We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Serial device not showing up  (Read 21520 times)

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2014, 02:45:05 pm »
Well...after I ran the commands to compare the dmesg I saw where it created the TTY device in /dev

Code: [Select]
usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using rt3883-ohci and address 21
 usb 2-1: device not accepting address 21, error -62
 hub 2-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 1
+usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using rt3883-ohci and address 22
+ftdi_sio 2-1:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
+usb 2-1: Detected FT232RL
+usb 2-1: Number of endpoints 2
+usb 2-1: Endpoint 1 MaxPacketSize 64
+usb 2-1: Endpoint 2 MaxPacketSize 64
+usb 2-1: Setting MaxPacketSize 64
+usb 2-1: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0

So I was able to reload the config and then setup the serial port config...Arduino Gateway plugin now shows as started.

Who knows?  ???

So...now to reconstruct some of the sensor modules and play with adding them into the system.

Thanks for the feedback Bruce and Hek.

Trying to install a Nano Gateway at the vacation house but am having the same issue.

Can someone help me with what Ross did here?...

Offline rosskinard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2014, 02:47:50 pm »
If I power cycle the Vera, it's very "hit or miss" if the serial device will actually be present when complete.

Have you got your Vera set up so you can SSH into it?

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2014, 02:51:22 pm »
like a lot of things with vera that I cannot explain, after futzing with it for an hour, it now showed up!

wow

thanks for the attempt to help!


Offline rosskinard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2014, 02:55:57 pm »
like a lot of things with vera that I cannot explain, after futzing with it for an hour, it now showed up!

wow

thanks for the attempt to help!

Lol...seems to be the way of it. I just keep messing with the device, plugging it in and unplugging it until it finally shows up...never found any particular pattern that works. Just patience and time.

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2014, 02:57:26 pm »
for me it is impatience and time.

another question...

Any reason why I do not have a Lib Version?

Will I have problems here?

Offline rosskinard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2014, 02:59:05 pm »
It will eventually show up properly...not sure why it does this early on, but sometime soon when you reload the Vera UI it will be there.

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2014, 03:15:18 pm »
OK, thanks.

When I did the Ethenet version on my other box, it all came together much nicer ;)

but working is good.


Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2014, 07:40:44 pm »
Having completed now my 2nd MySensors bridge (and a couple of fine Scotch whiskeys)...

As a tribute to Hek and the MySensors team, I am repurposing a recently depleted canister of scotch and creating a climate monitoring device.

I am calling it: HEKscotchMo

Including the humidity, temperature and barometric pressure(working on that now) I figure I'll be into it for all of about $20 for the indoor unit (not including the Scotch :))).

Looking for innovative ideas for the housing for my outside unit...  any suggestion appreciated.

Thanks HEK and the team!!!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2014, 07:42:48 pm by Bulldoglowell »

Offline hek

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +60/-1
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #23 on: April 06, 2014, 03:04:14 am »
Having completed now my 2nd MySensors bridge (and a couple of fine Scotch whiskeys)...

As a tribute to Hek and the MySensors team, I am repurposing a recently depleted canister of scotch and creating a climate monitoring device.

I am calling it: HEKscotchMo

Including the humidity, temperature and barometric pressure(working on that now) I figure I'll be into it for all of about $20 for the indoor unit (not including the Scotch :))).

Looking for innovative ideas for the housing for my outside unit...  any suggestion appreciated.

Thanks HEK and the team!!!

I would prefer if you used my favorite; Lagavulin  :D

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2014, 02:41:08 pm »
I thought I'd post here because I seem to be having similar issues. I'm still on a breadboard, so no buttons or external LEDs yet. I have a Arduino Nano with a NRF24L01 radio board. The SerialGateway sketch compiled & loaded just fine.

I did see this on the serial monitor:
Code: [Select]
0;0;4;11;Arduino startup complete.

I'm plugged into my Vera 2 on UI5 through a powered USB hub that also houses my functional USB stick for logging. What I'm getting in Vera's UI after uploading the 10 files & creating a device is shown in the screen shot; is this what you're seeing? Is this just a matter of waiting/arbitrarily plugging & power cycling, or is there another explanation?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 12, 2014, 02:48:13 pm by DeltaNu1142 »
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #25 on: April 13, 2014, 08:40:20 am »
Is anyone else using this plugin on a Vera 2? Is there any reason to suspect that's my issue?
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline blacey

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: +30/-1
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #26 on: April 13, 2014, 10:41:54 am »
I'm plugged into my Vera 2 on UI5 through a powered USB hub that also houses my functional USB stick for logging. What I'm getting in Vera's UI after uploading the 10 files & creating a device is shown in the screen shot; is this what you're seeing? Is this just a matter of waiting/arbitrarily plugging & power cycling, or is there another explanation?

What are you seeing in the Vera logs when you connect the gateway to the Vera?  Did you try to "reload" the Lua Engine?

ssh to the vera and tail the LuaUPnP.log while troubleshooting to confirm that the Plugin is initializing properly.

Code: [Select]
tail -f /var/log/cmh/LuaUPnP.log | grep Arduino

Here is an example of the gateway properly starting on a Vera 3 when I reload the Lua Engine.

Code: [Select]
50 04/13/14 7:38:45.221 luup_log:76: Arduino plugin: loading library L_Arduino ... <0x2bf09680>
50 04/13/14 7:38:45.275 luup_log:76: Arduino: urn:upnp-arduino-cc:serviceId:arduino1,PluginVersion, 1.3, 76 <0x2bf09680>
50 04/13/14 7:38:45.276 luup_log:76: Arduino: Trying for a serial connection <0x2bf09680>
50 04/13/14 7:38:45.276 luup_log:76: Arduino: Serial port is connected <0x2bf09680>
50 04/13/14 7:38:45.276 luup_log:76: Arduino: Baud is 115200 <0x2bf09680>

Yours might look a little different because I am using the latest version from https://github.com/mysensors/ but please share the log entries so we can help troubleshoot the issue for you.

Best,
Bruce
Three Vera-3 (Home, Seasonal 1 & 2) - Firmware: 1.5.622,   Zwave: 3.20 L:1
One Vera-Edge (Dependent) - Firmware: 1.7.1707, Zwave: 4.5 L:1

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2014, 11:20:08 am »
Thanks Bruce - there's clearly an issue here. The term "Arduino" doesn't appear anywhere in my logs upon restart of Lua. Attached is a screen shot of what I get at Lua restart when logged in via PuTTY.



Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #28 on: April 15, 2014, 02:40:54 pm »
Hek seems to think that my problem is related to corrupted plugin files...  I'm working with him on the mysensors.org forum. I've downloaded the latest ZIP and uploaded the files to give it another try, but I need to be local to do it.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Serial device not showing up
« Reply #29 on: April 16, 2014, 08:55:07 am »
Nothing yet...  creating the Arduino device results in essentially NOTHING happening.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG