We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house  (Read 4751 times)

Offline kermit88

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« on: September 08, 2014, 08:31:33 am »

Hi -
This weekend, for the 2nd time this month, Homewave was unable to reach my Vera while I was away from the house. 
When connected to the local wifi network, things worked just fine.

Was this limited to just me or was there a bigger issue affecting others?

What steps can I take if  this happens again?

Thanks,
Bill

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 02:17:54 pm »
There have been a couple of other users with similar issues.  I haven't determined the cause yet, but it appears to be an issue with the MiOS discovery server that HomeWave doesn't deal well with.  If it happens again, you can try logging in at cp.mios.com, noting the forwarding server assigned to you in the URL bar, then entering that URL into the "URL" field in HomeWave under the settings for your Vera as follows: https://fwd6.mios.com

HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline kermit88

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2014, 08:47:09 am »
Thanks - Homewave is a great app. 

Keep up the good work.

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2014, 10:52:48 am »
One user fixed his problem after manually filling in the Vera ID in HomeWave settings. The ID should be filled in automatically when you connect on your LAN, but if you have never done that or if MiOS passes a blank or incorrect ID, it may be necessary to correct it manually.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline FlyBy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2014, 01:39:55 am »
Similar problem.  Initial setup.  House is 3 hours away (no access to LAN at the moment) so I'm trying to connect remotely but I keep getting:  "Gateway credentials Incorrect username / password for unit: xxxxx"
In Vera settings I have:
VERA IP Address: blank (tried it with and without local IP address "192.168.1.150")
Vera Device ID: xxxxx ( 5 digits - obtained from MiOS Systems page)
MiOS Username: xxxxx (it's correct)
MiOS Password: xxxxx (it's correct)
Name: blank
URL (internet): https://fwd2.mios.com
Direct to Vera (no MiOS): not selected
Ignore MiOS IP setting: not selected
UI5 Firmware: not selected

I have a Vera 2, UI4. 1.1.1362
iPad running iOS 7.1.2
HomeWave version 1.93

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2014, 06:08:23 am »
FlyBy, please remove the URL from the Vera settings in HomeWave.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline FlyBy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2014, 04:08:22 pm »
Removed the URL, although that was not my connection problem.  Received quick and accurate diagnosis via email support (excellent - thanks!).  Problem was "UI5 Firmware" was not selected.  This did not seem intuitive as I have UI4.  Suspect there is still a big enough UI4 base that changing tag to read "UI4/UI5 Firmware" would be helpful.

Have only had HomeWave for 1 day, but so far, perfect for my needs (creating super simple interface for novice users).
Very impressed.

Offline grobertx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2015, 04:09:28 pm »
same issue...  No issues controlling home via wall mounted Ipad 2 or iphones while on home wifi, FYI I log into "https://home.getvera.com/dashboard/myunits" from PC to control home. Would this be the user name / PW requested in homewave app on iphone;

MiOS Username:
MiOS Password: 

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2015, 04:46:15 pm »
Yes indeed, the credentials you use for getvera.com go into the mios fields in Homewave. I suppose I could change the caption.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline grobertx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2015, 09:50:43 am »
Thanks, remote connection established...

Offline pathed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2015, 02:07:20 am »
Yes indeed, the credentials you use for getvera.com go into the mios fields in Homewave. I suppose I could change the caption.

Having problems connecting with a basic user account (says invalid credentials) when using HomeWave (works when using the Vera app and when accessing through home.getvera).
My admin account name only has lowercase letters, but this account uses both upper- and lowercase letters.
When accessing my controller through home.getvera the username is case-specific.

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2015, 06:16:32 am »
Having problems connecting with a basic user account (says invalid credentials) when using HomeWave (works when using the Vera app and when accessing through home.getvera).
My admin account name only has lowercase letters, but this account uses both upper- and lowercase letters.
When accessing my controller through home.getvera the username is case-specific.

Please make sure that the "UI5 Firmware" switch is set to Off in Homewave settings->Vera as well.  If that isn't the issue, please enable logging in HomeWave, try and connect remotely, then mail me the log.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline Miamijerry

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2015, 08:36:27 am »
What is the correct URL to put here for UI7;
Vera Settings
URL (+port): Specify the full URL to the MiOS service, in case HomeWave is unable to discover this URL automatically. Specify the complete url, including http(s)://

I have tried;
<Blank>
https://home.getvera.com/dashboard/myunits
https://home.getvera.com/users/login
https://vera-us-oem-autha11.mios.com

Yet I have not been able to connect by the internet

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 17, 2015, 11:17:47 am by Miamijerry »
Vera 3 - UI7,   Energy - Brultech GEM,   Pool - Autelis/Pentair EasyTouch 8,   Climate - 4 each CT-30 Z-Wave Thermostats,   Yard - IrrigationCaddy

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2015, 04:43:19 pm »
If you are using the Getvera service, leave the URL blank and enter your Getvera username and password in the corresponding fields.  Turn the "UI5 firmware" switch Off.  If still no luck, trying connecting from the internet using Vera's free app and the same credentials.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline Miamijerry

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Trouble accessing Vera when away from house
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2015, 08:14:46 am »
If you are using the Getvera service, leave the URL blank and enter your Getvera username and password in the corresponding fields.  Turn the "UI5 firmware" switch Off.  If still no luck, trying connecting from the internet using Vera's free app and the same credentials.

"Blank" works, I just was not waiting long enough. Thank you for your help.
Vera 3 - UI7,   Energy - Brultech GEM,   Pool - Autelis/Pentair EasyTouch 8,   Climate - 4 each CT-30 Z-Wave Thermostats,   Yard - IrrigationCaddy