We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Best method of thermostat programming? Or, I'm missing the "hold" feature!  (Read 3232 times)

Offline wantonsoup

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
I've got several thermostats in my home, and all of them are the Trane Z-wave model (non-touchscreen).  I set it up with 6 different scenes to change the settings throughout the day.    I like this because if I temporarily change the temp, I know that at 3pm it'll go back onto the program as would a normal thermostat's programming.

But - sometimes I want it to hold a temp.  This week has been especially hot and I was trying to keep the A/C running longer than normal to cool down the rooms.  But of course, at 3pm it goes back to the normal programming and I have to set phone alarms for myself to go back in and lower the temp every day.

Is there a way around this?  HVAC is the one thing I think has been twice as hard with Zwave to setup than just a normal programmable thermostat.  Perhaps there's an HVAC app or something I'm not using that would make this easier?  Thanks for all the help.

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Can you tie the outside temp. In the scene programing logic. may  be with PLEG?
U.S.A Vera 3

Offline Mac8506

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
I would like to be able to do the same thing, sometimes things change and I need to be able to hod the temp on all 4 ac units. I hope someone post a solution.
Thanks

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Not sure what everyone is asking for.... are you asking for a Hold function on the front of the thermostat device? Or a Hold function within Vera from the web interface or from your mobile device?

-TC

Offline sohcrates

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
I think it is a hold button within the vera interface that is sought, not a button on the unit.  I have been wanting this for a while and been unable to find out how to do it. 

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
You can easily do this by using PLEG scheduling and a virtual switch (for the hold button) to run your thermostat schedules (what I use) or a virtual switch and some luup code in your Vera scene/schedule.

Offline sohcrates

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
I appreciate the suggestions, and being fairly new to Vera, was able to learn about some new ways of controlling the automation.  Thank you.  I am coming from homeseer, which did allow for more flexible control.  It just didn't work most of the time.  I will look into the PLEG idea.  I am not versed in luup programming.  Any idea where to start learning?  It is referenced everywhere in this forum, and I am starting to get the idea, but have yet to find any kind of "how to" area for it.  All of that being said, it seems like both ideas are really workarounds to the general idea of having a simple button in vera to toggle hold mode...

Offline TunedIn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hi all,
Just a suggestion based on my limited experience, but I used a similar logic for a different purpose, but should work the same.....

Add a virtual switch that you can simply toggle the "hold" status on or off at will, (when you don't want the thermostat schedule to kick in).
In the luup section for each of your scheduled thermostat scenes, add:

 local dID = 23           -- Device ID of your virtual switch

 local HoldStatus = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:VSwitch1", "Status", dID)
  if (HoldStatus == "1") then
    return false
  end

This should stop your scheduled scenes from running and changing the temperature when your virtual switch has been set to "hold".
See if something like that works for you.
Thanks,
Chris B.

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
TunedIn offered a good solution which should work (I can't verify it though). I personally stay away from Luup and Vera scenes and use PLEG. But that's just a personal preference. Either method will get the job done.

Offline Mac8506

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
TC1 Thanks for the pleg idea. I bought pleg just not sure what the Code to add to pleg you are reffering to. Can you provide some samples thanks in advance

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
No coding needed with PLEG. Simply pull down menus and naming some variables. You'll be adding a Virtual switch from the app store (for the Hold function)

I'd recommend to start here:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,21603.0.html


Offline kentmorgan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Best method of thermostat programming? Or, I'm missing the "hold" feature!
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2014, 10:11:07 am »
I am having the same issue. My Trane stat has the hold feature but it does not show up on Vera. I just posted:

I have 2 houses using 5 Trane zwave tstats. I have Vera Lite and use Vera Mobile on my cell phone to control them. I cannot change the modes for run/hold/energy savings on the Vera Mobile app. Is there a way to do this with Vera Mobile or another cell phone app? I can change the mode on getvera.com for normal(run)/energy savings. But I cannot put the tstats into hold.

What is the best app to monitor Vera Lite's?

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Best method of thermostat programming? Or, I'm missing the "hold" feature!
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2014, 01:44:07 pm »
A lot can be done through (low-level) Z-Wave on the Trane, but not necessarily with the (fairly generic) thermostat widget.

Have a peek here. You could maybe use that in a scene (Luup tab).
« Last Edit: September 16, 2014, 01:53:16 pm by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...