We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT  (Read 3730 times)

Offline kirkla79

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« on: March 16, 2014, 07:38:00 pm »
I run this app on my windows rt tablet and have it mounted on a wall for easy access to various switches in my house.

Since the last update all my tiles are huge.  I really dislike this new look.

Is there someway to make the tiles smaller as they were before?  I feel like so much screen space is wasted.

Offline mramgine

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 10:16:41 pm »
Thanks for the suggestion.  Is your dislike purely about the size of the tile... not the layout?  The goal was to make things uniform and readable between both the desktop and phone app.  I honestly found my original UX on desktop pretty bland but never got time to work on that aspect of the app.  I had requests from users doing the same thing you were and they were having readability issues, hence the changes.  Think of this as a first step since i already had plans to add a tile size setting.  For the time being it will likely stay the same wide format because of the way i'm rendering the status info, but i would scale the size proportionally.  But nothing is set in stone.  :-)   I'll see what i can do before i release my next update.  Thanks.
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

Offline mramgine

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2014, 09:28:30 pm »
I'll be implementing three sizes. The current proportions are the following.

Large
Medium = 80% scale of Large
Small= 60% scale of Large

The attachments show what it will look on a Surface (1366x768 on 10 inch screen). Let me know what you think. I can change the percentages pretty easily

« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 09:34:52 pm by mramgine »
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2014, 10:39:20 pm »
Looks good @mramgine.  I would even try a 5 or 6 devices high option.
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline kirkla79

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2014, 10:55:37 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply.

It was mainly the size that was the issue.  Just having 9 tiles on the screen seemed wasteful.

Definitely like the small size ones on the bottom better.

Also would it be possible to mix tile sizes in the future?

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk


Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2014, 10:06:21 am »
I was one of those who originally asked for the change.... damn my aging eyes!😃. But I agree that its a weird use of the space now... looks much better on the phone.  What I really want is larger fonts.  I do like the idea of different size choice. Any chance you could do it like the Start screen, and have multiple options at the same time?

Offline mramgine

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2014, 11:46:51 am »
Ya when i tested that size i think i forgot to try it it on the original surface resolution.  As for dynamic fonts, it can get tricky because depending on the tile size it can make it so text is not always visible.  I wanted to make sure all the info was not going to get cut off accidentally, but I would agree it was too big for that screen and resolution.  On the higher resolution screens its very different.  These are just some prototyping layouts to see what they look like so far, so i may include some square layout versions too.  :-)  I will most likely default the tile size to a medium size so it will look proportional on the smaller screens.  As for having multiple sizes on the same screen, for now they will have to use the same layout since the grid control only lets you set one item template.  I would agree it would be cool to have it work like the home screen on windows.  Maybe someone will release a control like that.  :-)
« Last Edit: March 18, 2014, 11:51:53 am by mramgine »
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

Offline mramgine

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2014, 08:40:01 am »
There's a new release in the app store.  You now have 4 options for layout.  Also looks like in 8.1 there is an updated control that lets you do different sizing per item.

http://blogs.windows.com/windows/b/appbuilder/archive/2013/08/23/creating-a-unique-listview-layout-using-cell-spanning.aspx
« Last Edit: March 20, 2014, 08:49:18 am by mramgine »
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2014, 10:08:54 am »
There's a new release in the app store.  You now have 4 options for layout.  Also looks like in 8.1 there is an updated control that lets you do different sizing per item.

http://blogs.windows.com/windows/b/appbuilder/archive/2013/08/23/creating-a-unique-listview-layout-using-cell-spanning.aspx

Don't see it yet.... clearly excited  :)

Will you update again with the new sizing control?

Offline mramgine

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Issue with tiles on windows 8.1RT
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2014, 10:38:36 am »
Maybe.  I'll need to get my 8.1 version finalized so that i can do that research.  In that version the settings use the charms so they work similar to how the phone app is.  The current settings page is pretty ugly.  :-)
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20