Author Topic: How do i query a thermostat device ?  (Read 850 times)

Offline mikee123

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
  • Karma: +18/-11
How do i query a thermostat device ?
« on: July 09, 2014, 07:48:57 am »
I control my hot water from Vera via a thermostat device. For the hot water to be on, I have to set the thermostat to 'Heat'. Now I would like to create a tasker task to have an action to when this happens. I have enabled autovera updates for the hot water device, but it is not working yet. I am not sure what to set autovera device kind to. So I had set it to Device Hot water, Service Fan operating mode, variable mode, New value heat. This is obviously not right. Any idea what kind of device and what service I have to specify ?

Offline dkc

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: How do i query a thermostat device ?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 11:53:20 am »
You tried a few options and just missed the correct service.

Your Status Update should look like this:

Vera: Your Vera
Device: Your Hot Water Heater
Service: User Operating Mode
Variable: Mode Status
New Value: HeatOn

That profile will catch only when your heater gets set to Heat, be sure you've enabled status updates for that device.

Offline mikee123

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
  • Karma: +18/-11
Re: How do i query a thermostat device ?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 02:44:23 pm »
Thanks, this time I have already turned on the status updates...   ;D