Author Topic: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control  (Read 150699 times)

Offline NVader2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #555 on: May 21, 2018, 06:18:32 pm »
Ok found the PDF documentation. It did help a little, but I am a bit confused. I want to create scene that when I press my "Watch a Movie" activity the lights in the room slowly ramp down (dim) and and shut off. Then if I press the pause button it slowly ramps up the lights to 50% and stops. Then of course when I resume the lights slowly ramp down and turn off. Lastly When I press the "off" button the lights slowly ramp up to 100%.

I know this is a bit of a tall order coming out of the gate, but I had this all configured using Insteon and it work wonderfully. I am changing to Vera and ZWave Plus for the greater control and the ability to backup and restore my setup.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Offline reneboer

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +72/-30
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #556 on: May 22, 2018, 11:19:33 am »
I'm sure this question has been answered but it's late and this thread is pretty long to go through in it's entirety. I have a (hopefully) simple task to complete.

I have a Harmony Ultimate that's used in my theater room. The Hub is behind a wall on the equipment rack and controls all my electronics through IR. My Vera is in the room behind the rack with my network gear. I can run an IR blaster from the Hub to face the Vera or I can run an USB IR receiver from the Vera to where the Hub will see it. I'd like to have soft buttons on my remote to trigger certain lighting scenes I've programmed and be able to have those buttons in any buttons list for any activity. Where do I look for directions on hos to do this, if it is possible?

THX
Hi,
The Vera talks to the Hub using IP via you local network. So no line of sight requirements.

Cheers rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline reneboer

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +72/-30
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #557 on: May 22, 2018, 11:30:41 am »
Ok found the PDF documentation. It did help a little, but I am a bit confused. I want to create scene that when I press my "Watch a Movie" activity the lights in the room slowly ramp down (dim) and and shut off. Then if I press the pause button it slowly ramps up the lights to 50% and stops. Then of course when I resume the lights slowly ramp down and turn off. Lastly When I press the "off" button the lights slowly ramp up to 100%.

I know this is a bit of a tall order coming out of the gate, but I had this all configured using Insteon and it work wonderfully. I am changing to Vera and ZWave Plus for the greater control and the ability to backup and restore my setup.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Hi,
You can use a activity change (start) as a trigger in a scene. However you cannot do that for a button press. The harmony does not report button presses in the IP interface used by the Vera. There is a new protocol that may support it, but it is no easy feat to reverse engineer as they do not provide any information to simple developer like me.

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline Batiatus

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #558 on: May 26, 2018, 10:38:57 am »
I'm sure this question has been answered but it's late and this thread is pretty long to go through in it's entirety. I have a (hopefully) simple task to complete.

I have a Harmony Ultimate that's used in my theater room. The Hub is behind a wall on the equipment rack and controls all my electronics through IR. My Vera is in the room behind the rack with my network gear. I can run an IR blaster from the Hub to face the Vera or I can run an USB IR receiver from the Vera to where the Hub will see it. I'd like to have soft buttons on my remote to trigger certain lighting scenes I've programmed and be able to have those buttons in any buttons list for any activity. Where do I look for directions on hos to do this, if it is possible?

THX
Hi,
The Vera talks to the Hub using IP via you local network. So no line of sight requirements.

Cheers rene

The Hub or the Hub Extender? I thought that's what the Extender was for but if the Hub itself will show on the network I'd like to figure out how to get that working.

I've been trying to research the Hub with Vera but I just seem to get more confused. I think I have a simple request but I'm unsure how to get it to work.

I'd like to be able to run scenes programed into my Vera with button presses on my Harmony Ultimate. 2 scenes for sure and additional would be great. I'm not looking for more control beyond that at this time. I have the Hub connected to wifi and the Harmony App in the Vera but I just cant process what I need to do next. Any help is greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 06:08:43 am by Batiatus »

Offline reneboer

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +72/-30
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #559 on: May 29, 2018, 10:59:36 am »
Hi,

Please see this topic on that http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,38849.0.html

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline Batiatus

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #560 on: May 29, 2018, 09:20:12 pm »
So I still need another piece of hardware? I don't have nor want Amazon Echo. If I have to get a Hub Extender than fine but I don't see instructions on how to actually get what I've asked working. It just seems to be talking in some circles where you have to enter with pre-existing knowledge that I don't have. It's very confusing and I'm generally pretty good at figuring stuff like this out.

