We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2  (Read 129719 times)

Offline Vandamme23

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #435 on: February 17, 2015, 11:38:22 am »
  • So this was installed before the firmware update and working previously?
  • How did you install it?
  • what version number is the DataCache source file?

Yes it was installed and working perfectly...

I installed it manually following the instructions in the DataYours: User Guide - version 2014.06.30

Not sure... Is this what you are asking for? local version = "2014.07.10 DataCache2  @akbooer"

Thx for the help...

Offline Vandamme23

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #436 on: February 17, 2015, 12:39:29 pm »
  • So this was installed before the firmware update and working previously?
  • How did you install it?
  • what version number is the DataCache source file?

Yes it was installed and working perfectly...

I installed it manually following the instructions in the DataYours: User Guide - version 2014.06.30

Not sure... Is this what you are asking for? local version = "2014.07.10 DataCache2  @akbooer"

Thx for the help...

Revisited the install insturctions to make sure everything was in place...  The carbon.conf file was no longer there...  I replaced it, rebooted, and can now get a bit further...  Now when attempting to watch a variable, I get
Status messsage = [string "module ("whisper2", package.seeall)..."]:637: Cannot create file '%s'

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #437 on: February 17, 2015, 01:20:32 pm »
Now when attempting to watch a variable, I get
Status messsage = [string "module ("whisper2", package.seeall)..."]:637: Cannot create file '%s'
  • This is a write permissions problem with the database.  What is the value of LOCAL_DATA_DIR (in the carbon.conf file?  Available on the configuration page of any of the daemons.)
  • Are you using local storage, USB, or CIFS?
  • Are you sure that the path is now (after 'upgrade') accessible from Vera?
This is not the latest version, but if it was working before then it should be OK.

I am currently preparing a UI7-safe version for the App store (which should make installation easier.)
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline Vandamme23

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #438 on: February 17, 2015, 02:30:24 pm »
Now when attempting to watch a variable, I get
Status messsage = [string "module ("whisper2", package.seeall)..."]:637: Cannot create file '%s'
  • This is a write permissions problem with the database.  What is the value of LOCAL_DATA_DIR (in the carbon.conf file?  Available on the configuration page of any of the daemons.)
  • Are you using local storage, USB, or CIFS?
  • Are you sure that the path is now (after 'upgrade') accessible from Vera?
This is not the latest version, but if it was working before then it should be OK.

I am currently preparing a UI7-safe version for the App store (which should make installation easier.)

Using CIFS...  and it looks like my mount is gone after the upgrade...  I tried to re-install it, but now get errors when trying to run the packages...

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #439 on: February 17, 2015, 04:49:39 pm »
Using CIFS...  and it looks like my mount is gone after the upgrade...  I tried to re-install it, but now get errors when trying to run the packages...

Yes, I'm afraid that's happened to all of us on the latest UI7 version(s).

Not sure if anyone has pursued this with the Vera folk?
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline dreamcryer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #440 on: February 21, 2015, 02:25:57 am »
I am new to Vera and DataYours. I have installed Akbooer's Version3 Beta for UI7. I got Watcher and Cache devices created. But I a having trouble getting Graph and Dash to run. The Daemon value in DataYours device always revert back to "Watcher, Cache" after reboot.

I had the same problem with Watcher after getting DataYours created. So I just uploaded files for Watcher and Cache and then rebooted twice (maybe more times). Then both Watcher and Cache devices were created. Now have all files for Graph and Dash uploaded. But as just mentioned, the Daemon property values doesn't seem to persist.

Any idea here?

Offline dreamcryer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #441 on: February 21, 2015, 02:49:59 am »
I am new to Vera and DataYours. I have installed Akbooer's Version3 Beta for UI7. I got Watcher and Cache devices created. But I a having trouble getting Graph and Dash to run. The Daemon value in DataYours device always revert back to "Watcher, Cache" after reboot.

I had the same problem with Watcher after getting DataYours created. So I just uploaded files for Watcher and Cache and then rebooted twice (maybe more times). Then both Watcher and Cache devices were created. Now have all files for Graph and Dash uploaded. But as just mentioned, the Daemon property values doesn't seem to persist.

Any idea here?

Restart 4 times in a row fixed it :)

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #442 on: February 21, 2015, 06:39:43 am »
Restart 4 times in a row fixed it :)

OK, glad to hear it.  I was about to suggest that you just check that you had clicked outside the DAEMONS box and waited for the value to update before restarting.

I understand the technical reasons why two restarts are required, but four seems a bit excessive!
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline dreamcryer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #443 on: February 23, 2015, 01:58:50 am »
OK, glad to hear it.  I was about to suggest that you just check that you had clicked outside the DAEMONS box and waited for the value to update before restarting.
I understand the technical reasons why two restarts are required, but four seems a bit excessive!

My guess was that Dash depends on Graph. So rebooting twice was not enough for Dash to be configured. And since I had all files for Graph and Dash uploaded, the configuration for Dash probably failed and cleaned up the Daemon value somewhere when Luup engine loads up if I reload browser. Rebooting 4 times in a row without reloading the browser probably allowed all configuration to complete without interruption.

Sorry I did not have time to do more testing and debugging. If you are interested in ping-pointing the root cause, point me to the log entries that I should look for or add more logs to the log, I can probably do the investigation next weekend.

Offline dreamcryer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #444 on: February 23, 2015, 02:56:48 am »
Interesting.....

So, I installed ksmod-fs-cifs. I read here we need cifsmount which contradicts earlier posts I made about installing it: http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/cifs.client.

Ironically I swear to you I tried opkg install cifsmount and it didn't work. After installing the ksmod-fs-cifs I did eventually reboot and ran opkg install cifsmount.

Installing cifsmount (1.5-2) to root...
Downloading http://download.mios.com/firmware/openwrt/ramips/packages/cifsmount_1.5-2_ramips.ipk.
Configuring cifsmount.

So....whatever I guess..
Still didn't work, only getting no file or directory exists.

Went back here: http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/cifs.client
I installed the special packages: opkg install kmod-nls-utf8 kmod-nls-base kmod-crypto-hmac kmod-crypto-md5 kmod-crypto-misc cifsmount

I then did mount.cifs //myip/share /tmp/tom -o user=myusername
You can put a password, I just let it prompt me.

So that actually worked. Now I go into /tmp/tom and do an ls. Another error...
Led me to this: http://www.gnu.org/software/coreutils/faq/coreutils-faq.html#Value-too-large-for-defined-data-type
So perhaps the share needs to be smaller...

Running out of time tonight but that's progress I supose.

One quick update, also did it from /mnt/tom and it is working but still the exact same error.

Try use --force-depends when installing the packages, then reboot. I have successfully mounted my NAS on VeraEdge.

Offline Vandamme23

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DataYours Beta Test - VERSION 2
« Reply #445 on: February 26, 2015, 10:49:44 am »
Using CIFS...  and it looks like my mount is gone after the upgrade...  I tried to re-install it, but now get errors when trying to run the packages...

Yes, I'm afraid that's happened to all of us on the latest UI7 version(s).

Not sure if anyone has pursued this with the Vera folk?

Ok...  I have my CIFS mount back...  I'm not sure what was done, but I logged a case with Vera about losing my mount after the upgrade.  They replied on 2/24 and I enabled Tech Support.  Got an email back today asking me to try again...  Ran the following commands and my mount is working again...

1.opkg install kmod-fs-cifs
2.mount -t cifs -o user=<user>,pass=<password> //myip/myshare /nas