We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Who can further develop this Kodi XBMC add-on ?? I have it working ish..  (Read 21745 times)

Offline cw-kid

• Beta Testers
Hello

As you probably know there was an XBMC (Kodi) add-on for Vera at one point in the past. The original developer has no plans for further developing this add-on. The original add-on can be seen here.

I am not a programmer and don't have the required skills, however I have made three changes to the add-on and now its working somewhat.

1. Fixed the dependencies not met error so the add-on can now be installed in XBMC Gotham V13.X

2. I removed a line of code to fix a bug? Where none active scenes could not be run in the add-on. The original issue was described here.

What I did was I just removed one line of code from a file called scene.py located in \xbmc-vera-master\resources\lib\vera

I removed this line:    if scene['active']:

I am now able to run non active scenes OK.

3. I've managed to fix the icons! For some reason when you download this add-on from GitHub on the Internet the icons are corrupted in certain folders. I managed to find working icons in one folder and I then copied these files to another folder where the icons were corrupted. The result is I can now see the icons in XBMC!

As a result of these changes the add-on is kinda working now, however I have the following issue:

In some rooms I can see actual devices, for example in my Master bedroom I can see the "Bed Lamps" device and the "LED Lights" device.

However in my Living room I see no actual devices and it just lists all Scenes. I wonder if there is some view limit I have gone over? as I have a lot of scenes for the Living room. Not sure why I can't see devices in certain rooms?

You can download my modified XBMC add-on ZIP file from my Dropbox here and I've also attached some of my screen shots from XBMC Gotham V13.2

Blog post about this topic here.