Author Topic: How to use veramate voice control?  (Read 5644 times)

Offline hellovn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
  • Karma: +19/-46
How to use veramate voice control?
« on: December 10, 2014, 11:40:06 am »
It seems the new upgrade re-activates the voice control feature. However, I could not figure out how to use it? When I say something, it is record correctly and show my voice text. How to link a scene with voice control? I search in the web and it seems there are no tutorials about this.

Thanks.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2014, 12:10:07 pm »
I could run (only) two of my scenes saying "run<scene>". I was even unable to switch a light on such as "turn on<Kitchen Light>.

Offline RHINESEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +25/-10
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2014, 04:11:28 pm »
I'm not sure if it is the voice service, but it can't understand "garage door". I've never had a problem with any voice recognition on any phone service. Heck, I'm even in the state that Nuance is located so it should be able to understand whatever slight New England accent I might have.

I haven't tried it with anything else.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 05:47:46 am »
Agree, the ploblem is the (mis)interpretation of that was the voice service understand, maybe it's a tollerance problem of the vc?

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2014, 03:29:20 am »
Firstly for the question of how to use (and agreed, I'll make it clearer in the app in the next version), it's fairly simply at the moment, where it takes the name of the device, and a command such as "turn on, turn off, run, activate".   So assuming you've got a device called "kitchen light", saying "turn on kitchen light" should work.

As for the detection... the only control client apps have is over the language type.... which, I've left as english, and not american english.   I'll get out an update that allows you to configure this.   I had been thinking this would be detecting most accents as it worked for me with a very high accuracy.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2014, 03:56:12 am »
For example, one of my scenes is called "Amiente", which dimmed the lights in my livingroom to 20%.
VeraMate's understanding/interpretation of the voice command "turn on ambiente" is alternatevely "turn on and beyond", "turn on gender", "turn on and enter"... Giving the command "run amiente" was understood as "iran and the into" or "iran computer"...
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 04:06:31 am by Kullematz »

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2014, 04:07:04 am »
For example, one of my scenes is called "Amiente", which dimmed the lights in my livingroom to 20%.
VeraMate's understanding/interpretation of the voice command "turn on ambiente" is alternatevely "turn on and beyond", "turn on gender", "turn on and enter"...

Amiente?  It won't unfortunately support custom vocabularies or foreign words at the moment.   I'm not sure what "Amiente" is (sorry) - my only recommendation is to change the scene name...
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2014, 05:37:19 am »
Ok, just change the scene from "Ambiente" to "Ambience" and it worked. Interestingly, other voice recognition softwares are obviously more tolerant, they even accept scene namens like "Ambiente". I'll see if the american english version of VeraMate's voice recognition will make a difference.
Many many thanks for this great program!

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2014, 03:55:32 am »
Ok, just change the scene from "Ambiente" to "Ambience" and it worked. Interestingly, other voice recognition softwares are obviously more tolerant, they even accept scene namens like "Ambiente". I'll see if the american english version of VeraMate's voice recognition will make a difference.
Many many thanks for this great program!

Good to hear.   Nuance can enable a custom dictionary which I could potentially create from the words used, but I don't think I'll be supporting that.  I'll look into it further in the future, but there is a cost associated that I'm not willing to commit to yet.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2014, 10:14:47 am »
Still get the Service Note "We apoligize for the inconvenience...." when starting Voice Control, but the VC works just fine.

Offline hellovn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
  • Karma: +19/-46
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2015, 01:35:27 pm »
Voice control now understand my accent better :). However, for some scenes, when I say "activate" or "turn on" + scene name, it does not do anything although it is blue highlighted (a match)

Offline ElMagnifico

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2015, 01:09:37 pm »
Is there a way to control a thermostat, I have 2 Honeywell's and one 2gig and I can only get on and off to give a confirmation, IE: turn off or turn on and It will repeat but does not complete request. I would really like to control the temp settings, and I have tried set temp, increase temp, but it never understands.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2015, 04:32:03 am »
Is there a way to control a thermostat, I have 2 Honeywell's and one 2gig and I can only get on and off to give a confirmation, IE: turn off or turn on and It will repeat but does not complete request. I would really like to control the temp settings, and I have tried set temp, increase temp, but it never understands.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Thermostat temperature control hasn't been added yet... I'll look to put this in.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2015, 08:13:46 am »
The new dimmer function under voice control works great, but could it be extended for roller shutter as well?

Offline veramate

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Karma: +17/-7
    • VeraMate
Re: How to use veramate voice control?
« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2015, 09:40:13 am »
The new dimmer function under voice control works great, but could it be extended for roller shutter as well?

Strange I missed that!  It should've worked for any "phaze" device - I'll add it.
VeraMate for iOS - simple, customisable, Vera control.  http://www.veramate.com
Apple Watch, Voice Control, GeoFencing, iBeacons, Today Widget, UI5/6/7 support, Alerts.