Author Topic: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???  (Read 4020 times)

Offline mixedup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +0/-0
thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« on: October 27, 2014, 10:02:37 pm »
Is there a VeraLite compatible pool/spa temperature monitor (thermometer) that is available?    I've been having a hard time finding one.   (I don't want a whole control system however which would be overkill plus too expensive - just something that reports back water temperature in a pool or spa) 

Want to be able to (a) see the temperature in the VeraLite interfaces, plus also (b) have access to the temperature via LUA for scripting....


Offline brettow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 02:33:39 am »
Have a search for mysensors.org in the forums as you can build some cheap sensors and there is already a plugin..

Brett

Offline mixedup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2014, 02:52:48 am »
which plugin are you referring to Brett?

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 09:28:44 am »
Arduino sensor plugin

- Garrett


Offline mixedup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2014, 08:13:14 pm »
Note I'm still very interested if someone is aware of an off-the-shelf thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring I could purchase that integrates with VeraLite. 

Offline dtatane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2014, 11:57:14 am »
Hello,

I use with my customers a 1-wire sensor DS18B20 connected to a Fibaro FGBS-001.
I put the sensor on a metallic coupling to have a good reading.

Damien

Offline mixedup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2014, 01:59:11 am »
Thanks Damien

Offline miloson24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2015, 07:22:22 am »
 I can control the circuits (lights, pump, etc) but there is one quirk.   Equipment device 0x01 is suppose to be main pool pump, but instead it is turning on spa pump.  The rest behave as I expected. pass4sure ccie service provider
  0x02 is Aux1, 0x03 is Aux2, etc.   Has anyone decoded the Pentair protocol?  I'm not sure how distinguish between pool and spa features.

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Karma: +27/-9
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2015, 11:52:49 am »
Why not just use this.  It works great and controls/monitors/automates all of my Pentair gear.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30275.0.html
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline RodneyE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2016, 12:19:50 am »
Thanks for sharing the information guys, I have a pool in my house and I was looking forward to regulate the temperature of my pool.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2016, 11:12:39 am »
I'm using a one wire DS18B20 with a Fibaro sensor as well. I epoxied the sensor into i nylon fitting and replaced one of the drain plugs in my pump housing with it. Gives an extremely accurate reading of the pool temp so long as the pump is running. Anything attached to the pump or filter is only going to work effectively when the pump is running.

Offline titof174

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2016, 07:03:20 am »
i have take it "http://electrolyseur.fr/kit-sonde-DS18B20-filtration-piscine.html" with a fibaro fgk-101.
It work great but you must turn on the pump to watch the good temp.
I will make a sene to refresh the temp value when pump is on
« Last Edit: July 22, 2016, 07:05:51 am by titof174 »
Vera edge (Ui7) + 2xfgbs-001, 2xfgsd-002, 2xDSA22, 1xFGS-222, 1xGreenwave NS210-F, wallplug, fgk-101, Nest thermostat V2 / Synology EDS 14

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2016, 05:29:37 pm »
I believe it's going to refresh itself as the temperature changes. That's what mine does. Then again, I have a variable speed pump that runs 24/7 (most of the time at a very low speed) so mine is always accurate. If you're worried about having it accurate at all times, try to locate the sensor somewhere that you can drop it down into the pool itself. I have a line that comes up from my bottom drains that's designed to break suction if something blocks them. I could have dropped it in the water there had I wanted to. Get creative if you can!!!

Offline LindaHales

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2016, 02:12:09 am »
I too use a DS18B20 with a Figaro sensor.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: thermometer for Pool/Spa temperature monitoring???
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2017, 04:30:34 pm »
Update - Due to the Fibaro sensor eating through batteries, I have hardwired the battery connections to the 3.3v output of the Arduino Mega that runs my pool. Wish I'd thought about doing that before. No more issues with the sensor dropping out and no further issue with batteries. Make sure you protect it from the elements though, or it won't last long...