Author Topic: [VeraEdge] Nodes don't repeat the signal. Routing issue?  (Read 5179 times)

Offline 3Deye

[VeraEdge] Nodes don't repeat the signal. Routing issue?
« on: December 25, 2014, 04:30:33 am »
Hi,

I am new to home automation and Z-wave, just received my Vera Edge, a couple of switch sockets and a motion sensor 2 days ago. The Initial setup was easy and the inclusion of the 2 sockets was smooth.

I am now testing the coverage, but unfortunately, i can't get the two sockets to see each other. For convenience, I will name the two sockets S1 and S2. The two are communicating with the VeraEdge with no issues when they are in range, then I tried to put S1 in the range of VeraEdge and S2 out of its range, but still close to S1. In this case I can control S1 but can not control S2.

I know that Z-wave uses a mesh network topology and each node should repeat the signal (up to 4 repeaters), so VeraEdge can communicate with S2 through S1. I don't know why it isn't working.

These are the switches I am using:
http://www.vesternet.com/z-wave-tkb-on-off-switch-socket

They support beaming.

Added:

- I did perform a network heal after adding the devices and also after making every single move to them.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2014, 03:22:16 pm by 3Deye »

Offline Z-Waver

• Master Member
Re: [VeraEdge] Nodes don't repeat the signal. Routing issue?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2014, 02:17:55 pm »
Did you perform a network heal after relocating the devices. The network heal operation, among other things, recalculates routing information so that Vera will know that it can no longer reach S2 directly and must now go through S1 to reach S2.

When using Mios routing, a heal is performed each night automatically. When you don;t wish to wait that long, you can initiate a manual heal. A heal should be performed whenever you add, remove or relocate Z-Wave devices.

Offline 3Deye

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2014, 03:16:04 pm »