Author Topic: /overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found  (Read 830 times)

Offline daved

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
/overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found
« on: August 18, 2014, 08:28:04 pm »
I'm having some confusing trouble with setting up Altsteon. I've copied over the files using WinSCP and setup alsteon.dev to 755. I'm trying to run the "/overlay/sbin/altsteon --help" command and getting the error "/overlay/sbin/altsteon: not found"

I've attached a screenshot from WinSCP confirming that the files are there - does everything look correct? Any ideas on what else I should try?

Thanks!
Dave

Offline daved

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: /overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2014, 08:31:47 pm »
Attached is a screenshot from the SSH session... even listing the files shows that the file is there, not sure what is going on.

Offline daved

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: /overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2014, 08:54:33 pm »
Alright, making some progress, but I feel like something is still incorrect. If I run "/overlay/sbin/altsteon.dev --help" I get the Help output. So does that mean the files have an incorrect file extension? Should I remove ".dev" from the two files? Thanks!!

Offline daved

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: /overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2014, 10:38:22 am »
I went ahead and renamed the files to drop the ".dev" and it appears that the daemon is working properly.

Offline Sammy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 646
  • Karma: +3/-3
Re: /overlay/sbin/alsteon: not found
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2017, 02:12:38 pm »
I know this post is as old as dirt but is this what I've been needing to do to get my Alsteon to work correctly?