Author Topic: Check list for TTS problems  (Read 17733 times)

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Check list for TTS problems
« on: June 22, 2014, 05:23:33 am »
For users having problems with TTS, please check these points:

0 - Google has now to be avoided as TTS engine because not working well - you will only get few messages working per day. Rather use Microsoft engine.

1 - Are you running UI5  or a recent version of the plugin ? You have to run UI5 if your installed a version of the plugin before 1.1. Version 1.1 and later are compatible with UI7 (and probably UI6).

2 - Did you secure the access of your Vera in the local network (setup => unit settings) ? You have to leave the access not secured (access without a password). Even if you secured in the past and then undid it, it could be not enough and could probably require an action from Vera technical support.

3 - Is your Vera connected to Internet ? It is required to join Google servers. Not required if you are only using an OSX TTS server running in your LAN.

4 - Are your Vera and your Sonos on the same subnet in your LAN network ? They have to.

5 - Is the plugin working well except TTS ? If you have other problems, you have to resolve them before going further with the TTS problem investiguations.

6 - Did you update the variable RouterIp or RouterPort ? You have to not update these variables except if you know why and what you are doing (RouterIp set to empty and RouterPort set to 80).

7 - Does the problem occur whatever the Sonos model you are using for TTS ? If not, please tell us what Sonos model exhibits the error ?

8 - Are you able to play from a WEB browser a small* MP3 file uploaded in directory /www in your Vera using the URL http://<vera IP>:80/MyTestFile.mp3

9 - Are you able to play with the Sonos control application a small* MP3 file uploaded in directory /www in your Vera using the URL http://<vera IP>:80/MyTestFile.mp3

Please run a test without mixing TTS and grouping, that is just a TTS sent to a particular Sonos.

* Take care to not upload a big file, it will take all the memory of the Vera. Delete the file after your test.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 05:19:19 am by lolodomo »

Offline joe144

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2014, 05:27:11 pm »
Hello Lolodomo,

My problem is solved.
It was because of this :
4 - Did you secured the access of your Vera in the local network (setup => unit settings) ? You have to leave the access not secured (access without a password).

Long time ago i've changed the setting to unsecured but you need to reboot the Vera otherwise this setting is not applied.

Offline tb001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2014, 06:49:37 pm »
Hello Lolodomo,

My problem is solved.
It was because of this :
4 - Did you secured the access of your Vera in the local network (setup => unit settings) ? You have to leave the access not secured (access without a password).

Long time ago i've changed the setting to unsecured but you need to reboot the Vera otherwise this setting is not applied.

That did it for me as well

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 11:09:01 am »
This seems to be working for me now as well.  I"m sure I did #4, but maybe I didn't reboot at the time.  Thanks!

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 09:13:43 pm »
This seems to be working for me now as well.  I"m sure I did #4, but maybe I didn't reboot at the time.  Thanks!

I take it back.  tried to test it again when I got home. now getting error (when looking at Sonos) that the mp3 is not encoded correctly.  tried exactly same thing as this morning. 

What might have changed during the day?

Offline CudaNet

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1401
  • Karma: +42/-10
  • Chimichanga !
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 10:31:15 pm »
I know I've seen that exact error when the URL was incorrect (in my case, TTS OS X ), it's as if the URL error is being sent to Sonos generating the encoding error.

This seems to be working for me now as well.  I"m sure I did #4, but maybe I didn't reboot at the time.  Thanks!

I take it back.  tried to test it again when I got home. now getting error (when looking at Sonos) that the mp3 is not encoded correctly.  tried exactly same thing as this morning. 

What might have changed during the day?
openLuup, AltUI, Zway and HomeWave, enough said...

Offline Vreo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2014, 11:27:21 am »
Hi, I was having the access denied issue, then I checked and the problem was my Vera secured. Unsecuring it fixed the problem. But now I have a wierd issue, sometimes it works sometimes not. When it does not works it says that the it is "unable to play the track is not encoded correctly". I have checked and I can access the MP3 from my PC (before it is autodeleted) and played correctly, so I don't know what is the issue.

I read also that could be networking issues, but I checked and everything is working fine, no IP conflicts, no signal loss, etc...

Thx.

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2014, 01:58:55 pm »
Same issues

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2014, 03:33:54 pm »
Hi, I was having the access denied issue, then I checked and the problem was my Vera secured. Unsecuring it fixed the problem. But now I have a wierd issue, sometimes it works sometimes not. When it does not works it says that the it is "unable to play the track is not encoded correctly". I have checked and I can access the MP3 from my PC (before it is autodeleted) and played correctly, so I don't know what is the issue.

I read also that could be networking issues, but I checked and everything is working fine, no IP conflicts, no signal loss, etc...

Thx.

I have done almost one houdred calls to TTS during the last hours (development of a new feature). I got this error message one time.

Offline Vreo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2014, 04:14:26 pm »
I can imagine, even I have done a lot and works fine, it seems that when you do several in a row, it works fine, but not when you leave it rest for some hours. I have it attached as a welcome when my door is open, so after 8 or more hours of standby is when it fails, but music works instantly. Any clue?

* What would be the new feature??

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2014, 04:21:06 pm »
I can imagine, even I have done a lot and works fine, it seems that when you do several in a row, it works fine, but not when you leave it rest for some hours. I have it attached as a welcome when my door is open, so after 8 or more hours of standby is when it fails, but music works instantly. Any clue?

Maybe your Vera reloads at this time ?  :(
No other idea, sorry.

Quote
* What would be the new feature??

With TTS, you can now keep the current group. It is faster, no action relative to group management. Please read the other topic.

Offline Vreo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2014, 04:24:31 pm »
Thx, great!

Offline CudaNet

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1401
  • Karma: +42/-10
  • Chimichanga !
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2014, 04:34:36 pm »
For those having issues, you might consider installing the Plugin Viewer, filter on the Sonos device and see what's occurring. The information is pretty verbose and you might be able to identify the issue.
openLuup, AltUI, Zway and HomeWave, enough said...

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2014, 10:25:12 pm »
For those having issues, you might consider installing the Plugin Viewer, filter on the Sonos device and see what's occurring. The information is pretty verbose and you might be able to identify the issue.

I have the "info viewer"... assume that is what you are talking about?  Do you input "sonos" in the Lua Pattern dialog box, then open the log?

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: TTS command leading to a "access denied" error in Sonos app
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2014, 04:34:28 am »
For those having issues, you might consider installing the Plugin Viewer, filter on the Sonos device and see what's occurring. The information is pretty verbose and you might be able to identify the issue.

I have the "info viewer"... assume that is what you are talking about?  Do you input "sonos" in the Lua Pattern dialog box, then open the log?

Sonos with a S in uppercase...