Author Topic: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming  (Read 10214 times)

Offline wholm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2016, 04:35:53 pm »
Can you take out one of your master dimmers and one of your remote dimmers and tell me what version sticker is on there?

Also the removal of Group one is 1, I cannot comment on that because although that may have happened (I don't have that documented specifically), my issues were much more obvious.  For example, on the master dimmer, the orange led would be on but also about 3-4 other blue LEDs at the same time.  The airgap switch was used to power cycle the dimmer to return function.  In some cases the dimmer would actually still operate in the background but the feedback was odd, even sometimes all LEDs were out.

My issues with HomeSeer are due to poor coding releases and poor design choices.  For example, they do have a Linux based approach but only support it in a specific debian Linux.  I target enterprise solutions and their ZNet device is a great fit for that, I need this running on CentOS 7.  I had it working but turned out I was using too new of a mono version and it was corrupting the serialized objects being written to their DB.

And then lets talk about the DB, their choice is SQL Lite which is notorious for consistency problems (say a system crash or power outage).

On top of that, even though I managed to get the owner on the phone when I demanded an answer one time, later when I asked about their serialized data structure, they acted like it was something proprietary.  It's just a serialized object for crying out loud.  The problem was they were not delivering enough information via JSON interface that I was used to with Vera.  So again stuck.  The "event" builder they have is workable but primitive based on the stuff I have worked on.  I gave them input on design and they have completely ignored it.  They finally stated that they were not really designed to work in a commercial environment... oh yeah, their supported environment Windows, it doesn't even run as a service and if you know the tricks to do that, don't.  That DB thing I told you about, one of the reboots you will cook your DB and have to restore, I hope you have a back up before that reboot :).

I am just stuck with no perfect solution.  I need to run ZWave hardware separate from the controller (HomeSeer does this) but I need the more solid/simple design of Vera... and the superior interface!

Wow, that was a tangent.

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2016, 05:16:15 pm »
Hmm, I have about 20 Cooper switches in my mesh (combination of Switches, Dimmers, Aux Switches, and Battery Switches) and haven't really had any problems, but I am guessing in a commercial setting you are talking way more than.  However one thing I have noticed is that they seem to be a little more sensitive than most switches to malfunctioning/bad neighbor switches.  Twice I have had problems with my Coopers when there was a bad node in the network that seemed to freak them out (causing them to lose association, fall off the network, or other bad stuff, like you were describing).  In both cases it was a bad z-wave outlet that was near the Cooper Switches (but not even associated to them) that was causing the problem. Got rid of the offending device and the Cooper's went back to stable.  But you can only figure stuff like that out if you are going slow and start seeing something destabilize after you installed something bad.  I have no idea why the Coopers are so sensitive to such things. 


Offline wholm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2016, 06:33:18 pm »
In my home I have about 80 switches, dimmers and remote dimmers of Cooper, other vendors include Aeon, Linear, Evolve, Pella and Trane.  I am currently having an issue all of a sudden with the Thermostat locking up but that seems to be something with my ZNet device.  Just last night the ZNet device decided it was time to take a break, a reboot didn't work, no, I had to go to it and power cycle it of course at midnight.

I haven't had any other issues where the Cooper devices failed because of another device and unlike Leviton, I never had a Cooper device go bad.  2/30 over 6 years for Leviton, 0/80 for Cooper over about 3 years now.

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2016, 06:23:28 pm »
Quote from: wholm
Here are the notes I used to set this setting on the Master dimmers:

configuration setting index 10, hex byte with a value of 1

THANKS.....

This information was incredibly useful to me.  I am building a house and decided to make the lighting smart.  I settled on Cooper 9540/9542 switches.  I was aware of the "sync problem" using these switches for 3-way circuits, but I figured I'd just have to do a lot of work (as others have done) to make it all work.  The electrician is starting to install fixtures, so altho I had 9540-Ns (and tested them -- which had their own problems); I had no 9542-Zs until the other day.  The 2 switches worked together fine manually once they were associated, but when used with the Vera, the 2 switches would not sync.  Indeed, if I turned on the test light with Vera, and then turned off the light manually with the 9342-Z, Vera continued to think the 9540-N was still on.  I was resigned to a bunch of research and "programming" before I purchased the remaining 9542-Zs I need, when I found this thread......my lucky day!

