We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Understanding Thermostat  (Read 1931 times)

Offline Bboy486

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +2/-2
Understanding Thermostat
« on: August 03, 2014, 09:58:38 am »
I had a Trane thermostat (Zwave) on my old house worked great. It was the typical 5 wore setup.

Well I moved and the new house is energy efficient. Great, but when I went to reinstall the trade I noticed that the new Thermo has three wires. Not being familiar with this I had an AC guy confirm that my Trane isn't compatible.

So I called Honeywell and they suggested that I get  Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007/U Z-Wave Enabled Programmable Thermostat by Honeywell http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005EJ7YO2/ref=cm_sw_r_udp_awd_x-J3tb0ESC4S2

When I asked if they were sure it was compatible they didn't confirm. Not the best CS.

So I am stuck. Been to a few hardware stores and no one can confirm based in my setup.

Here are the specs

Relay modal in attic
3 wires
Whole house filtration system

Any help would be appreciated to get my Zwave back (I am not a fan of the wifi models)

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2014, 04:51:17 pm »
What are the m#'s on your indoor and outdoor units?
U.S.A Vera 3

Offline Bboy486

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2014, 06:41:28 pm »
On the thermostat or the AC unit?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-143
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2014, 07:54:13 pm »
Sounds like a "communicating" thermostat setup that use a 3 wire digital bus.

They have a network connected thermostat option .... But it's proprietary..

They have a option to put in a board that communicates with the old traditional multi wire protocol. That gives up some features.

This is what I chose to do.. It was more important to me that it be tied in to my automation strategy.

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2014, 08:20:38 pm »
On the thermostat or the AC unit?
"indoor and outdoor units"
U.S.A Vera 3

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2014, 08:54:04 pm »
On the Amazon link you specified one of the notes states:

2.This item requires a common wire (5th wire) to power the unit. Without the common wire this unit will not power up. Instructions as well as a wire saver module are provided with the unit.

Since you only have 3 wires, chances are it may not work. Also Amazon has put this notice on the page:
---------------
Item Under Review

While this item is available from other marketplace sellers on this page, it is not currently offered by Amazon.com because customers have told us there may be something wrong with our inventory of the item, the way we are shipping it, or the way it's described here. (Thanks for the tip!)

We're working to fix the problem as quickly as possible.

------

Your best bet is to provide ServiceXP with the make and model number of both your internal and outdoor unit.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline Bboy486

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2014, 12:26:58 am »
Yea I'll have to do that. They just have bad hours.

Offline Bboy486

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2014, 12:28:17 am »

Sounds like a "communicating" thermostat setup that use a 3 wire digital bus.

They have a network connected thermostat option .... But it's proprietary..

They have a option to put in a board that communicates with the old traditional multi wire protocol. That gives up some features.

This is what I chose to do.. It was more important to me that it be tied in to my automation strategy.

Can you explain more on the board idea? Where would I get it? Is there specific boards for specific models?

What features would I lose? The Thermo is pretty basic.

Offline kentmorgan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Understanding Thermostat
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2014, 10:04:14 am »
You have to buy an interface from Trane to convert this stat to one that can wire into a standard A/C system. I had to go to a Trane dealer to get one.

Trane also make a new zwave stat: TZEMT400BB3NX