Author Topic: Kodi Remote Control  (Read 55135 times)

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #165 on: June 12, 2018, 08:48:12 pm »

Requirements:
micasaverde.addon (Modified for Kodi Service) installed in kodi
akb-json.lua (in vera, Place it in /usr/lib/lua/)
Day or Night Plugin


it works u just need to add

akb-json.lua (in vera, Place it in /usr/lib/lua/)

Are you suggesting it is working now and that the only reason it wasn't working is that lua file was missing? Trying to recall now when I tested it a few times, I am pretty sure I just chose it from the Apps store within the Vera console so I am guessing as part of the app store process it doesn't do that loading of the Lua file?

Offline fabstar81

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #166 on: June 14, 2018, 07:39:52 am »
So, if that is the only reason, why doesn't someone just add it to the install package and publish it again?

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #167 on: June 14, 2018, 09:47:01 am »
Revisited this again as a test, seeing the same as I saw a few posts back. Can get it to work in terms of it shows the Kodi box as up, Can use most of the controls but it doesn't seem to display what the Kodi device is playing.

Not sure if RichieB can confirm it that part is working for him and if he can confirm what version of Kodi he is using?

thanks

Offline fabstar81

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #168 on: June 14, 2018, 09:56:25 am »
I wouldn't be interested in what it's playing, but that it's playing. So kicking of a scene because it starts to play something.

Is that working?

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #169 on: June 14, 2018, 10:05:10 am »
I wouldn't be interested in what it's playing, but that it's playing. So kicking of a scene because it starts to play something.

Is that working?

Well I think that part of "what" and if its playing is basically in the same element as it is displayig the current state of the player. But if that is all your chasing use the other XBMC State plugin, as I mentioned above I already have scenes (e.g. lights turn off when Kodi starts playing) working from that plugin :)

I will await a comment from @RichieB if he is getting it to show player state and content name :)

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #170 on: June 20, 2018, 12:15:15 pm »
Everything is working - i can start i can pause i can stop - i can see waht is playing etc

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #171 on: June 20, 2018, 09:30:25 pm »
Everything is working - i can start i can pause i can stop - i can see waht is playing etc

thank the feedback @RichieB.

Wonder why I am not seeing what is playing! Can you confirm a couple of things for us;
What version of Kodi are you using?
What version of the Micasaverde plugin?
What Vera unit and Firmware are you on?

I might try a reboot of my Vera, I am wondering if that is required post installing that extra file from this thread :)

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #172 on: June 21, 2018, 01:01:00 am »
Everything is working - i can start i can pause i can stop - i can see waht is playing etc

thank the feedback @RichieB.

Wonder why I am not seeing what is playing! Can you confirm a couple of things for us;
What version of Kodi are you using?
What version of the Micasaverde plugin?
What Vera unit and Firmware are you on?

I might try a reboot of my Vera, I am wondering if that is required post installing that extra file from this thread :)

haha ok finally got it working after going through every frikken message in the first few pages. Basically because I had noticed that the plugin didn't install in Kodi Krypton but the XBMC one did I had been using the XBMCState plugin (pretty hard to tell as they pretty much look the same), found a post someone having the same issue of it all working but not showing the movie name and the player state, they had done the same thing with using KodiRemote in Vera but XBMCState plugin on Kodi. Went back and found that there was a new version of the KodiRemote plugin for Kodi, uninstalled my current plugin, installed the new one and restarted Kodi. BAM all working.

Someone needs to update the frikken pinned post with the first plugin having a note beside it saying pre Helix XBMC and then someone adding the extra plugin uploaded a few posts down on Pg1 I think for Helix and beyond XBMC\Kodi.

Anyway hopefully this post saves someone some pain :)

cheers to all those that chimed in

Offline Chelseagroup

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #173 on: October 14, 2018, 05:32:51 pm »
After all of this time - can someone document exactly what needs to be installed on Vera, what needs to be installed on Kodi (including where to get it)  (i.e. which repository /location).
It is very hard to "reverse engineer) an install process from all of the comments.

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #174 on: October 14, 2018, 08:57:08 pm »
hey mate, yeh its a bit of a mission going through it all. I did mention a few posts back about someone possibly updating the pinned post with the correct versions of the Kodi plugin etc but doubt it will happen. On a possible good note there is a couple of fairly indepth threads going on about Vera pulling in plugins and supporting them, Kodi is right up on that list.

You should be able to get it working if you do go back through this thread though :)


Offline cw-kid

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1572
  • Karma: +17/-2
Re: Kodi Remote Control
« Reply #175 on: October 24, 2018, 01:36:59 pm »
After all of this time - can someone document exactly what needs to be installed on Vera, what needs to be installed on Kodi (including where to get it)  (i.e. which repository /location).
It is very hard to "reverse engineer) an install process from all of the comments.

I wrote a user guide a long time ago [url=http://here]here[/url]