I set the 9540-N parameter 10 to 1 (under "device options"), and VOILA, everything syncs just fine.  Later I did a thorough search of the internet looking for any documentation or other reference to this "trick".  Apparently, Cooper is keeping this parameter 10 a secret!!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2016, 06:25:38 pm by sgm »

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2016, 02:22:32 pm »
Hmm, is parameter also suppose to work with the RF9501/RF9517 switches  as well?
I tried it putting the parameter on the RF9501 and it allowed to me add the parameter, but I don't see it keeping the RF9517 LED in-sync if you control the RF9501 from the Vera.

Maybe that parameter only works with the Dimmers and not the on off switch version?  I will play around with it a little more tonight to make sure I just didn't make a mistake or didn't give it enough time to change behavior.  Good news is that it is super easy to just have a scene that triggers from the master to set the aux when using it from the Vera, the dimmer is the more tricky one to make work right anyway.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2016, 02:57:01 pm by shallowearth »

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2016, 02:53:26 pm »
What's a PR9501?

Also, in my testing, I have found that if the switch does not know what a numbered parameter is (e.g., trying to set parameter #20), Vera will tell you it does not recognize that parameter number.  So if the switch takes the value you set, then the switch would appear to support that parameter.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2016, 03:01:06 pm by sgm »

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2016, 02:58:20 pm »
PR9501 is a typo... sorry called it two different things (so modified my post).  It is the RF9501   The on/off (non-dimmer) version of the RF9540

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #22 on: May 26, 2016, 03:02:14 pm »
OOPS....we x-posted.  See my reply above (I edited it after your post).

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #23 on: May 26, 2016, 03:14:44 pm »
Quote
Also, in my testing, I have found that if the switch does not know what a numbered parameter is (e.g., trying to set parameter #20), Vera will tell you it does not recognize that parameter number.  So if the switch takes the value you set, then the switch would appear to support that parameter.
I should say more about this......

If you attempt to set a non-existent 9540-N parameter with Vera, it doesn't flag an error exactly; rather, on the main screen for that device, the phrase "Setting user configuration" is displayed in blue.  Unlike when setting a valid parameter this phrase does not disappear until you delete the invalid parameter (sometimes you have to issue some valid command to the device first before it disappears.....something like that anyway).  This phrase will turn red eventually if you leave the main device page and then come back to it.  Also, if you leave and then return to the "Device options" page, you will not see a "Current value" for that invalid parameter like one does for a valid parameter.

Is that clear as mud?? :-\
« Last Edit: May 26, 2016, 03:26:22 pm by sgm »

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #24 on: May 26, 2016, 04:19:32 pm »
I am pretty sure it is a valid parameter, I "watched" the parameter first, before attempting to set it, and didn't get any errors or blue notifications, (the default was 0), then I set it to 1, and again don't see any ribbon pending actions or errors on the device and shows the set value as 1.  Just doesn't seem to be doing anything, I played around with it a bit and wasn't causing the Aux switch to stay in sync.  But when I left the house and ran my away scene I noticed it magically did sync, but didn't have time to investigate it more.  So maybe it started working after a few commands, or I was just seeing things.  Will check more on it tonight.

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #25 on: May 26, 2016, 05:18:48 pm »
shallowearth,

Let me know how this goes.

So far I have only tested the use of the 9540-N/9542-Z smart dimmer combinations for 3-way circuits; however, there are some circuits in the new house for which I don't need dimming, but for which I want Z-wave "smart" functionality (I am using 9501 and 9503 switches for the "dumb" circuits).  I presume I would use the RF9501/RF9517 combination for these smart circuits with the RF9501 as a master that is connected to the load, and the RF9517 as the slave in a 3-way circuit (with additional RF9517s if I need 4-way or 5-way circuits).  Is that right?


Offline wholm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #26 on: May 26, 2016, 10:01:47 pm »
shallowearth,

Let me know how this goes.

So far I have only tested the use of the 9540-N/9542-Z smart dimmer combinations for 3-way circuits; however, there are some circuits in the new house for which I don't need dimming, but for which I want Z-wave "smart" functionality (I am using 9501 and 9503 switches for the "dumb" circuits).  I presume I would use the RF9501/RF9517 combination for these smart circuits with the RF9501 as a master that is connected to the load, and the RF9517 as the slave in a 3-way circuit (with additional RF9517s if I need 4-way or 5-way circuits).  Is that right?

