We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Nest issues  (Read 21092 times)

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Nest issues
« on: March 14, 2014, 04:14:20 am »
Hi, I've just noticed that I am unable to send commands via the Nest plug-in successfully, and that the current temperature that's being reported differs from the Nest-provided web and app interfaces.  I don't have access to my Vera logs from here at the moment, so I'm hoping another Nest plug-in user could check their own functionality and let me know if they see issues, and if so, if I could get Vera logs to help me diagnose it.  I am out of position to do this diagnosis myself from here as I don't have access to my Vera logs.  (If there is a Vera Control Ltd support person who could help me with that, I would appreciate it, otherwise it will be difficult for me to make any plugin changes.)

watou

Offline egoh

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 11:14:49 am »
Same problem here and I haven't been able to check the logs. Perhaps Nest changed their API?

Offline TheGadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • Technology Guru
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2014, 11:25:31 am »
Just checked, and the plugin is working properly for me.  I tested 3 of my Nests, and I was able to view status and control them as expected. 

Maybe Nest is having an isolated outage that is only affecting a fraction of their users??

"Lots of Z wave switches by various companies", 8 Panasonic IP cameras, 4 Schlage locks, 2 Kwikset locks, 3 Z-wave thermometers, 2 5 button Cooper scene controllers, etc.

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2014, 11:29:28 am »
Working fine for me also.  Can see the current temp and set point, as well as adjust it (was watching the Nest as adjustments were made via SQRemote)

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2014, 11:35:40 am »
Working fine for me also.  Can see the current temp and set point, as well as adjust it (was watching the Nest as adjustments were made via SQRemote)

I'm glad it's still working for some users.  I decided to change my password to force a new login, and now it won't connect again, and I still have no visibility to my own logs to see what's happening.  Either there is an isolated outage, an isolated difference in the web interface, my IP was blacklisted, or Nest has instituted an API threshold that I've exceeded.  Perhaps there are other possibilities.

If anyone else sees problems with the Nest plugin and can share some (sanitized) logs that show the errors, please share.

Regards,
watou

Offline TheGadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • Technology Guru
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2014, 11:52:40 am »
Interesting thought about you potentially being blacklisted.  That's always an unfortunate possibility. 

Hopefully this isn't a sign of bad things to come.  I will continue to periodically check Vera's ability to control my Nests, and will post here if something changes.

Good luck figuring it out.  Hope it's something simple.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 11:55:13 am by TheGadgetGuy »
"Lots of Z wave switches by various companies", 8 Panasonic IP cameras, 4 Schlage locks, 2 Kwikset locks, 3 Z-wave thermometers, 2 5 button Cooper scene controllers, etc.

Offline Ds514

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Because automatic.
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2014, 12:06:17 pm »
Looks like the plugin is working here as well. There is some chance the Nest is disconnected from wifi. Of all the possible causes, this is certainly the one I have encountered most.

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2014, 12:12:35 pm »
Looks like the plugin is working here as well. There is some chance the Nest is disconnected from wifi. Of all the possible causes, this is certainly the one I have encountered most.

Glad it's working for you, but I'm doubtful that the issue relates to the thermostat connecting to the mothership (nest.com), since I can still see and interact with it fine from the native web interface.  It seems to do with the connection between the plug-in to nest.com.  I have no signs of connectivity issues at the location where the thermostat and Vera are.

Is there a way that users can make use of Vera's Account -> Tech Support -> Remote Access connection to my unit, or is that strictly for Vera support people?

Offline Ds514

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Because automatic.
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2014, 01:56:44 pm »
Yes, if you can view the device via nest.com, then there is no wifi issue.

I am fairly certain that the Remote Access function you describe is strictly for Vera's own support personnel.

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2014, 02:04:09 pm »
I am fairly certain that the Remote Access function you describe is strictly for Vera's own support personnel.

Thanks.  I will ask Vera support to get me the logs, but it's understandable if they won't do that (privacy, outside of support functions).  In the meantime I've had to set my user name and password blank in the main plugin device to keep the plugin from repeatedly failing to communicate.  Hopefully the logs, if I can get them, will shed some light.

Offline TheGadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • Technology Guru
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2014, 02:08:41 pm »
If you have a PC that you can Remote Desktop into at your home, you can access Vera's web page from there...

Good luck.  Hopefully this is something really simple to fix.
"Lots of Z wave switches by various companies", 8 Panasonic IP cameras, 4 Schlage locks, 2 Kwikset locks, 3 Z-wave thermometers, 2 5 button Cooper scene controllers, etc.

Offline egoh

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2014, 02:23:45 pm »
I'm showing this in my logs:

luup_log:31: Nest: error getting status from nest.com with HTTP code=closed, status=nil

I'm trying to grep around to find any other relevant lines. Anyone know what I should be looking for?

Thanks

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2014, 02:29:03 pm »
luup_log:31: Nest: error getting status from nest.com with HTTP code=closed, status=nil

Thanks, if you have continued access to your logs, could you press the Set button next to your user name or password in the main Nest device, and then report what unusual Nest-related log lines you can see for a few minutes thereafter?  (Making sure to obscure any user names, passwords or other identifying information that might appear in your log).

Much appreciated.

Offline egoh

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2014, 02:39:02 pm »
Set my username and here is the output. FYI, my email has been obfuscated

08   03/14/14 13:34:01.130   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 action: SetUsername
08   03/14/14 13:34:01.130   JobHandler_LuaUPnP::HandleActionRequest argument serviceId=urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1
06   03/14/14 13:34:01.132   Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 variable: username was: eric@e********.com now: eric@e*******.com #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1
06   03/14/14 13:34:01.132   Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 variable: transport_url was:  now:  #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1
06   03/14/14 13:34:01.132   Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 variable: userid was:  now:  #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1
06   03/14/14 13:34:01.133   Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 variable: access_token was:  now:  #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1
06   03/14/14 13:34:01.133   Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 31 service: urn:watou-com:serviceId:Nest1 variable: status was: 0 now: 0 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:(nil)/NONE duplicate:1

Offline watou

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: Nest issues
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2014, 02:47:00 pm »
Thanks, @egoh.  That is normal so far, but some seconds or minutes later it ought to show attempts to login and retain the session information, and then attempt to get status.  If you have further log lines, please let me know.  Thanks for your help.