Author Topic: ALSTEON: Everything I want to (and am still afraid to) ask...  (Read 2063 times)

Offline raddoc

Hi y'all --

I've been using Vera systems for about 3 years now.  I have one in my main home, one in a secondary home, and one in my office.  The office and main home have only z-wave, and no Insteon.  The secondary home has both.  I reviewed the other forms, but as best I could tell, nobody actually answers these questions (at least on the Insteon area/forums).  I know that portions of this may be answered in part in other forums, but I would very respectfully request that nobody just say, "go to form 'xxx' " without just answering the questions.  Thank you!

(1)  It seems ALSTEON is an alternate form of the INSTEON programing native to Vera.  Is that correct?  If so, who owns the rights to ALSTEON?  Is it freeware?

(2)  What is the primary advantage of ALSTEON over native Vera programming?

(3)  Does ALSTEON have any limitations compared to native Vera programming?

(4)  By converting to ALSTEON, will my Keypad Linc LED buttons work as scene triggers?

(5)  Does ALSTEON expand the capabilities of any of the INSTEON devices?

Thanks!!

Offline PurdueGuy

Re: ALSTEON: Everything I want to (and am still afraid to) ask...
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2014, 02:01:23 am »
Hi y'all --

I've been using Vera systems for about 3 years now.  I have one in my main home, one in a secondary home, and one in my office.  The office and main home have only z-wave, and no Insteon.  The secondary home has both.  I reviewed the other forms, but as best I could tell, nobody actually answers these questions (at least on the Insteon area/forums).  I know that portions of this may be answered in part in other forums, but I would very respectfully request that nobody just say, "go to form 'xxx' " without just answering the questions.  Thank you!