There is a max on the data store of IDs it can collect to Group 1.  I think the max is 5, but 1 is used by the controller typically, so you have 4 others.

As for the single pole switches, I don't have any in 3 way so I cannot comment on the parameter.  I used to have a guide or email or something with all documented parameters most of which are already used by the controllers.  I don't recall any other useful "hidden" parameters.

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #27 on: May 27, 2016, 04:23:33 pm »
OK, so here is the result of my investigation (I only tried one pair of 9501/9517's).
If you put parameter 10 to 1 on the 9501 it will sync the Off command tot he 9517 but will not sync the On command.  This is both if you send an Off to the 9501 from the Vera or if you send a Toggle to the 9501 and it going to off.  On doesn't work, I have no idea why,

So ultimately I removed parameter 10 from my 9501 and fell back to my current method of keeping my 9501/9517 in sync.  You can do this by adding two simple scenes to your Vera.  The first triggers off of the 9501 being turned on, you then use the advanced editor to also turn the 9517 on (you can't do this in the basic editor but the advanced edit will let you send the z-wave On command to the 9517.  I have noticed that this command does not appear right away when you add the 9517 to your network, after joining it to the network, let it sit for few minutes and then the command will appear in the available list in the advance editor).  Then create another scene to trigger when 9501 is turned off, again add an advance action to turn the 9517 off.  Since the 9501 support instant status, this will trigger the LED on the 9517 to be in sync usually in 1/2-1 second of controlling the 9501 form Vera or a Vera Scene. 

By adding these two scenes you don't have to remember to keep putting the 9517 in all your scenes to set it on or off, everything works as you would expect.

I suppose if you wanted to eliminate the need for the Off scene, you could add Parameter 10 to 1 on the 9501 and then you would only need the On scene since that one doesn't seem to work.

All the 9501 that have have are version 3.3.52.3.15 so I don't know if it is a firmware issue that only Off works, it could be that the Vera is sending the switch a different version of the On command than it is expecting to sync the On.  My 9517 that I ran the test on was version 3.3.52.3.13  which is what most of my house has except for two which are on older firmware 3.2.40.1.13, didn't try the test with those.

I will try out parameter 10 on my dimmer combo next.  I have 3 dimmers but only one of them is paired with a second switch and of course the one that is paired is on an older firmware than the other two, so I am hoping it works!

For folks investing in Coopers they also make a matching battery powered switch which works great with both the dimmers and on/off switch, and doesn't have a light that needs to stay in sync, which is awesome!
« Last Edit: May 27, 2016, 04:36:42 pm by shallowearth »

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #28 on: May 28, 2016, 12:41:38 am »
OK, tried Parameter 10 to 1 byte Hex 1 on my dimmer.
Worked great.  No longer have to have any scenes or lua code to keep the auxiliary switch in sync, including on, off, and dimmer level.
Excellent!

Note my dimmer was version 3.3.52.1.0

Offline sgm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9540-N/RF9542-Z Dimmer Switch Programming
« Reply #29 on: May 28, 2016, 05:11:21 pm »
shallowearth ,

I presume when you say parameter 10 works with your dimmers, you mean RF9540-Ns and RF9542-Zs, right?  If so, then you are experiencing the same as I.

Have you had a chance to verify that parameter 10 works or doesn't work with the RF9501/RF9517 non-dimmer combo?  I would think if it works for the dimmers, it would work for the more simple on/off versions of the switches (I say "more simple" because the RF9501/RF9517 combo does not need to worry about sync-ing the dimmer level).

BTW, I have noticed in all these 1 byte parameters that setting them with a decimal number works just as well as with a hex number.  The decimal numbers are a bit easier to monitor (i.e., seeing the number "11" instead of seeing "B").

Finally, like wholm, I too have found some documentation on Cooper switch parameters, but everything I've found does not include parameter 10.  The standard spec sheet that comes with Cooper switches, covers parametes 1 thru 7.  I have found some HTML code that further documents parameters 8, 11, and 12.  I have summaried all I have found into a text file.  I will start a new thread posting all this information once I finish testing.