Author Topic: New pool construction - what would you do?  (Read 10902 times)

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5625
  • Karma: +155/-376
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2014, 12:41:52 am »
I have my pool filled line currently hooked up to IrrigationCaddy, which is also being integrated into my Vera. I hope to add a water level monitor. I haven't gotten that far. In the iAqualink, I have set various items, Such as the lights, slide, waterfall, spot heater, Etc. To have maximum runtimes 2,3 or 5 hours. And regardless what else happens, everything turns off at midnight. This way, I can let the kids have a party and I can go to sleep comfortably knowing that I won't be running the heater all night long.

I have an iAqualink and a Vera, I would be interested when these two work well together. 

Offline persimmonx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +4/-5
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2014, 06:47:27 pm »
My pool control is all DIY and is controlled by Vera. That includes pool pump, pool and spa temperature, spa jets, pool and spa lights. I did it years ago using X10 switches and I used to control it by Homeseer and my X10 system us very reliable as I have filters installed. With Homeseer I never had a problem but Vera is not reliable and I always need to keep an eye on it.

If I had the money and I had to do it again, I'd but standard equipment. You need something that always works and you don't have to fiddle with it all the time. I know it seems to be fyn to control everything with your sell phone, as I do. But Vera is not reliable. Many times I had jump out of the spa to reset Vera to be able to increase the spa temperature. Very unpleasant !

About the pool light, yes $500 is a lot and I'm thinking of making my own led pool light.

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5625
  • Karma: +155/-376
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2014, 08:39:47 pm »
With Homeseer I never had a problem but Vera is not reliable and I always need to keep an eye on it.

But Vera is not reliable. Many times I had jump out of the spa to reset Vera to be able to increase the spa temperature. Very unpleasant !

Did you find the problem?

Vera is plenty reliable, unless you have a problem. And if you don't fix the problem you'll always have the same results.

Offline persimmonx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +4/-5
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2014, 12:26:37 am »
With Homeseer I never had a problem but Vera is not reliable and I always need to keep an eye on it.

But Vera is not reliable. Many times I had jump out of the spa to reset Vera to be able to increase the spa temperature. Very unpleasant !

Did you find the problem?

Vera is plenty reliable, unless you have a problem. And if you don't fix the problem you'll always have the same results.

My Vera was totally unstable for a few days because of a bug in a plugin, which was corrected. But my Vera is unstable and stops working every so often. It also misses some events. Pleases have look here http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,19356.msg143263.html#msg143263 for my opinion about Vera. I'd love to see Vera working reliably. If there were more documents about Vera software I could probably find the problem. But I don't have time to reverse engineer Vera. I want to use it, not spending time debugging it. This is my point about using standard equipment for the pool.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1148
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2014, 06:10:04 am »
Maybe ask these guys if they could support it? http://www.autelis.com/homeautomation/pool-spa.html their unit for jandy works with Vera with a few virtual devices and some startup lua added.
Well, I've just found this Autelis unit that is supposed to interface with Hayward controls. It looks like they have a variety of gateways in stock.
I have the iAqualink system and just added the Autelis. I'm just beginning to work on the scenes and such. I'll report back when I can comment further.
I'm interested in what you came up with.
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline kandlg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2014, 02:26:35 pm »
I just ordered an Autelis for Hayward.  I am a little skeptical because it looks brand new (no posts in the forum), but I found some posts on various pool forums that their pool automation stuff is solid and they offer good support.  Hopefully the posts weren't all employees.  :)  Not sure how long it will take me to get it hooked into the vera.  Frankly I will be pretty pleased with just having the default web interface for remote control.

Offline rayp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2014, 03:40:40 pm »
I have the Autelis module for my Jandy PDA and I have no regrets. Works great and Autelis has responded at any questions I had.

There is some limitation with mine (PDA) vrs like the full blown Jandy where you can use the HTTP Get commands

(http://www.autelis.com/wiki/index.php?title=Pool_Control_%28PI%29_HTTP_Command_Reference)

so I can't integrate with Vera like I wanted to.

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5625
  • Karma: +155/-376
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2014, 06:28:06 pm »
I have the Autelis module for my Jandy PDA and I have no regrets. Works great and Autelis has responded at any questions I had.

There is some limitation with mine (PDA) vrs like the full blown Jandy where you can use the HTTP Get commands

(http://www.autelis.com/wiki/index.php?title=Pool_Control_%28PI%29_HTTP_Command_Reference)

so I can't integrate with Vera like I wanted to.

