Author Topic: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)  (Read 18408 times)

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2015, 04:46:22 am »
@Bertin

I can confirm you shouldn't need to remove the spaces in the Msg.  It is just a string, so I can't think of any bug that would cause it to consider spaces in there.  In fact as you've noticed, "I Love Vera" uses the exact same mechanism.

I can only think you perhaps have the free edition of VeraMate, which limits the number of messages you can receive a day?   Otherwise, if you PM me your username, I'll check the push notification server to see if there is anything untowards in the logs.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2015, 08:40:11 pm »
Does this app work in Vera UI5?  I was reading the FAQ and it does not match what is available in the Vera app:

VeraAlerts Setup
1.Install VeraAlerts. http://apps.mios.com/plugin.php?id=3008
2.In your Vera web UI, in the VeraAlerts settings, switch to the Profiles tab.

I don't see a Profiles tab.  I've tried to send test messages, but it doesn't work.  Can you please point me to instructions on installing for UI5?

Offline airedale

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • Karma: +13/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2015, 08:59:20 am »
@Kmitchel - I highly doubt this would have only been made for UI5. Most people are still running it and the author of VeraMate considers UI7 to be beta and has recommended against upgrading to it (I can confirm though that it works really well with a VeraEdge & UI7).

All you really have to do is set the username you used to login to Vera with your VeraMate app. You also have to enable alerts within VeraMate.

I don't see a profiles tab either and it is working just fine for me.


Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2015, 11:58:58 am »
@Airedale, I understand that it wasn't ONLY written for one UI, I'm asking if it works in UI5.

I'm on UI5, I don't see the Profiles tab and I'm simply asking how to get this app to work.

I set the user name to my Vera login as well as my VeraMate app and I am not getting the alert.

If anyone has this working in UI5 and can help, I would appreciate it!

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9632
  • Karma: +733/-136
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2015, 12:06:02 pm »
The "Profiles" tab is in the Vera Alerts Plugin.

VeraMate has it's own Push Notification Plugin.
This can be invoked from:
 1) LUA Code
 2) The advanced Tab of a Scene.

If you want the EXTRA capability to link a VeraMate Notification to a Vera User, and Use the standard Vera Notification Tab on devices then you
also need to install the Vera Alerts Plugin.
There you can create a profile as described earlier that will forward standard Vera Notifications to the VeraMate plugin for delivery to your mobile device.
But as I said, it's optional. Without it you can create a scene to send a notification.

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #20 on: February 02, 2015, 12:39:56 pm »
@Kmitchel - I highly doubt this would have only been made for UI5. Most people are still running it and the author of VeraMate considers UI7 to be beta and has recommended against upgrading to it (I can confirm though that it works really well with a VeraEdge & UI7).

Just to confirm, that yes definitely VeraMate supports UI5 through to UI7 (though as airedale points out, UI6 and UI7 are effectively beta, but is still supported by VM).

And thanks @RichardTSchaefer who should have cleared up the profiles tab is on the VeraAlerts plugin if you choose to use that as well.   I'll update the FAQ to make this a bit more clearer...
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #21 on: February 02, 2015, 06:20:08 pm »
I must be doing something wrong.

I have the VeraMate Alerts Plugin installed.  It says "Alerts are sent to:" and has my correct Vera login name.  I setup a scene where it would notify me at sunset that my lights are on.  The scene ran, the Plugin shows "2015-02-02 18:09:37 Sunset - Lights on", but I never receive a notification.

What I am really looking to do is when my Yale lock has a pin code entered, it sends me a verbose text message full of junk, from a random number.  I really want it to send a more meaningful message like "Housekeeper code entered".  The Yale Lock has a notification page, but it just enters the Vera name and it sends me a text. 

I've never coded anything in the LUA and after crashing my Vera 3 times using the iPhone indicator, I'm a little hesitant to try!


Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #22 on: February 03, 2015, 05:03:05 am »
I have the VeraMate Alerts Plugin installed.  It says "Alerts are sent to:" and has my correct Vera login name.  I setup a scene where it would notify me at sunset that my lights are on.  The scene ran, the Plugin shows "2015-02-02 18:09:37 Sunset - Lights on", but I never receive a notification.

You also need to register your VeraMate app with my server which pushes the notification, by going to the alerts screen in VeraMate (a tab under settings).  If you've done that, PM me your username, and I'll check it was registered correctly with the server.   (There are no known issues with the registration though).

The LUUP in the FAQ is extremely simple, so wouldn't crash your Vera.  (Even if you need to put in some if statements based on the PIN or something, I can't see it breaking Vera).   If you do want your own message, this is the only way to go though. 
http://www.veramate.com/faq/push-notifications#Push-LUUP
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2015, 10:04:11 am »
THANK you so much for the assistance!

I love VeraMate and just purchased the premium version for my iPad.

Offline slajgaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +0/-11
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2015, 10:02:52 am »
Hi!

I trying the Luup code

luup.call_action("urn:veramate-com:serviceId:VeraMatePN", "SendAlert",
   {Msg = "Virtual Dev is Opened", AlertedDeviceId = "40"}, deviceid)

I have a 40 devideID, this is a virtual switch
But i received the message, without device icon...and without alerted device ID.
Was in message only the text : Virtual Dev is Open

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2015, 06:50:17 am »
I trying the Luup code

luup.call_action("urn:veramate-com:serviceId:VeraMatePN", "SendAlert",
   {Msg = "Virtual Dev is Opened", AlertedDeviceId = "40"}, deviceid)

I have a 40 devideID, this is a virtual switch

The AlertedDeviceId is used so VeraMate knows what device it is - only used to show the correct icon.  Additionally, the last "deviceid" there should be the id of your VeraMate plugin... this shouldn't work if you haven't put it in.  Could you confirm that's the exact command you're using?
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline slajgaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +0/-11
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2015, 05:20:45 am »
My luup code is:

luup.call_action("urn:veramate-com:serviceId:VeraMatePN", "SendAlert",
   {Msg = "Virtual Dev is Open!", AlertedDeviceId = "35"}, 34)

Where the 35 ID is the Virtual Dev ID and the 34 is the VeraMate plugin dev ID.

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2015, 06:05:13 am »
My luup code is:

luup.call_action("urn:veramate-com:serviceId:VeraMatePN", "SendAlert",
   {Msg = "Virtual Dev is Open!", AlertedDeviceId = "35"}, 34)

Where the 35 ID is the Virtual Dev ID and the 34 is the VeraMate plugin dev ID.

I've checked the code and VeraMate should be showing the icon for that device.  It's possible it's not working with the virtual switch - could you confirm the link to the plugin, and I'll see if there's a problem with this.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline slajgaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +0/-11
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2015, 10:01:55 am »
Yes, thank you with other devices is working, but now i can see with virtual device is working :)
Thanks
Maybe  i was a stupid :)

« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 10:05:25 am by slajgaj »

Offline airedale

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • Karma: +13/-2
Re: VeraMate Push Notifications (Version >= 6.1)
« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2015, 10:49:16 pm »
Hello,

I have been able to confirm on two different phones that my Alerts button is not showing up, even though I have 146 alerts that need to be viewed according to the badge on the app icon. I am getting the alerts in the notification center, but not in the app.

Also at the same time, as a feature request, I'd like to be able to go back into my alerts and view them from a history perspective. When the button was working, it would only show up when new alerts came in. After I viewed them, the alerts button would go away. I'd like to be able to view the alerts more than once.

Thanks!