Author Topic: Measuring a 220V dryer  (Read 2991 times)

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Measuring a 220V dryer
« on: March 15, 2014, 01:24:31 pm »
Does anyone know a 220V energy monitor for a dryer in a US based Z-Wave frequency? 

I figured it was best to choose the 220V option when we had to purchase new laundry when moving in.  I don't think having gone to a 120v would (which could be measured) would have made much of a difference.

I was planning to get a Aeon Smart Switch for the washing machine and HVAC which is 120V.
http://www.amazon.com/Aeon-Labs-DSC24-ZWUS-Switch-Appliance/dp/B00EZ6LJU0

Haven't figured out how to measure the AC compressor outside which I haven't checked if it's 120 or 220.
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 04:35:55 pm »
Well you could always use some sort of CT based solution around the cord line the Aeon one, however due to it's reliability I wouldn't recommend it. Much better to pergolas go with a TED or Brultech solution at the panel instead, or even the cord again.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 04:09:51 pm »
Sadly, I have a whole home energy meter (Aeon), but can only safely get one of the two clamps around the incoming feed...so i can only monitor half.    Luckily the ac compressor and dryer are on the same feed that I could monitor when checking today.

However, it would be nice to discreetly monitor the dryer for a home energy report based on category.

No worries, I was just hoping to have missed a pre-fabbed 220v sensor.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 04:27:00 pm by AgileHumor »
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 07:20:38 pm »
Upgrade to a Brultech and never look back :)
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2014, 01:55:33 pm »
Can I isolate 2 x 220v circuits with the Brultech (AC Compressor & Clothes Dryer)?

If there is any way I could do this at the endpoint, rather than the panel, that would be ideal.

It's a bummer the brultech is available only via Serial or IP to Serial converter.
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2014, 07:01:11 pm »
Can I isolate 2 x 220v circuits with the Brultech (AC Compressor & Clothes Dryer)?

If there is any way I could do this at the endpoint, rather than the panel, that would be ideal.

It's a bummer the brultech is available only via Serial or IP to Serial converter.
I guess it might be possible.

As far as getting the data from it there are other wireless options also.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline qwen3579

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • Karma: +9/-4
Re: Measuring a 220V dryer
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2014, 09:40:04 pm »
Agile, I have the Aeotec HEM G2 and I use one clamp to monitor my 240v dryer and I use the Energy Meter Sensor plugin to monitor the clamp and send a notification when the dryer is done. Works perfectly.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,11076.0.html