera seems to fix it, but it does seems to come back again. 

You have to look at the Sonos Controller (official app) to see this error message.

Sorry, it does never happen for me.
Is there special characters in your text ? I mean, are you sure that Google produces a file not empty ?

That being said, I could add a test to check that the file is not empty before trying to play it.

Comment this line in the file L_SonosTTS.lua:
Code: [Select]
        os.execute(DELETE_EXECUTE:format(device))This will disable the deletion of the file.
Then, when the problem comes back, check the size of the file and try to play it from a WEB browser using this URL: http://VERA_IP/Say.XX.mp3

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2014, 02:58:53 pm »
There are still 4 topics requiring work:
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): when the queue contains items from a paying service: for a technical reason I still ignore, it looks like the required service key is notified to the Sonos official application but not to our plugin
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): it could take a lot of time if the queue content to be restored is big

I finally found an ultra efficient way to manage queue saving and restoring, simply through a Sonos playlist (saved queue).
The change will be really noticeable. I will make more tests but I think it will be fast more or less whatever the size of the queues.

Unfortunately, it is now too much fast and it can lead to Sonos crash in particular conditions, when groups are involved and the queue is big. When a zone becomes a coordinator for a group, it apparently inherits the queue content of the previous coordinator. During this time, the queue of the old coordinator must not be updated. At least, that is my current analysis. More work and more study will be needed...
This problem could be present even in the current and previous versions, even if I never noticed it. I am not sure.

I GOT IT 8)
There is absolutely no need to manage queues, it is done automatically by the Sonos. The only point is to manage correctly the groups, which is the case now. TTS is now fast and not dependent on your queue content. 8)

My two first remaining points are now fixed. Remains at least the third enhancement (UI for TTS), I started to change the UI but not yet finished.

Offline jimpapa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +28/-1
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2014, 03:08:15 pm »
Awesome Lolodomo.   8)


Offline mickesanda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2014, 12:46:42 pm »
Hello,
I have a Vera3, upgraded to UI6. I have a Sonos Connect that is working flawlessly.
I cannot make it work in my Vera3. I also have the UPNP event Proxy installed.
I am able to see what is playing on the Sonos, i can control play stop, volume, but some features are not working, amongst them TTS Say. Also Discover button doesn't seem to do anything, nor ading the IP manually.
See attached pictures. I installed the Beta3 and i also checked that i have the silence.mp3.
VeraPlus UI7 1.7.4001, RFXTRX, 2 x HarmonyHub, HA-Bridge, 6 x Amazon Echo, Google Home, Fibaro dimmers and switches, Swiid, Ring DoorBell & cameras, Sonos, Yale Doorman, iKettle2.0 & Smarter Coffee, DSC 1616 with EVL3

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #20 on: February 23, 2014, 12:53:02 pm »
Many of the plug-ins that rely on java script will need to be updated to support UI6. Right now very few of these plug-ins support UI6.

- Garrett


Offline mickesanda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #21 on: February 23, 2014, 12:57:08 pm »
Thx, i'll be patient. The sad part is that the update to UI6 came automatically, and as a new Vera user I didn't think twice about upgrading, I assumed that it is backwards compatible.
Lesson learned..
/Mike

P.S. I really like AuthomationHD and I hope you'll find the time to fix UI6 compatibility
VeraPlus UI7 1.7.4001, RFXTRX, 2 x HarmonyHub, HA-Bridge, 6 x Amazon Echo, Google Home, Fibaro dimmers and switches, Swiid, Ring DoorBell & cameras, Sonos, Yale Doorman, iKettle2.0 & Smarter Coffee, DSC 1616 with EVL3

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #22 on: February 23, 2014, 01:08:58 pm »
I already have a test version out that works with UI6.

- Garrett


Offline jimpapa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +28/-1
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #23 on: February 23, 2014, 03:03:18 pm »
You can roll back to UI5 and enjoy working plugins etc.

The silence file is no longer needed.


Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #24 on: February 24, 2014, 07:58:20 am »
There are still 4 topics requiring work:
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): when the queue contains items from a paying service: for a technical reason I still ignore, it looks like the required service key is notified to the Sonos official application but not to our plugin
  • Restoring queue content (after TTS): it could take a lot of time if the queue content to be restored is big
  • Moving TTS UI in a new tab to let the user selects the engine and setup the engine parameters
  • Management of pairs

This ordered list matches my priorities.
I would like to handle the first 3 topics before releasing the plugin on the app store.

