Author Topic: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller  (Read 39707 times)

Offline mdelprin

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« on: November 06, 2014, 11:49:51 am »
Has anyone tried to hook up the Linear GD00Z Garage Door Controller to their Vera system yet? It is designed for Nexia, but the instructions are generic about the hub.

On  the surface, it seems like a nice piece of kit. It has a receiver module and comes with a tilt sensor to provide he state of the door. The receiver has a light that will flash when the door is about to be operated remotely to alert anyone that might be in the way and it also has an audible warning. According to the instructions, it simply connects to the same terminals as the garage door button. It also acts as a Z-Wave repeater.

Product Page:
http://www.linearcorp.com/product_detail.php?productId=1719

Installation manual:
http://www.linearcorp.com/pdf/manuals/GD00Z_Install.pdf

Available on eBay for $125.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Nexia-Home-Intelligence-ZWave-Garage-Door-Opener-Remote-Controller-/381033280928

Offline Aubreypric

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 06:41:38 pm »
I have one and it will not work with Vera. They say that u17 is going to support it but not u15. I tried u17 and had problems so I went back to u15.Good luck. They don't seem to be in a hurry to support their customers.

Offline mdelprin

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2014, 11:48:35 am »
I ordered it yesterday and it arrived today (good shipping points for the eBay seller!). I have included it in the system and I will hang it in the Garage later today. It added as a Window Covering controller device type.

The first attempt to add did not go smoothly, i ended up with an unknown device and the garage door opener but the opener would not configure. I deleted both and tried again. The 2nd attempt worked quickly and smoothly. It is now added.

We will see how it goes once I hang it in the garage.


BTW, I am running UI7.

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 781
  • Karma: +27/-9
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2014, 12:57:43 pm »
You got this working!  I have been sitting on ice waiting for the mysterious upgrade scheduled for mid-Nov and getting a cold tush.  I have one installed but gave up on it until the upgrade.

Using UI7 fw1.7.388.  Did this just take persistence or do I need to stand on one leg while hitting the inclusion button?
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline davebranley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2014, 04:24:14 pm »
Please do share your steps to get this working, i have been sitting on it for a month waiting for a firmware update to make this work.

Offline PhillO36

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2014, 05:03:19 pm »

We will see how it goes once I hang it in the garage.


Soooo, how did it go?

Offline mdelprin

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2014, 08:19:18 pm »
Life has gotten i the way and I have not had a chance to put it in the garage just yet. As far as inclusion, I really just followed the instructions.

1) Put UI7 (1.7.388) into add mode
2) Pressed the include button on the side of the GD00Z
3) waited and watched until it was added.

Like I said earlier, it did not seem to work the first try. I deleted all the artifacts that it created and tried again. It worked on the second try. I also had the unit sitting within 3 feet of the controller in my office for the include. I did not try and so the include with the unit near where it is going to be installed.

BTW, I have the GD00Z-3. Amazon is selling the GD00Z-4 (Only $90 on Amazon?). I do not know how much of a difference the version of the device will make.

I will post again after it is installed.

Offline libby2cm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2014, 03:41:43 pm »
New FW released today finally brought support for this unit.. works like a champ!

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 781
  • Karma: +27/-9
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2014, 08:31:44 pm »
Ok so the garage door opener paired and worked swimmingly.  However there is an anomaly to report regarding its operation.  The icon is a light bulb.  The switch reports open and closed on its label but that is because all my binary lights now report open and closed. 

Is this the same for all the others that got this device to pair?  If it is not what is the device_type, device_file, and device_json for the device in the advanced settings for you?
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline dhurleyjr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2014, 12:16:14 pm »
I just installed mine this morning and it works awesome as well. I have the same issue though that the icon/classification are on/off switch so a light bulb.

Offline mdelprin

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2014, 06:22:41 pm »
Well, My problem is different. It is NOT working for me before the firmware upgrade. I am having a difficult time getting the firmware upgraded. However, my control for the device is not a light bulb. It is a Window covering control. It is paired and is sending and receiving commands but nothing is happening in the garage.

I will report back after getting the firmware installed.

Offline 1tufgt

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2014, 09:41:25 pm »
Subscribing. Going to get a Vera edge and would love to add this item to it setup.