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #561 on: May 30, 2018, 03:27:40 am »
So I still need another piece of hardware? I don't have nor want Amazon Echo. If I have to get a Hub Extender than fine but I don't see instructions on how to actually get what I've asked working. It just seems to be talking in some circles where you have to enter with pre-existing knowledge that I don't have. It's very confusing and I'm generally pretty good at figuring stuff like this out.

So you currently have a Harmony hub and Vera, and now can send commands from Vera to the Harmony so it in turn can pass commands on. Such as setup a scene where lights turn off (Vera - Zwave) and the TV turns on (Vera -> Harmony -> IR). Good oh. ;-)

You would also like to be able to use the Harmony remote to run scenes/control devices on Vera eg Harmony -> Vera ->  Zwave. To do that indeed you will need an extra bit of hardware. There are a number of different ways of doing it, probably the better way would be to use the extender if it's available (they don't sell it here in Australia as we use a different Zwave frequency and it's not worth their while selling such a niche product in a small market. So the theory is that once you have an extender, then the Zwave devices will appear in the Harmony system like another device like a TV, and you can then add them into the remote eg the button on the remote that you use for TV could turn on the TV (IR), turn on the receiver (IR), and turn off the lights (Zwave via the extender). Not sure if scenes will appear, but you may be able to get a scene to run when a specific device (like a virtual switch) is turned on/off.

Personally (until it's supported natively) I'm happy with using my Google home via Concierge. I turn the TV on, and shout "Hey google - turn the living room lights off". Works for me.  :-)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 03:29:41 am by ninkasi »
Home Automation veteran. Rolled own, then MisterHouse and X10, now Vera - mysensor arduino and ESP8266 network - zwave lights, locks, switches - milights - yeelights - google home(s) - Broadlink RM - raspberry pi(s) with various scripts for power and weather station - Logitech Harmony - Imperihome

Offline reneboer

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +72/-30
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #562 on: May 30, 2018, 04:16:17 am »
So I still need another piece of hardware? I don't have nor want Amazon Echo. If I have to get a Hub Extender than fine but I don't see instructions on how to actually get what I've asked working. It just seems to be talking in some circles where you have to enter with pre-existing knowledge that I don't have. It's very confusing and I'm generally pretty good at figuring stuff like this out.
Ninkasi summarized it very well. That this plug in has nothing to do with the Harmony Hub Extender has been explained many times, but I understand it is hidden in too many postings. I will add a sticky topic on it.

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline Batiatus

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #563 on: May 30, 2018, 09:07:37 am »
Thank you for the additional information. Things I was reading led me to believe the Hub would be able to send commands to the Vera through the wifi network.

I am only looking to add a few lighting scenes to the Harmony One remote to make controlling the lights easier than using my phone to open the app which takes time to refresh. If I need the extender then I'll put it at the bottom of my very long list of things to add to my home theater.

Thanks for the info and support!

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Plugin: Harmony Hub Control
« Reply #564 on: May 31, 2018, 07:29:53 pm »
Thank you for the additional information. Things I was reading led me to believe the Hub would be able to send commands to the Vera through the wifi network.

I am only looking to add a few lighting scenes to the Harmony One remote to make controlling the lights easier than using my phone to open the app which takes time to refresh. If I need the extender then I'll put it at the bottom of my very long list of things to add to my home theater.

Thanks for the info and support!

Ah - I think I see where the confusion may have come from. The latest Harmony remote/hub can potentially control certain home automation devices (https://support.myharmony.com/en-au/compatibility) that are accessed directly by WiFi. An example would be Lifx. It also supports directly some hub devices like Philips Hue that in turn pass commands to (say) zigbee lights. It doesn't directly support Vera but it does support IFTTT, so potentially in the future (once it gets out of beta) you may be able to use the remote to control Zwave devices through using IFTTT to send commands to Vera albeit with probably a small delay. Fingers crossed IFTTT will be released soon, so maybe wait for that.
Home Automation veteran. Rolled own, then MisterHouse and X10, now Vera - mysensor arduino and ESP8266 network - zwave lights, locks, switches - milights - yeelights - google home(s) - Broadlink RM - raspberry pi(s) with various scripts for power and weather station - Logitech Harmony - Imperihome