Author Topic: Kodi Remote Control  (Read 53944 times)

Offline ronluna

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-3
Kodi Remote Control
« on: November 20, 2014, 04:44:01 pm »
Kodi Remote Control is based off former XBMCState. This Plugin will report the state of XBMC as well provide basic functionality such as Navigation and player control.

Requirements:
micasaverde.addon (Modified for Kodi Service) installed in kodi
akb-json.lua (in vera, Place it in /usr/lib/lua/)
Day or Night Plugin

1- Install Kodi Remote from the mios app store (of it gets approved) or unzip the plugin attached in this post and upload it into your vera.

2- Once you have place micasaverde.addon inside kodi's addon folder, open kodi and go to System -> settings -> Add-Ons -> Enabled add-ons -> services -> Micasaverde Kodi Event

3- Once in there enter the ip of your vera and the device id  that was assigned to Kodi Remote when it got installed as well as the id for your Day or Night Plugin, select the states that you would like Kodi to report to your vera.

4-Once your are done configuring the plugin close kodi and reopen it to initialize the new configuration.

5-Go to your vera and enter into the setting of your KODIRemote Plugin then go to the advanced tab and enter your Kodi's ip address and reload vera.

You should be able to see how Kodi report to vera all the different states, you should also be able to send basic navigation and player commands to Kodi.

KODIREmote.zip updated (11/22/14)
« Last Edit: November 22, 2014, 09:23:58 am by ronluna »

Offline SirMeili

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +43/-20
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 08:05:49 pm »
Can you explain what setting the values on the "XMBC state" and "Player State" tabs do in teh XBMC plugin configuration? (I know i"m probably just being daft).
VeraLite (Live); ISY 994i (Live); Vera 3 (Waiting to replace VeraLite); Vera Edge (Waiting for all the bugs to be fixed); Xuan StackBox (Testing and waiting for more plugins and for it to mature)
Countless z-wave and insteon devices :D

Offline SirMeili

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +43/-20
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2014, 08:10:34 pm »
Can you explain what setting the values on the "XMBC state" and "Player State" tabs do in teh XBMC plugin configuration? (I know i"m probably just being daft).
OK, I figured those out. that just defines what events you want to send and if you want it based on if it's "night"  (or to always report it).

Some questions. You mention that you can control Koki from the plugin. Would there be a way to add these buttons in the UI? Maybe via a separate child device? (just curious).
VeraLite (Live); ISY 994i (Live); Vera 3 (Waiting to replace VeraLite); Vera Edge (Waiting for all the bugs to be fixed); Xuan StackBox (Testing and waiting for more plugins and for it to mature)
Countless z-wave and insteon devices :D

Offline Homer

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2014, 09:19:11 pm »
Hey! Thanks for this plugin :-)

A quick question ...
In regards to this - akb-json.lua (in vera, Place it in /usr/lib/lua/) Can I just go to Apps- Develop Apps- Luup files- and upload from there?

Offline ronluna

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2014, 10:30:27 pm »
Can you explain what setting the values on the "XMBC state" and "Player State" tabs do in teh XBMC plugin configuration? (I know i"m probably just being daft).
OK, I figured those out. that just defines what events you want to send and if you want it based on if it's "night"  (or to always report it).

Some questions. You mention that you can control Koki from the plugin. Would there be a way to add these buttons in the UI? Maybe via a separate child device? (just curious).

Yes,  You'll have Up, Down, Right, Left, Home, Back, Select, Play, Pause, Stop and Volume (Partially working)

I'd like to add many more... Hopefully in the next few days....

It requires to 2 Service Files which I'm not sure if they come built-in but just in case I have attached S_AVTransport1.xml and S_RenderingControl1.xml Please feel free to download in case they are missing in your box.

Offline ronluna

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2014, 10:33:33 pm »
Hey! Thanks for this plugin :-)

A quick question ...
In regards to this - akb-json.lua (in vera, Place it in /usr/lib/lua/) Can I just go to Apps- Develop Apps- Luup files- and upload from there?

