We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!  (Read 7648 times)

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2014, 01:33:20 pm »
I had thought of doing the cover, but the existing switch is some weird round box with a red toggle for the light.  As far as i can tell it is completely waterproof.  i'll see if i can figure a way to get into the wall to connect an in-wall switch. 

thanks for the help

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2014, 03:48:33 pm »
"in-wall" switches can be installed at the light. See the attached diagram.


Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2014, 05:53:30 pm »
Thanks again for all the help.  i purchased one of the in-wall switches and found a light in the circuit (there are 4 different lights) the is protected (actually inside the house).   so, when i opened the light fixture, there is one line coming into the junction box with a white and a black, then one line leaving the junction box (also with a black and white).  the light fixture is basically spliced into that

 

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2014, 07:22:20 pm »
As you see in the diagram that I provided, You need to mount the microswitch in the light where the wall switches and the mains poser comes in.

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2014, 07:55:25 pm »
Thanks, i figured you would say that... now i have to go pull all the fixtures down to see which one is the first...

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2014, 10:06:09 pm »
Z-Waver,
Thanks again for all the help.  In your diagram you show the Aeon Labs switch (DSC18103), but could this work with the Linear (FS20Z-1) switch?  the reason i ask is because there are quite a few lights on this circuit and I would feel better with a 20A switch vs. a 10A switch.  My concern is that i only see 4 wires on the FS20Z vs. the diagram that you showed.   

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2014, 12:08:56 pm »
Z-Waver,
Thanks again for all the help.  In your diagram you show the Aeon Labs switch (DSC18103), but could this work with the Linear (FS20Z-1) switch?  the reason i ask is because there are quite a few lights on this circuit and I would feel better with a 20A switch vs. a 10A switch.  My concern is that i only see 4 wires on the FS20Z vs. the diagram that you showed.   
The FS20Z-1 is solely a Z-Wave controlled dry contact relay. The FS20Z-1 does not allow the option for control from a wall switch.  It can only be controlled with Z-Wave commands or by pressing the include button on the FS20Z-1 itself. So, no.

The Remotec Zwave Dry Contact Fixture Module** does allow for control from an external switch, but it is limited to 15Amps.

**(Though I see no reason why it would not work, I have not tried the ZMF-80 for such an application and I would not normally recommend the ZMF-80 for this scenario.)

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2014, 07:01:18 pm »
Z-Waver,
Thanks again for all the help.  In your diagram you show the Aeon Labs switch (DSC18103), but could this work with the Linear (FS20Z-1) switch?  the reason i ask is because there are quite a few lights on this circuit and I would feel better with a 20A switch vs. a 10A switch.  My concern is that i only see 4 wires on the FS20Z vs. the diagram that you showed.

Put a RIB2401B in the same box as the DSC18103 (actually I refer the less expensive DSC26103-ZWUS).

Have the DSC output go to the 120VAC coil of the RIB relay and then use the 20A contacts of the relay to switch your heavier load.
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2014, 10:51:26 pm »
well poop... after tearing everything down to determine where all the wires went, it turns out that my power and my load are in separate boxes, so there is no way i could figure to do this.  here is a wirind schematic of what it looks like.  if anyone has any ideas as to what would work here, please let me know...


Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2014, 12:22:15 pm »
Tough deal here. :'( :-X You really need 4 wires between the two switch locations or three wires to the load to make this work.

http://aeotec.com/support/1219-micro-switch-wiring-schematics.html

Any options to run another NM cable from switch 1 to either load or switch 2? That would be best option IMO.

Otherwise option is to eliminate switch 2 and wire it up for only switch 1 and the DSC. Then put a ZWave scene controller switch (Intermetic CA5100 or equivalent)  at switch 2 with just power on it. Then create a scene whenever switch 2's state changes, Vera toggles switch 1. The issues with this approach is there will be a time lag so it could get confusing to people.
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2014, 08:23:02 pm »
Thanks curiousB, Probably no options to run more cable without tearing into some walls. 

I may try to do what you are suggesting and replace the second switch with an see how bad the delay is.   

After going through this and looking into some of my other junction boxes, it appears that whomever wired this house was either smoking a lot of dope or using it as a training opportunity for a new person.  I have some that are wired with source at first switch and light at the end, some with source at first switch and light in between, some with source at the lights and switches after, etc.  i have just about every variation.   

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2014, 02:08:06 pm »
Just make sure the scene controller at switch 2 supports instant status. Otherwise you're at the mercy of Vera polling the device and that can take minutes.

As for the wiring, newer versions of the NEC require a neutral at every junction box. The notion of just a two wire switch loop (without neutral) has gone away in anticipation of more electronics in the switches. That said not all counties adopt the latest NEC and of course this doesn't help existing home which become grandfathered.
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline sebby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +15/-3
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2014, 03:14:32 pm »
ok, i did the install and it works, though even with an instant on switch there is a delay turning the light on.  i am ok with it, but the wife keeps flipping the switch multiple times and cursing at me a lot  ;).  Thanks curiousB and zwaver for all the help. 


Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: Question regarding the concept of 3-way z-wave switch!!
« Reply #28 on: December 01, 2014, 03:15:43 pm »
...but the wife keeps flipping the switch multiple times and cursing at me a lot  .....

I feel your pain brother! My wife likes to bust my chops over the Vera stuff too.
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)