Author Topic: AD2USB over network / ethernet  (Read 15073 times)

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #30 on: May 09, 2016, 02:48:47 pm »
Sorry, no idea on the "Cant detect device" bit - seems to be a vera-ism that doesn't affect actual arming and disarming.

If you are using our image on the pi, there are several places to look:

/var/log/messages
/opt/alarmdecoder-webapp/instance/logs/
/var/log/gunicorn/

Since you are using the pi with ser2sock, you can verify ability to connect from a PC using telnet:  telnet <pi ip address>:10000

If you cannot connect, I would assume that the pi itself is having issues, maybe power related?

Offline mrwildbob

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #31 on: May 09, 2016, 03:39:13 pm »
Hi Kevin,

Thanks for the reply.  Normally everything is ok with the RPi but I notice after 20+ days, I can not connect to it via vera or AD Keypad Desktop App.  If I log into web interface, it will show the page but does not show the keypad.  If I reboot, then everything works fine.  The RPi seems to be working fine as I have several other RPis without issues.  I checked the logs and didn't see anything that stands out as a problem.  I seems to me like the listener just stops.  Have you seen that before?

boB

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #32 on: May 10, 2016, 03:49:03 pm »
Not something I've seen before.  Make sure ser2sock service is continuing to run and has not lost access to the serial port.

Are you using an AD2USB or AD2PI?  AD2USB, perhaps it's having a "usb disconnect" event and having trouble rebinding to the serial port - killing and restarting ser2sock should fix that provided that the usb stays at /dev/ttyUSB0

Offline mrwildbob

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #33 on: May 10, 2016, 06:15:41 pm »
I am using AD2USB.  I should get myself the AD2PI, that might fix it up.

Thanks

boB

Offline pentium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #34 on: May 10, 2016, 07:04:53 pm »
It hasn't happened in a long time so i am not certain, but it seems that everytime i disconnected the ad2usb cable from vera, I would have to go back in and set the serial port up in the vera interface.  UI5

Offline mrwildbob

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #35 on: August 28, 2016, 01:18:51 am »
Ok, I tried to update Vera firmware to latest (1.7.855) and failed.  Error was to contact support.  Contacted support and they logged into my Vera3 and had to clear the Vera, upgrade it, then restore backup.

Now, getting error on Ademco Vista Alarm Panel "Missing port.Can't Detect Device" and "Vista Alarm Panel : Connection down."  I checked the ip:port and was correct.  (Running AlarmDecoder on RPi)  AlarmDecoder (RPi) works fine and AlarmDecoder Keypad works.  I could telnet into port 10000 and see the messages.  Uninstalled app and reinstalled.  No change.

overNetwork=1 is set
IODevice=0 is set

At this point, it has to be vera.  Anyone have ideas?

boB

Offline pentium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #36 on: August 28, 2016, 07:07:26 am »
You probably did but didn't mention it, did you set the baud rate in the serial port configuration to 115200?

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #37 on: November 22, 2016, 06:38:42 pm »
I wanted to update my firmware on my AD2USB from 2.2a.6 to 2.2a.8.2 so I can use it with Honeywell Compass software.  But after upgrading the firmware it does not work with Vera correctly anymore.  I could arm and disarm but it would not update the status or trigger my lights.  After downgrade the AD2USB firmware it worked correctly again.  Is 2.45 still the latest plugin?  Is there anyway to make it work properly with the latest firmware?  I am on UI5.

Thanks!

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #38 on: November 23, 2016, 11:46:35 am »
Is this a fix for my issue?  How do I add this?

http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_vista-alarm-panel-ad2usb/changeset/81/

Offline s0c0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #39 on: December 10, 2016, 06:20:33 pm »
I'm on UI7. I think I have this working. Kept getting the "Cant Connect" error even though everything including sensors were working correctly. But, the "You have one device disconnected" error message on the dash from Vera was driving me nuts. I took a look at the .lua kevin posted @ reply#28. Found this: (Lines #23-27)
Code: [Select]
local SID = {
PANEL = "urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1",
PARTITION = "urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:AlarmPartition2",
SECURITY_SENSOR = "urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1"
}

I changed Line #25

Code: [Select]
PARTITION = "urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:AlarmPartition2",to
Code: [Select]
PARTITION = "urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:AlarmPartition1",
I made this change, uploaded the changed .lua to my vera and the "Cant Connect" message went away. Everything seems to be working.
I don't know if this change broke anything else I may not be using at this time. Such as an actual partition 2 connected to vera.

I am not a programmer, not a developer, and have little idea what I'm doing. I just know that something looked out of place, so I changed it and my problem went away

Hoping someone with some experience can chime in as to if I may have broken anything with this change I have not come across yet. I just know the message was driving me crazy and I wanted it gone, and now it is.

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #40 on: December 12, 2016, 02:25:13 pm »
Seems like a valid fix to me!

Offline jb2017

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #41 on: August 13, 2017, 04:07:14 pm »
Hoping my comment will bump this thread for others with a Vera Secure experiencing this issue...

The solution described in this thread is the only workaround that could get my AD2NetworkAppliance to work on my Vera Secure. Multiple calls and emails to Vera (the last call ended after an hour with the support tech telling me it 'couldn't be done' and the AD2Network 'wasn't supported') were useless.

Thank you!

Offline justroach

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #42 on: October 30, 2017, 11:48:23 pm »
Are the modified attachments from this thread still needed or has everything been pulled into the main plugin now? I'm on 3.12.

Thanks!

UPDATE:

I followed Kevin's directions here: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,26672.msg272946.html#msg272946

All working now.

UPDATE2:

I spoke too soon. The status is not being updated. Otherwise I can arm and disarm. Anyone have any great ideas? Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 07:06:59 pm by justroach »

Offline wolfpackt99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #43 on: November 30, 2017, 08:21:49 am »
i have the alarm decoder webapp running in docker on my nas. everything is working fine. Is this enough to follow the directions to get vera 'overNetwork' working?
Or does the rPi appliance have the serial app running as well?

Offline wolfpackt99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AD2USB over network / ethernet
« Reply #44 on: November 30, 2017, 08:51:44 am »
i dug through the dockerfile for the rPi.

Looks like i need to add the ser2sock repo as well. I can't simply use the webapp URL in vera.