We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Thermostat CT100  (Read 11705 times)

Offline giansiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Thermostat CT100
« on: December 16, 2014, 01:56:08 am »
I found this deal online  http://www.lowvoltagesupply.com/dealoftheday.asp for thermostat CT100, is this a good price? or can I find a better deal somewhere else.

Thx for any advice!!!

Giancomo

Offline Mugwug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 06:33:25 am »
Looks like a good price, think I paid $100 for mine.

Offline packhawk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 09:55:54 am »
Great Find!!

Offline paolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2014, 11:45:14 pm »
The thermostat CT100  can be used with nearly any HVAC system and does not require a common wire for power. The CT100 boasts longer battery life, greater Z-Wave range, and additional features to enhance the experience for any 2GIG user. I think that's great deal, go for it.

Offline djrakso

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2014, 11:35:34 pm »
If my current HVAC (not a HA) has the following wires RYGW, could I be able to use this thermostat?

Offline paulcusick3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2014, 08:24:34 am »
If my current HVAC (not a HA) has the following wires RYGW, could I be able to use this thermostat?

Yes

Offline paulcusick3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2014, 08:28:28 am »
I found this deal online  http://www.lowvoltagesupply.com/dealoftheday.asp for thermostat CT100, is this a good price? or can I find a better deal somewhere else.

Thx for any advice!!!

Giancomo

With shipping; this is more than Amazon http://www.amazon.com/2gig-CT100-Z-Wave-Programmable-Thermostat/dp/B008CQ4V3Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1419341204&sr=8-1&keywords=Ct100 ($83) with free shipping is Prime.

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2014, 10:05:34 am »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

Offline JS007

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2014, 11:33:40 am »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

the ct100 doesn't send msgs when the heat goes on or turns off, you have to poll that information, do you know if the CT101 sends the modestate or if it has to also be polled? this is handy for say setting a booster fan in the ducts  to start up a minute after the heat starts or stop

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2014, 11:39:27 am »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

the ct100 doesn't send msgs when the heat goes on or turns off, you have to poll that information, do you know if the CT101 sends the modestate or if it has to also be polled? this is handy for say setting a booster fan in the ducts  to start up a minute after the heat starts or stop

Yes, I do get mode state changes (Idle or Heat, I don't have central A/C) when the heat kicks in, I use DataMine to graph this against the temperature readings to see how the system is cycling (in order to gauge the weather tightness of my house).

Make no mistake though, MCV's support of these thermostats is less than stellar. For example, if I change the temperature from the local faceplate, it doesn't register on the Vera dashboard. It's not the thermostat's fault, the info is there. There's also a humidity sensor built into the CT101 that Vera doesn't expose.

Offline JS007

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2014, 11:41:48 am »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

the ct100 doesn't send msgs when the heat goes on or turns off, you have to poll that information, do you know if the CT101 sends the modestate or if it has to also be polled? this is handy for say setting a booster fan in the ducts  to start up a minute after the heat starts or stop

Yes, I do get mode state changes (Idle or Heat, I don't have central A/C) when the heat kicks in, I use DataMine to graph this against the temperature readings to see how the system is cycling (in order to gauge the weather tightness of my house).

Make no mistake though, MCV's support of these thermostats is less than stellar. For example, if I change the temperature from the local faceplate, it doesn't register on the Vera dashboard. It's not the thermostat's fault, the info is there. There's also a humidity sensor built into the CT101 that Vera doesn't expose.

thanks, may have to upgrade my thermostat

I also guess I should of asked, do you get them instantly, I get them in vera, just at  check in times by the thermostat I guess, not instantly like I do temp changes

found this out by setting it to turn a light on and off to test it, heat would start and maybe 5 min later the light go on
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 11:47:46 am by JS007 »

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2014, 12:07:22 pm »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

the ct100 doesn't send msgs when the heat goes on or turns off, you have to poll that information, do you know if the CT101 sends the modestate or if it has to also be polled? this is handy for say setting a booster fan in the ducts  to start up a minute after the heat starts or stop

Yes, I do get mode state changes (Idle or Heat, I don't have central A/C) when the heat kicks in, I use DataMine to graph this against the temperature readings to see how the system is cycling (in order to gauge the weather tightness of my house).

Make no mistake though, MCV's support of these thermostats is less than stellar. For example, if I change the temperature from the local faceplate, it doesn't register on the Vera dashboard. It's not the thermostat's fault, the info is there. There's also a humidity sensor built into the CT101 that Vera doesn't expose.

thanks, may have to upgrade my thermostat

I also guess I should of asked, do you get them instantly, I get them in vera, just at  check in times by the thermostat I guess, not instantly like I do temp changes

found this out by setting it to turn a light on and off to test it, heat would start and maybe 5 min later the light go on

From looking at my data charts, there is some delay but I was attributing that to the temperature hysteresis swing (ie, my schedule changes the setpoint up, yet the indoor temperature wasn't low enough yet). I will confess though, there are times when there seems to be data missing (ie, a Heat on event) because I see nothing in the chart but yet the temperature sensor is showing rise. Again, I attribute this to poor Z-wave support from MCV for these thermostats (made by Radio Thermostat Of America).

Offline JS007

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2014, 12:33:24 pm »
I read the same issue from other controllers, so think the thermostats just do not send that information

I had to set up a scene to do the below every 30 seconds to get this data

luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1", "Poll", {}, 76)

76 of course being my thermostat id

still can be delayed up to 30 seconds, but better then nothign
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 12:36:17 pm by JS007 »

Offline djrakso

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2014, 10:43:07 pm »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

Instead of a CT101 could a CT32 would be better? I heard its the newest zwave plus module in it.

Offline TC1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +90/-88
Re: Thermostat CT100
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2014, 10:25:59 am »
Also remember that CT100s do NOT have local programming capability, meaning that unless it is controlled by Vera, there are no schedules. A better choice is the updated CT101 available from Lowes as the Iris Thermostat. It has local scheduling capability in case you ever remove the zwave controller.

Instead of a CT101 could a CT32 would be better? I heard its the newest zwave plus module in it.

The LCD face of the CT-32 looks *exactly* like the CT-101 that Loews sells as their Iris thermostat. Unfortunately, a quick google search reveals no sources selling the CT-32. I suspect they are all the same model with certain features either enabled or disabled, or rebranded for other companies to sell (2Gig, Lowes, etc).