I scrapped my broken PDA and changed it out for a iAqualink upgrade kit. Might be an option for you.

Offline rayp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2014, 12:58:12 pm »
Yeah I looked into that closely, but didn't like the fact that everything is routed through a server. I wanted something that  was hosted locally.
I prefer to keep my home automation 'in-house' as much as possible. I really only wanted to remotely start my spa and adjust the heat, and possibly turn off something if needed...oh and get away from having to use that crappy $300 remote needed to program the system!

Maybe down the road a little I might upgrade a bit if my existing pool controller dies (it's going on 7 years old now) or I want reporting on pump status/water temps to my home automation interface.

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5625
  • Karma: +155/-376
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2014, 01:43:37 pm »
Yea I figured why change the broken 300.00 remote vs. upgrading the board and all plus adding remote capabilites for 400.00

Our board was old and didn't have variable speed pump capabilities and I have since added a Smart JVA also which the old board wasn't capable of.

So it was a full upgrade. Only problem is no Vera integration and I don't want to spend several hundred more on a Autelis just to add a one or two functions. 

Offline rayp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #25 on: September 13, 2014, 06:39:22 pm »
Not sure if this would help, it was beyond my skills, but I was trying to use a Raspberry Pi that I had bought and a USB/RS485 (about $60 total)
Since your iAqualink would now support the Http get commands that I linked earlier, you might be able to use a Raspberry Pi rather than the $300 Autelis.

http://www.troublefreepool.com/threads/27391-Control-your-Jandy-equipment-from-your-PC-with-a-15-adapter

Like I said, beyond my skills right now, but maybe it might help others.


Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5625
  • Karma: +155/-376
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #26 on: September 13, 2014, 09:38:17 pm »
Since your iAqualink would now support the Http get commands that I linked earlier,

If this was the case I could send the Http command with Vera already and wouldn't need a Pi or Autelis.

Do you have any info to support how I can us Http commands with iAqualink?

Offline rayp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #27 on: September 13, 2014, 11:43:36 pm »
I don't because I was never able to get the thing working on my Raspberry Pi, but with the Autelis (or RPi) it's the link between the RS485 aquabus and TCP.
Like I said it got over my head but maybe someone on here might have some ideas. With the Autelis PDA version I was only able to query a couple things and get a response. With the iAqualink chip there is a whole host of things you can do (but you would still need the RS485 serial bus connection as far as I know to pick the message off the aquabus) but the TCP/IP link would otherwise be through Zodiac -which uses the four wires aquabus to talk to interface host where your antenna plugs in to the power center (I am guessing it's much the same way the Honeywell talks with their thermostats, in which this guy was able to reverse engineer ( http://www.bradgoodman.com/thermostat/ ) talking to the thermostat.

There might be something in this posting that might help you (http://www.troublefreepool.com/threads/27391-Control-your-Jandy-equipment-from-your-PC-with-a-15-adapter) to get a piece of hardware to talk on the Aquabus, but otherwise I don't know. I have also attached the serial command that Jandy uses.

Sorry, I know that isn't the direct help you were asking about, but it was all I was able to get before parking the project due to time and just going with the Autelis module.

Edit: just noticed this post over here http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,23922.0.html so I will just tag along to see what fun/trouble I can get into with the RPi...lol
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 11:52:34 pm by rayp »

Offline kandlg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New pool construction - what would you do?
« Reply #28 on: September 26, 2014, 07:39:33 am »
I received my Autelis for Hayward and had a rocky start. The wiring diagram on the case was incorrect.  Once that was fixed the software had a lot of bugs.  I have to give credit to their tech support though because they worked right through the issues very quickly.  I felt a bit like a alpha/ beta tester, but after 6 firmware versions, it is working solid.  There are a few limitations because of how Hayward has the controls set up, but I am pretty pleased with the end result.

I really appreciate mda's code for integration with vera.  I modified the variable mapping to fit Hayward and it works very nicely.  Status updates between the two are within a couple of seconds.  Some features aren't available in vera like adjusting the heater set point for example, but you can toggle the heater mode, turning it off and on manually.  I don't mess with the set point very often, so no big deal.  You can still use the Autelis app to adjust this and other things if you want as the app is still in the Vera/ISY firmware.