We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: OpenRemote Plugin  (Read 4143 times)

Offline Otje

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +6/-1
OpenRemote Plugin
« on: January 06, 2013, 03:13:31 pm »
Hello

I am going to spend  some time understanding how OpenRemote works.
I see it is being mentioned in other posts as well.

Maybe someone is already interfacing with OpenRemote?

Could you share your experiences? That would be much appreciated.
When I make some progress i will also post it here, but i am not much of a programmer  :(

http://www.openremote.org/display/HOME/OpenRemote
VERA Plus, VERA 3 Lite , couple of PIR's, several switch units, wall mounted tablet, Sonos integration with TTS, Temperature sensors, Imperihome, Zwave LED bulbs

Offline Otje

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: OpenRemote Plugin
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 05:06:43 pm »
in the mean time i managed to setup openremote, it is actually quite simple.
with the designer package you can design your telephone or tablet screen (interface).
You can also include pictures of your house...

the switches etc are sending commands through http calls. also quite simple.

you have to run an openremote contoller that acts as a service. it is now running on my PC but i am trying to have this setup on a NAS or so.

Polling statusses in VERA may become a problem, as i am afraid the frequent http GET commands will flood VERA...

So I continue to try.. It is a cool software to customise your tablet or phone interface.
VERA Plus, VERA 3 Lite , couple of PIR's, several switch units, wall mounted tablet, Sonos integration with TTS, Temperature sensors, Imperihome, Zwave LED bulbs

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: OpenRemote Plugin
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 04:29:36 pm »
Hi @otterio

I was just wondering how you (or anyone else reading this) got on with using Openremote?

I noticed a dedicated page on their website for Vera and it looked very interesting..

http://www.openremote.org/display/docs/OpenRemote+2.0+How+To+-+Micasaverde+Vera

Offline Otje

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: OpenRemote Plugin
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 01:13:01 pm »
Hi Parkerc

Thanks for your message.
When i started to look at openremote i thought it was quite difficult, but it is actually very easy.
within a short moment i had it up and running and via http commands i got to switch a few lights and have it communicating with the remote that you can design.

since then this page that you refer to was much improved.

i did not find the time yet to design my own remote, but it is quite easy.

a plugin is actually not required.

only drawback is that you have to run Java server  somewhere on a PC or on a NAS in your house. i have trouble installing it on a NAS and i do not want to run a PC the whole day. that is why i am still using a remote app for VERA.

it would be nice of the java server could be installed on the VERA .....

other then that: this is a very flexible program and you can design your own interface.  i want to design an interface for my tablet

VERA Plus, VERA 3 Lite , couple of PIR's, several switch units, wall mounted tablet, Sonos integration with TTS, Temperature sensors, Imperihome, Zwave LED bulbs

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: OpenRemote Plugin
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2013, 05:10:18 pm »
Hi @otterio

it would be nice of the java server could be installed on the VERA .....

Sadly I don't think the CPU is supported, plus Vera might not have 'oomph' that's needed to run it. Also I'm thinking I need to have a NAS or something running in parallel with Vera to handle the complimentary tools (such as Openremote)

Please update the post with your progress on designing an interface for the iPad (and also what you do about running the controller software.


Offline krmccreight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: OpenRemote Plugin
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2014, 11:23:50 am »
So I have read through this tread and wanted to toss this out.  I have been playing with open remote for about a week now.  I will say that Irule is a bit more user friendly to start but I took a Raspberry Pi  and set it up for OpenRemote.  That runs all of the time in my home in place of a pc and all seems to be working.  I fixed the Pi to the same board in my routing closet and with its low power draw it is basically a NAS or a Vera just in there that I don't have to think about.  I will say this however if you are unfamiliar with the Pi the Arm V6 processor running Raspbian wheezy is a trick to learn and navigate unless you are very familiar with Linux based systems and commands.

Once I have everything established and stable I will run a step by step.