Author Topic: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera  (Read 7142 times)

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« on: October 04, 2014, 02:27:57 pm »
Hi,
I have a sliding gate that I want to control with Vera.
The gate motor model is MATT MIG 600. The control board is START-S3XL.
I added here the electrical connections diagram.
Which module should I use? Switch or Roller Shutter?
How should the module be connected?
I appreciate any help.
Thanks

Offline hmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2014, 09:36:30 pm »
Your gate is designed to open when a momentary contact (ie normally open) pushbutton switch is pushed - that switch is connected between terminals 16 (START) and 9 (COM1). This function can be performed by use the "Normally Open" pair of output relay connections on a Fortrezz MIMOlite module. If you currently make use of a pushbutton to open the gate simply wire the pushbutton and the MIMOlite relay connections in parallel to each other - this will allow you to use either method to open the gate.

The MIMOlite requires a power supply of 24VDC (max) at 300mA. This can be provided by the control board of your gate: use terminal 10 (negative) and terminal 19 (positive), and set the "JAC/DC" jumper on the gate control board in the "DC" position.

Since this gate is presumably outdoors, you will need to figure out a method of (a) mounting the MIMOlite so that it is kept dry inside a non-metallic enclosure and (b) within wireless range of your Zwave network.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2014, 09:44:41 pm by hmb »

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 07:19:41 am »
hmb,
I really appreciate the detailed response.
I have a plastic box that contains both the motor and the control board, so if the Fortrezz will also fit in, this should be OK.
So will the following diagram is correct?
Should I remove the P5 jumper in order for a Momentary relay function?
Are there any more momentary switch relay alternatives?
Will the Fibaro Relay switch work if I set it to momentary switch mode?

Offline zwavemotors

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 08:58:45 am »
you need a Z-Wave module with a momentary dry contact output as mentioned,  check Remotec makes one too.
The Fibaro switches 230VAC, so will not work
WE suggest you also install door/window sensors on the gate which will confirm the gate is open or close, not sure if there are waterproof ones.
You can also activate the auto-close function on your gate controller to make sure the gate is closed by default.
In any case, a camera showing what the gate is doing might be a good idea
www.zwavemotors.com

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2014, 05:47:19 pm »
I think that the Remotec you refer to is the Remotec ZFM-80.
I will take a look at the spec to see if it fits.
I have checked the Fibaro Relay switch and it can be set to act as a momentary switch.
From the Fibaro Switch spec: "Parameter No. 14 - Switch type connector, you may choose between momentary and toggle switches."

I am still looking where I can get the Fortrezz MIMOlite EUROPE version. I can only find it in the US version.

Later on, I plan also to add the Hikvision DS-2CD2032 camera (waiting for it to arrive).

Offline hmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2014, 07:27:04 pm »
I have checked the Fibaro Relay switch and it can be set to act as a momentary switch.
From the Fibaro Switch spec: "Parameter No. 14 - Switch type connector, you may choose between momentary and toggle switches."

The Fibaro Relay Switch should work in this application, since it meets the criteria of (a) having relay contacts that are electrically isolated from the mains and (b) they can be set up to provide a momentary contact.

Offline zwavemotors

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 08:54:48 am »
Check but I think Fibaro is talking about the input contact, not output. AS far as I can see, the output is 230V, your board might not like it
Same with the Remotec, after checking, it seems that the output is also 120V

Offline hmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 09:07:09 am »
Check but I think Fibaro is talking about the input contact, not output. AS far as I can see, the output is 230V, your board might not like it
Same with the Remotec, after checking, it seems that the output is also 120V

The operating manual for the Fibaro FGS-211 relay switch states:
"Note: It is possible to supply the load with voltage other than the power supply to Fibaro switch (e.g. different phase or voltage or even DC. "

The wiring schematic for the FGS-211 also shows how both relay contacts are independent of the mains power that is used to provide operating power to the FGS-211 device itself.

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 11:26:53 am »
So,
I am going to try the FGS-211 relay and use 230VAC as the input and the DC power as alternative power. I will also set the switch type to momentary switch and try the following configuration:



Offline hmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 11:32:32 am »
So,
I am going to try the FGS-211 relay and use 230VAC as the input and the DC power as alternative power. I will also set the switch type to momentary switch and try the following configuration:

Looks good, and should work.

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2014, 07:46:49 am »
So, good news! I installed the Fibaro switch with the shown configuration and now I can open and close the gate.
But, although I set the switch to be a momentary switch (set parameter 14 to 0) it still behaves as a toggle switch.
When I press the On button, the Gate changes state:
When closed -> Start to open, when moving -> stops, when Open -> Start to close, etc...
So far so good.
But, the switch stays in the On State! so next time I want to control the gate, I need to turn it Off and then On again.
There is also a LED in the board, that shows that the START was set. This LED is ON until the gate complete the operation (either close or open). For a momentary switch I would expect a different behavior.

Offline zwavemotors

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2014, 09:14:54 am »
was looking at a different Fibaro switch, sorry for my erroneous comments.
try to write a scene where the fibaro closes only for 0.5second when activated

Offline amirvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2014, 09:47:01 am »
Right. It is exactly what I just tried now. It works much better. The state of the switch now is turned off immediately. So the next time I use the gate I only use the On button.
But, do i miss something? 
Shouldn't a momentary switch do this work for me?

Offline hmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2014, 09:10:36 pm »
It seems as though your attempt to configure the FGS-211 as a momentary switch is not working.

Perhaps this discussion can shed some light on the problem:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=16224.0

Offline dalhoj

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Controlling a Sliding Gate with Vera
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2014, 04:15:21 am »
Hi
I belive you have to configure parameter 3 to 1 and parameter 4 to 2, they control the auto off function of the relay.
The momentery switch is used for the pushbutton you can connect to the relay, and defins if the button is an on/off (toggle) or momentery button/switch

http://www.fibaro.com/manuals/en/FGS221-Relay-Switch-2x1.5kW/FGS221-Relay-Switch-2x1.5kW-en-2.1-2.3.pdf

Regards Dalhoj