Point 3 is now done too.

Offline mickesanda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #25 on: February 24, 2014, 12:19:28 pm »
Thank you lolodomo,
I downloaded tags_beta3-165 and replaced all the files acording to instructions, deleted the old device and created a new one.
Unfortunately my above stated problem remains, the device discovery doesn't work as expected.
Maybe it is related to the UPNP plugin. How do i verify that UPNP is working well with UI6?
Thank you in advance,
/Mike
VeraPlus UI7 1.7.4001, RFXTRX, 2 x HarmonyHub, HA-Bridge, 6 x Amazon Echo, Google Home, Fibaro dimmers and switches, Swiid, Ring DoorBell & cameras, Sonos, Yale Doorman, iKettle2.0 & Smarter Coffee, DSC 1616 with EVL3

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #26 on: February 24, 2014, 12:37:55 pm »
Thank you lolodomo,
I downloaded tags_beta3-165 and replaced all the files acording to instructions, deleted the old device and created a new one.
Unfortunately my above stated problem remains, the device discovery doesn't work as expected.
Maybe it is related to the UPNP plugin. How do i verify that UPNP is working well with UI6?
Thank you in advance,
/Mike

The Sonos plugin has not been validated with UI6 and we already know that plugin UI will not work with UI6 due to a change of JQuery version.

Until now, the plugin is only compatible with UI5 and I suppose UI4.

You will have to be patient to get the plugin compatible with UI6. I am still running UI5 on my side.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 12:39:57 pm by lolodomo »

Offline a-lurker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Karma: +66/-8
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #27 on: February 24, 2014, 05:27:54 pm »
Hi lolodomo

I have been using Beta 3 @161 for some time with no problems, except for one:

I have a sonos box that is powered off completely over night. In the previous version of the plugin, when the sonos was powered up, the plugin knew it was back online. However with Beta 3 it no longer does and I have to push the "Check" button on the settings tab to get it back online. The DLNA plugin does the same thing. In the reverse - if the power goes off, the DLNA plugin does detect it and after a short delay says it's off line.

The proxy is installed and running - the sonos plugin says:
"UPnP Event proxy: proxy is used"

Very minor point: "proxy is used" should be either "the proxy is in use" or "the proxy is being used"

My apologies for being so pedantic about the English, as I know you are a French speaker. Thanks for your on going efforts on both the plugins.

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #28 on: February 25, 2014, 06:55:23 am »
Hi lolodomo

I have been using Beta 3 @161 for some time with no problems, except for one:

I have a sonos box that is powered off completely over night. In the previous version of the plugin, when the sonos was powered up, the plugin knew it was back online. However with Beta 3 it no longer does and I have to push the "Check" button on the settings tab to get it back online. The DLNA plugin does the same thing. In the reverse - if the power goes off, the DLNA plugin does detect it and after a short delay says it's off line.

Yes, since beta 3 the refresh of the state is controled by a setting defining the refresh rate: The variable is named "CheckStateRate". You can find it in the Advanced tab. The default value is 0, meaning no refresh. The expected value is a number of minutes.
I think most of people like me have Sonos powered ON all the time. I thought it was useless for us to trigger treatments every 5 minutes.

Quote
The proxy is installed and running - the sonos plugin says:
"UPnP Event proxy: proxy is used"

Very minor point: "proxy is used" should be either "the proxy is in use" or "the proxy is being used"

My apologies for being so pedantic about the English, as I know you are a French speaker. Thanks for your on going efforts on both the plugins.

I know my English speaking is not perfect. ;D
I will correct the label in beta 4.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 06:58:11 am by lolodomo »

Offline Rich1983

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Beta 3 version of the Sonos plugin released
« Reply #29 on: March 02, 2014, 04:37:38 pm »
Hi

I have followed instructions from http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sonos-wireless-music-systems/wiki/WikiStart#no1

I uploaded all files as it says and created icon on dashboard but doesn't show as a Sonos or when i go into setting Tab to continue etc.

I have attached screen shot for both. I have done this method twice step by step and get the same result. I am using Vera Lite

Any help would be great.

Rich