No, You'll have to ssh into your vera.

perhaps scp will be a much easier.

go to your terminal window (Mac or Linux) and run something like this:

scp /local/path/to/akb-json.lua root@your.vera.ip.address:/usr/lib/lua/

Offline SirMeili

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +43/-20
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2014, 10:37:24 pm »
Yes,  You'll have Up, Down, Right, Left, Home, Back, Select, Play, Pause, Stop and Volume (Partially working)

I'd like to add many more... Hopefully in the next few days....

It requires to 2 Service Files which I'm not sure if they come built-in but just in case I have attached S_AVTransport1.xml and S_RenderingControl1.xml Please feel free to download in case they are missing in your box.

I added those service files, but no UI buttons showed up (not that you were saying they would). I will wait to see if you can add them in later and if not, that's ok. I was just going to use the UI buttons for testing :)
VeraLite (Live); ISY 994i (Live); Vera 3 (Waiting to replace VeraLite); Vera Edge (Waiting for all the bugs to be fixed); Xuan StackBox (Testing and waiting for more plugins and for it to mature)
Countless z-wave and insteon devices :D

Offline Homer

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2014, 11:33:45 pm »

No, You'll have to ssh into your vera.

perhaps scp will be a much easier.

go to your terminal window (Mac or Linux) and run something like this:

scp /local/path/to/akb-json.lua root@your.vera.ip.address:/usr/lib/lua/

Thanks heaps for your help mate!! Very much appreciated. :)

Offline ronluna

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2014, 08:56:25 am »
Yes,  You'll have Up, Down, Right, Left, Home, Back, Select, Play, Pause, Stop and Volume (Partially working)

I'd like to add many more... Hopefully in the next few days....

It requires to 2 Service Files which I'm not sure if they come built-in but just in case I have attached S_AVTransport1.xml and S_RenderingControl1.xml Please feel free to download in case they are missing in your box.

I added those service files, but no UI buttons showed up (not that you were saying they would). I will wait to see if you can add them in later and if not, that's ok. I was just going to use the UI buttons for testing :)

Reupload this files "D_KODIRemote.json S_KODIRemote.xml" (Attached) or redownload the zip file from the main post.... You will see the entire player in your "Player State" Tab.

I will try to add more features in the upcoming days....
« Last Edit: November 22, 2014, 09:26:45 am by ronluna »

Offline Aaron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1985
  • Karma: +61/-193
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2014, 08:50:53 pm »
ronluna
I have installed the Plugin on both XBMC (Gotham) and Vera... though it is not communicating 100%. The remote portion on the Vera UI is not working... but the UI is showing the PC 'up' and the proper current folder navigation

I did not see any place to put in a user/pw for XBMC ... which most apps require?

Also, I suggest you specify users install your puling into the ADDON folder under the User's data folder... there is another addon folder in the root of Kodi and that did not seem to work properly for me.

thanks!
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 09:02:52 pm by Aaron »

Offline bigbasec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2014, 01:45:41 pm »
It works alot better if you get rid of the :8080 for the port in the implementation file.  The control port should be in Advanced so it can be modified.  Not all users use 8080, and by default now(just installed a new Rasberry Pi) it's port 80. 

macrho

  • Guest
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2014, 12:34:28 pm »
Just upgraded to Helix and attempted to install the add-on in Kodi and get the following:

Add-on does not have the correct structure.

Am I missing something? I attempted to install the add-on like all others: Install from zip file

Offline brownstein

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2014, 05:29:28 pm »
Just upgraded to Helix and attempted to install the add-on in Kodi and get the following:

Add-on does not have the correct structure.

Am I missing something? I attempted to install the add-on like all others: Install from zip file

Hey, I'm having the same problem

Offline jamezel13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2014, 07:28:50 pm »
Same problem here.

Offline bigbasec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2014, 11:45:05 pm »
Helix forced the new directory structure.  The attached should work for you having the problem w/ the structure not being ok.