Author Topic: Setting up a Hikvision camera  (Read 16562 times)

Offline Dignan17

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +2/-0
Setting up a Hikvision camera
« on: May 23, 2014, 03:24:38 pm »
Hello everyone! I'm just getting into IP cams, and I'm really loving the Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I. It's a tiny camera with great video quality and superb night mode quality...

...but I have no clue how to get it to work with Vera.

Does anyone know how/if I can get this to work with Vera? Thanks so much in advance for the assistance...

Offline agidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2014, 11:32:42 am »

This is the path to video rtsp://192.168.0.15:554/Streaming/Channels/1

replace with your ip, and you might need to add login pass
rtsp://admin:12345@192.168.0.15:554/Streaming/Channels/1

i have yet to find the snapshot path for this camera DS-2CD2032-I

Offline cybrmage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +105/-5
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 07:52:10 pm »
i have yet to find the snapshot path for this camera DS-2CD2032-I

The snapshot URLs for all recent Hikvision IP Cameras are:

Main Stream snapshot - http://IPADDRESS/Streaming/Channels/1/picture
Extra Stream snapshot - http://IPADDRESS/Streaming/Channels/2/picture

The development documentation for the IP Cameras is available at the Hikvision Europe FTP site at http://www.hikvisioneurope.com/portal/index.php?dir=Integration%20and%20Development%20Materials/
EVL3Vista - Wink Connect - Caseta Connect - Venstar Colortouch - WiFi UDP Switch Controller - Broadlink RM - MyQGateway

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 12:30:17 pm »
There is no snapshot on the most recent firmware, V5.1.0 build 131202.  See: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,22792.0.html
Long Live UI5!

Offline Dignan17

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2014, 03:49:44 pm »
I was able to work with MCV support to get my Hikvision to show in the dashboard...but it works terribly. Every time I open it the image disappears.

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2014, 04:00:39 pm »
I was able to work with MCV support to get my Hikvision to show in the dashboard...but it works terribly. Every time I open it the image disappears.

Camera support in UI5 is pretty poor.  This isn't really an issue of the make of the camera...
Long Live UI5!

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5585
  • Karma: +152/-368
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2014, 04:33:27 pm »
I was able to work with MCV support to get my Hikvision to show in the dashboard...but it works terribly. Every time I open it the image disappears.

This is only on the computer UI, which no one uses much. When your on your phone or tablet using an app you won't have this problem.

Offline Pleaseask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2014, 08:20:48 am »
Hi..
Found the solution for creating and adding a Hikvision camera...

first you create a Manually create IP Camera device. ( for me UI5)
See url: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Manually_create_IP_Camera_device

After creating the IP Camera device you use the following url within the settings :  /onvif/snapshot
Also use this url for the streaming url.

Then go to your Hikvison camera and enable UPnP

Caera added to Vera Lite  ;D


Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5585
  • Karma: +152/-368
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2014, 05:05:12 pm »
Hi..
Found the solution for creating and adding a Hikvision camera...

first you create a Manually create IP Camera device. ( for me UI5)
See url: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Manually_create_IP_Camera_device

After creating the IP Camera device you use the following url within the settings :  /onvif/snapshot
Also use this url for the streaming url.

Then go to your Hikvison camera and enable UPnP

Caera added to Vera Lite  ;D

And how is that quality vs. watching it threw it's own IP?

Offline sirelboe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-5
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2017, 02:07:30 am »
VERA

don't know if this will work for everyone but it should help most hopefully.

