Author Topic: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?  (Read 784 times)

Offline aecchalet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +1/-1
Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« on: April 13, 2018, 02:09:19 am »
With earlier versions of the UI, I was able to set a min cool temp below which my guests could not lower the temperature with my AC.  The newest UI7 no longer gives me these settings.  I tried installing the Thermostat Min Max plugin but still don't see any options within the "advanced tab" to specify a min cool temperature.  Is it still possible to set a min cool temp with this thermostat or do I need to upgrade my thermostats to do so?
If I need to upgrade my zwave thermostat, any recommendations for a reliable thermostat with easy zwave connectivity and ability to set a min cool temp?
Thanks
Vera Plus 1.7.2138; 12xHRDS1, 2xTrane SCHTZMT400 Tstats; 5xZIR00, 4xCA9000 PIRs; 2xHA01C Recept; 2x2wy ZDW120W switch; 1xAppl (ACT, GE/Jasco), 1xLite Dim Mod (GE/Jasco, Evolve);  2xDead Bolts Schlage

Offline JohnRob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • Karma: +12/-4
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 01:34:58 pm »
Hi,

I have a similar thermostat from Honeywell.   I found it more reassuring setting the min and max at the thermostat using their menu.


Offline aecchalet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2018, 02:24:19 am »
Thanks for the tip.  I have to be there on site to manually set the min cooling temp. Fortunately, I will be there next week and it is now on my do list.
Vera Plus 1.7.2138; 12xHRDS1, 2xTrane SCHTZMT400 Tstats; 5xZIR00, 4xCA9000 PIRs; 2xHA01C Recept; 2x2wy ZDW120W switch; 1xAppl (ACT, GE/Jasco), 1xLite Dim Mod (GE/Jasco, Evolve);  2xDead Bolts Schlage

Offline kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2018, 08:46:23 pm »
aecchalet,

I have the same thermostat and, while on a Vera 3 and UI5, the "Thermostat Min Max" plug in worked just fine for me. I have since moved to PLEG for all my logic, so it was not a necessity for me now on a Vera Secure and UI7. The plug in has not been updated since 2011 and may not support UI7, but if you're feeling adventurous I can confirm that it 'did' work with your thermostat some time ago. Search the app store to find the plug in.

Offline aecchalet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2018, 11:14:57 pm »
@Kartcon,
Are you able to set the min cool temp remotely via PLEG?  If so, how did you do so?
Vera Plus 1.7.2138; 12xHRDS1, 2xTrane SCHTZMT400 Tstats; 5xZIR00, 4xCA9000 PIRs; 2xHA01C Recept; 2x2wy ZDW120W switch; 1xAppl (ACT, GE/Jasco), 1xLite Dim Mod (GE/Jasco, Evolve);  2xDead Bolts Schlage

Offline kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2018, 09:19:07 pm »
aecchalet, If you are asking can I LIMIT the minimum value with PLEG, then the answer is No. However, if you are trying to set the Cool Setpoint (where the a/c unit would start cooling) then Yes. I find the terminology a bit confusing sometimes with these thermostats, as there are Cool & Heat sepoints for each of the 3 modes (Heat, Cool & AutoChangeOver) so be certain you are setting the correct parameter AND that the thermostat is in the correct Mode. This is not always clearly evident when reviewing your PLEG reports. The action will say "SetCurrentSetpoint" but it will not specify which mode it is. See attached screen shot.

To be more clear on this; if the thermostat is in Auto Change Over MODE and you set the Cooling setpoint, NOTHING will happen. The thermostat must be in Cool Mode AND then you set the desired temperature setpoint. So in PLEG there will always be two actions associated with any temperature programming. 1 Set or confirm the MODE, 2 Set the setpoint.

In my setup I use the outside temp to determine which mode both thermostats are in at any giver time. Below a set number puts them in Heat Mode, above a set number is Cooling. Anything between those two parameters is AutoChangeOver Mode. I use a very narrow ACO window of just 5 degrees. Here in Florida its either hot or cold so my system does not stay in ACO for very long. Once in either Heat or Cool mode I set the SetPoints by a generic schedule of Morning, Daytime, Evening and Sleeping. Each has an associated Heat and Cool value which are stored and displayed on my devices page using MultiString. PLEG looks up these values and passes it into the SetPoint action when the condition is true. This allows us to set up a routine schedule AND modify it without going into PLEG (making it wife friendly and visually easy to see on Vera). Of course these values could just as easily be set directly in PLEG and skip the MultiString variables altogether, but I like being able to see what the values are as the months go by (sometimes I forget) :<(

I hope this helps and I am willing to share my HVAC PLEG Logic report if you need more assistance.

Offline kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2018, 09:29:12 pm »
aecchalet, After posting my response I got to thinking about the possibility of setting LIMITS to Cooling or Heating setpoints and I don't think it would be that difficult. Set up properties to monitor the current heat and cool setpoints and then create conditions to monitor those properties. Your actions would be to automatically reset the setpoint the desired limit value if the user attempted to manually set it beyond the allowed parameters. This should be fairly easy with PLEG but Im not sure what stress it may put on your heating/cooling units if someone repeatedly tried to override the allowed values.

Offline kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2018, 09:18:58 pm »
You can manually calibrate the temperature sensor using the controls on the thermostat. Here is text specific text from the user manual:
Could not attach the manual but send me a pm with an email address and I will forward to you if needed.

Quote
Sensor Calibration
The Sensor Calibration screen allows you to change the temperature calibration of the internal temperature sensor. You can change the temperature calibration by +/- 7 degrees.
When the Sensor Calibration screen is selected it will show the current temperature calibration (The (75) in the example screen below) and the current number of degrees of offset being applied (1 deg in the example). If the sensor?s actual temp is (74) with 0 degrees of offset and you want it to be 75, then press ?+? to add 1 deg and it will show (75).
To change the temperature calibration, use the scroll buttons to select the internal or a remote sensor. Once selected, use the + and ? buttons to change the temperature calibration to the desired setting.
The value shown in the (xx) is the calibrated or offset temperature that you want the sensor to show.
When you close this screen, it may take a few seconds for the temperature displayed on the main thermostat screen to update to the new temperature.