We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: testing a z wave device  (Read 3953 times)

Offline rickg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
testing a z wave device
« on: December 17, 2008, 12:34:52 pm »
I'm trying to debug my simple little set-up and not having much luck so far.
Vera no longer controls my z wave switches and dimmers.

Since I only have the 4 devices I purchased with Vera, I figured I'd just start over.
(2 lamp modules and 2 inwall dimmers: RZI06-1LX Leviton Vizia RF Z-Wave 600W Dimm-Incand.)

I tried to reset the dongle and add them again but now only one of the lamp modules get picked up by the dongle.
Is there a relatively inexpensive way to test if the devices are working properly? Or maybe there is some way to reset them?
At one point a couple weeks ago, the dongle picked up all of them. Although I've never had them all work with Vera, at least I knew they
had an active rf signal.

I'm thinking of picking up the Vizia RF+ handheld controler, just to see if they are working... but part of this whole experiment is to cut down on the number of remotes floating around the house.  My brain hurts.

Any and all help is appreciated.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: testing a z wave device
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2008, 01:10:24 pm »
I noticed that lately it takes few minutes for Vera to load newly added devices from the USB controller, and they appear in batches :) I added 3, and after a minute appeared 1, and after 4 more minutes two more, and yet it took few more minutes for Configuring devices message to go...

So, first, plug in the USB controller, and go get some coffee or lunch...

I think it's a bug, it shouldn't that that long

Offline denix

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: testing a z wave device
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 01:45:27 pm »
Is there a relatively inexpensive way to test if the devices are working properly? Or maybe there is some way to reset them?

Since I had to do it myself recently, I'd like to share this:

To reset Leviton single-button in-wall devices (Dimmers, Switches and 1-button Zone/Scene controllers), you need to engage an air gap for several (5+) seconds, by pulling the bottom side of the toggle pad out, until its top side presses against an internal switch. You'll see the air gap is engaged when all the LEDs go off. After 5 seconds, push the toggle pad back in and hold it for several more seconds. When LED goes amber/orange, it means the switch is in programming mode and you can include/exclude it from the network. But if you hold the pad in pushed position for several more seconds, the LED would go red and the switch is reset to its factory defaults.

The tricky part I found was the fact that my switch would allow its toggle pad out to some extent, but not enough to engage the air gap switch. I had to take the switch out and apart to see when it supposed to press the internal air gap switch on the top. It appeared I was not pulling it out far enough, because it was stuck and I was afraid to break it. But the toggle pad has to go quite far out for it to work - I'd say almost an inch from the base. And mine was getting stuck half way out.

BTW, 4-button Zone/Scene controllers are easier - press first and third buttons together (ON side for Zone controller) for several seconds to go in programming mode (LEDs go amber) or hold it longer for reset (LEDs go red).

Hope this helps.
Veras (1, 2, 3, Lite, Plus), lots of different Z-Wave modules, Luup plugins and theater/security integration.

Offline rickg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: testing a z wave device
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2008, 02:13:52 am »
Thanks denix! After the reset, I was able to add them to the dongle and get them back into vera.
...I'm back to my "!" problem and I can only control one of them (the same one that worked before)
but at least I'm not totally out of the game.

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: testing a z wave device
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2008, 08:03:12 pm »
Rickg, if the new 404 firmware doesn't solve all your problems, try calling our tech support, or going to micasaverde.com, click support, and send an instant message.  We'll get to the bottom of whether it's flaky hardware or a software bug.