We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin  (Read 47030 times)

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« on: September 18, 2014, 12:50:32 am »
Ecobee has released an attractive new wifi thermostat that supports up to 32 wireless temperature/presence sensors.  This lets the thermostat reach the setpoint for which rooms are occupied, not just where the thermostat is installed.  It looks really slick and can be pre-ordered now.

http://www.theverge.com/2014/9/16/6154675/smart-thermostat-maker-ecobee-pokes-nest-with-a-striking-redesign

The company president has assured that the existing API, against which I wrote the Vera plugin, is unchanged from the previous models, so the plugin ought to work with this model with no issues.  I hope to get a test unit to add direct Vera devices for its wireless temperature sensors.

watou

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2014, 10:54:15 am »
I may have to look into this and replace my trane thermostat. I would like to have remote sensors throughout the house. Are the sensors exposed via the api?

- Garrett
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 11:01:24 am by garrettwp »

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2014, 11:56:37 am »
I may have to look into this and replace my trane thermostat. I would like to have remote sensors throughout the house. Are the sensors exposed via the api?

- Garrett
The API does expose sensors and their readings, but since these are new sensors compared to the old thermostats, I would only rely on a specific "yes" from Ecobee or empirical testing. I do *believe* the sensors would be exposed in the API but I will need to get my hands on a unit to be sure. In any case. I intend to evolve the plugin to take full advantage of the ecobee3.


watou


Offline NickTheGreat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +3/-5
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2014, 12:18:34 pm »
This at least looks like a good option.

As much as I hate to admit it, WAF would be big in my decision to purchase a new t-stat.  So if it works well and looks good, sign me up  8)

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2014, 02:07:17 pm »
Is the unit accessible via local network or does it go through their servers like the nest?

- Garrett


Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2014, 02:27:51 pm »
Is the unit accessible via local network or does it go through their servers like the nest?

- Garrett
Like the Nest. The published API is all to their servers (JSON/HTTPS/OAuth2). I doubt any local network hack is feasible or worth the trouble. I've found their server uptime to be solid.

watou


Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2014, 05:30:46 am »
Here is an initial review of the new ecobee3 thermostat from a long-time Ecobee customer:

http://stevejenkins.com/blog/2014/09/ecobee-3-review/


Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2014, 08:27:12 am »
Thanks for the link to the review. I'll probably order something in the next month or two. Mainly for the multisenor support that I always wanted.

- Garrett


Offline laaf2005

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2014, 12:03:05 am »
At the moment plugins are 'coming soon' for the web UI so cannot setup ecobee 3 to work with Vera unless someone else knows a way.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk


Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2014, 01:00:26 am »
At the moment plugins are 'coming soon' for the web UI so cannot setup ecobee 3 to work with Vera unless someone else knows a way.

So the new web UI currently lacks the feature to add the four-letter PIN to authorise a third-party app?  Oof!  I am still on the old web UI because you only get "upgraded" if you add an ecobee3 to your account, which I haven't done yet.  Ecobee said that their new thermostat works with the API no problem, so I hope they give us the chance to actually see that.  I'm very surprised that that was missing on launch day, but hopefully it will be added very soon.

watou

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2014, 04:59:03 pm »
Has anyone here actually played with this yet?  I'm about to pull the trigger ...

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2014, 05:57:30 am »
Has anyone here actually played with this yet?  I'm about to pull the trigger ...
I haven't yet heard of any reports of the ecobee3 working with the plugin, but I was told (second-hand) that the API the plugin uses works with the new thermostat no problem.  I also heard that the new web portal currently lacks the ability to add third-party app PINs, but I've not yet received confirmation directly from Ecobee or when that will be added.  If I get an answer from them, I may try to scrape up the cash to get an ecobee3 and a handful of wireless sensors -- it looks like a great thermostat all around.

watou

Offline watou

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +44/-12
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2014, 08:12:54 am »
Update: Ecobee is targeting support for third-party apps with the ecobee3 by the end of the month: 

http://developer.ecobee.com/api/topics/getpin-for-ecobee3


Has anyone here actually played with this yet?  I'm about to pull the trigger ...
I haven't yet heard of any reports of the ecobee3 working with the plugin, but I was told (second-hand) that the API the plugin uses works with the new thermostat no problem.  I also heard that the new web portal currently lacks the ability to add third-party app PINs, but I've not yet received confirmation directly from Ecobee or when that will be added.  If I get an answer from them, I may try to scrape up the cash to get an ecobee3 and a handful of wireless sensors -- it looks like a great thermostat all around.

watou

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2014, 08:56:01 am »
Great news as I'll most likely be purchasing the ecobee3 and additional sensors before winter sets in. Hopefully support will be added by the time I purchase the equipment.

- Garrett


Offline Sig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: New ecobee3 thermostat should work with existing plugin
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2014, 07:05:54 pm »
Wow, thanks for posting this @watou.  Finally, a modern, aesthetically pleasing new thermostat that does everything I want, except possibly work natively with Vera, for now at least.  I've hesitated on the Nest because I don't much like the interface (primarily the lack of interior temperature display).  And the new Lyric from Honeywell has received poor reviews.  So I just ordered an Ecobee3 for my primary home.  Will order a second for weekend home when, hopefully, the Vera add-in works.  I also sure hope that "mystery slot" the reviewer mentioned is for z-wave (although I suspect Zigbee is more likely).