Author Topic: Automate Existing Irrigation for ?15 - ?25 with rain control.  (Read 3824 times)

Offline dringie

Hello everyone, this is my first post so hello all :-)

Just a couple points about my ability before I go on, I have been playing with my Vera for around 6 months and am no expert. Due to my busy, busy life I have not had time to read the forums, so please forgive me if I have double posted anything or missed something. I'm sure what I am about to share can be made simple, so if I have shared code that can be cut down or written more efficiently, please add to the thread and i'll try keep up to date and amend  the main post. 

So here it goes, my setup so far is couple of lawn sprinklers connected straight to a garden tap with no timer. Like most people I have seen on the forum (from my limited reading) I wanted to buy an off the shelf controller/timer and then modify that, then I thought the Vera is the timer so what am I doing? I then started to look at ways I could connect the sprinkler water valves/solenoids directly to the Vera and I came up with this setup.

First the hardware, due to being in the UK we have a weird mix of metric/imperial measurements, so please look at the hardware before you buy because I'm not sure how the EU countries work, USA sould be fine because we normally come off imperial to metric, not the other way around. First I purchased a 12V Water Valve/Solenoid from ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HEAVY-DUTY-N-C-12V-DC-1-2-ELECTRIC-SOLENOID-VALVE-NORMALLY-CLOSED-FOR-WATER-AIR-/171120909292?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item27d799dbec.

This valve is normally closed and needs 12V to make the water flow, I connected the valve to my irrigation system  (See attached pictures)