Offline mrslother

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2014, 06:48:51 pm »
I recently upgraded to the latest UI7 firmware which supports the Linear gd00z garage door opener. So I installed one of two units yesterday. I have 2 garage doors and expect to install 2 units but am concerned that the sensors may collide. However since I didn't have to pair the sensor with the unit I installed yesterday I am assuming that they are prepaired at the factory (sensor to the actual gd00z unit). Can anyone confirm this?

It works but my experience has thus far been less than exciting:
1) As others already point out the device specific page uses the binary switch/light bulb metaphor. It is odd to see a light bulb setting of "on" to mean the garage door is open.

2) The "Devices" page get it partially right as it correctly show the words "opened" or "closed" as the device's status (even though the device icon is still a light bulb).

3) The unit is very sloooow to detect the garage door's state (from the wireless sensor mounted on the door) and update Vera. Example: If the door is "closed" and I manually tap the door close switch on the wall the garage door, of course, opens. But my Vera continues to show the gd00z with a "closed" state. This is a huge problem because if I have a scene that tries to close the garage door it will think it is already closed and not toggle the switch.
It is important to understand that this device can only toggle the garage door opener -- just like your wall switch. It has to rely on a tilt sensor mounted to the garage door to determine what state the door is currently in.
If this state is not updated quickly enough then the logic applied is false: it thinks it is closing the door but really it is opening the door.

I can live with #1 and #2; those are just aesthetic annoyances. But #3 is a security risk. Another garage door tilt sensor already mounted to the door (Ecolink Garage Door Tilt Sensor) which is accurate and fast to update my Vera. This sensor and the gd00z are often out of sync. I see this as a problem.
I don't know if it is a Vera issue or a Linear issue. Either way I am struggling to fix this. It would be a shame to have to return these units.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2014, 07:06:10 pm by mrslother »

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2391
  • Karma: +111/-138
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2014, 07:16:58 pm »
I am testing the GDC1 from a different manufacturer that also uses a similar connection with Vera it seems. If I use a different device than the GDC1 to open or close the door, eg the wall control or car remote, it's sensor doesn't update either. It generally takes a couple of minutes for this to update.

It's been explained to me that when the opener sends a status report to Vera after the sensor triggers (without the opener being the one used to open/close the door) the new status doesn't make it to the UI for some reason. The UI seems only to bey updated after Vera polls the GDO and notices the status change.

I've been tinkering with the PollSettings value in the advanced tab for the last few weeks and reduced it all the way down to 5 from 60. It now takes about 2 to 3 minutes at most for the door status to be correct. I'll be setting it to 1  Monday and see if that shortens the delay even more.

Although a bit of a nuisance, to me it's not a big deal as I have an ecolink tilt sensor installed already and all my scenes are triggered by that one rather than either of the openers.

Worst case, I'll implement NASA protocol. Majority of the 3 sensors (ecolink, GDC1 and MyQ) status defines final status. :)
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline mrslother

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Linear GD00Z Z-Wave Garage Door Controller
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2014, 07:43:27 pm »
UPDATE: I FIXED IT!!!!
Inspired by my own post (it made me rethink out the steps I have taken to troubleshoot) I worked through my diagnostic logic again. This time I focused on the sensor mounted to the garage door. After some monkeying around with it I found that the "engagement" switch was not closing. This is the little switch just under the battery when the sensor is detached from the wall mounting plate (that mounts to the garage door). In my case, for some reason, when I attached the sensor to the wall plate the little switch was not engaging. The wall plate has a small protrusion designed to push against this switch. For some reason that was not occurring.
When this switch is not pressed (in the open state) it does not send any signal therefore the gd00z assumes the door is open (presumably for security purposes: if the sensor falls off of the door or the battery dies).

I folded up a tiny piece of paper and placed it between the switch and the protrusion on the wall plate. Essentially forcing contact to occur. At this point it is working fine.
My next step is to install the second one.

@BOFH
I set my unit's polling time to 15 seconds as well. For something like this where security is at play AND the unit is wall powered (not battery powered) I prefer the updated polling frequency.
I like your NASA approach. I typically do the same, but not by design-- more like I keep playing with new sensors until something finally works for me. :)