I have a vera edge UI7 v1.7.2406
a hikvision 16 channel DVR  TVI-8616-4TB
(this method to add cameras to VERA should work with most hikvision DVRs that supports rtsp)
(you must also know your DVR IP address, username and password)


try this link in firefox on a windows PC and it should return an image.
DVR and PC must be on same LAN network.

http://admin:XXXXXX@192.168.1.XXX:9000/PSIA/Streaming/Channels/701/Picture

dvr username = admin
dvr password = XXXXXX
dvr IP address = 192.168.1.XXX
dvr http port = 9000
(make sure port is forwarded to dvr IP in router)
(check in dvr menu for http port. it is the same port as to log in to your dvr from any browser)
change #7 in link to select different cameras 101-201-301exc..


open firefox on a windows PC and it should display the camera image from this link:

http://admin:XXXXXX@192.168.1.XXX:9000/PSIA/Streaming/Channels/701/Picture

change all X's in link accordingly.
if no image appears try this:
make sure you are logged in as administator and "allow" any blocked connections.
turn off windows firewall.
try a different browser.
remove the "admin:XXXXXX@" from the link and try all that again
remove the "PSIA" in the link and try all that again.

examples to try:
http://admin:XXXXXX@192.168.1.XXX:9000/PSIA/Streaming/Channels/101/Picture
http://admin:XXXXXX@192.168.1.XXX:9000/Streaming/Channels/101/Picture
http://192.168.1.XXX:9000/PSIA/Streaming/Channels/101/Picture
http://192.168.1.XXX:9000/Streaming/Channels/101/Picture


you must be able to return an image from the camera with a "http" link in your windows browser.

try this if all else fails, it may help you get your "http" link.
google, download and run "ONVIF Device Manager" in windows.
enter dvr IP and info in app and refresh, let it sit a few minutes to detect, if no cameras display in list then restart the ONVIF DM app and/or your PC. try app again. refresh list. (once list is populated click the live link on any cam, you will need to change the rtsp:// to http:// and you may need to add the /PSIA/ and or /picture to the displayed rtsp link in the app.

once you have your "http" link try again to view in firefox (start over from beginning of this post if you have to)


ONCE YOU HAVE THE "HTTP" LINK OF THE VIEWABLE IMAGE IN A BROWSER YOU MAY CONTINUE TO ADD YOUR CAMERA IN VERA/DEVICES.


open "VERA IP" address in firefox (192.168.1.XXX)
click Cameras/Add Camera/Security Cameras/IP Camera/next/next/next
wait 6 minutes countdown
go to bottom and click manually install the camera
checkbox any device in list
select camera type = other IP camera
camera URL = (your camera http link) http://admin:XXXXXX@192.168.1.XXX:9000/PSIA/Streaming/Channels/701/Picture
camera IP address = leave blank
camera username = leave blank
camera password = leave blank
go to bottom and click test (image should appear in firefox)
cameras name = any
choose room
next
wait 2 minutes for the network to refresh and new camera will show up in devices.

(if using homewave app for iPhone/ipad, cameras should be available now in the add camera list)


---------------------------------------------------------
useful VERA links:
(enter the following in any browser on same VERA network:

VERA device list URL:
http://192.168.1.XXX:3480/data_request?id=lu_invoke

VERA scene call URL:
http://192.168.1.XXX:3480/data_request?id=action&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1&action=RunScene&SceneNum=XX

VERA light switch URL:
http://192.168.1.XXX:3480/data_request?id=action&DeviceNum=XX&serviceId=urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=0

get device # from device list URL.
change "DeviceNum=XX" in switch URL.
change "newTargetValue=X"  in switch URL ( 0 = off , 1 = on ).
(can add a bookmark on PC or on iPhone "add to home screen").


----------------------------------------------------------

hope this helps some of ya!
it was quite hard for me to find any workable tutorial out there for this, just bits and pieces of info gathered from many different forums and frustrated people..
so this is a compiled cheat sheet of what works for me.

yeaaa boyeee!

Offline Wry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up a Hikvision camera
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2017, 09:30:19 am »
Thanks - I have spent a number of fruitless hours attempting to get my new Hikvision DS 2CD2442 to appear in Vera before I stumbled on your wonderful post. It was practical, clear and well presented, and most importantly, worked!

Have you also managed to get the PIR function in a Hikvision working in Vera?