We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module  (Read 2395 times)

Offline sjoerdw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« on: January 02, 2015, 09:02:56 am »
Hello,

is it possible to connect to the plugin by IP, with the use of the Powerlink2 module.

Or is this only possible by the RS232 module.

any help is appreciated

Sjoerd

Offline mcalistair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +6/-3
  • "Luctor et Emergo"
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 11:34:30 am »
The plugin is a replacement for the powerlink.
As the powerlink is connected via rs232 you also have to connect the vera to the powermax via rs232.

PS the visonic app for vera is much better than that crappy powerlink.
I know i used it for many years and and i'm just migrated to vera + visonic app and it is a superb!
1x Vera3@UI5 = PROD (1x Edge@UI7 = SandBox ), 15x ZWAVE Devices, 8x 'legacy' X10 devices controlled via Visonic PowerMax Alarm Panel Plugin, 5x Philips HUE devices, 1x iTach IP2CC, 1x Netatmo Weather Station, AltUI

Offline sjoerdw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2015, 12:03:27 pm »
thank you very much for your reaction.

I have used the vera with the rs232 module and it worked fine.

Only de the RS232 module got really hot and finally burned thru.
wrecking my complete powermax.

Now ik have a new one and I don't want this tot happen again.

I thought if it would be possible by the Powerlink2 i would not have this problem again.

the RS232 module is now about 40C all the time.



Offline mcalistair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +6/-3
  • "Luctor et Emergo"
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2015, 04:57:47 am »
Just a tip, I use a: "Startech ICUSB2321F 1 Port USB to Serial Cable" to connect my Vera3 to my PowermaxPro.
Its not even warm, just ambient temp. The cable is a bit more expensive then others, but not so expensive as a burned out Powermax ;)
1x Vera3@UI5 = PROD (1x Edge@UI7 = SandBox ), 15x ZWAVE Devices, 8x 'legacy' X10 devices controlled via Visonic PowerMax Alarm Panel Plugin, 5x Philips HUE devices, 1x iTach IP2CC, 1x Netatmo Weather Station, AltUI

Offline sjoerdw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2015, 07:31:17 am »
do you think the serial tot usb coverter is in influence on the temp of the rs232 module of the powermax ?

both are very hot.

Offline nlrb

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2015, 09:34:02 am »
A serial to USB converter should not get hot...

Offline sjoerdw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2015, 12:50:17 pm »
I bought the startech, i hope to receive it this week.  :)

Offline mcalistair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +6/-3
  • "Luctor et Emergo"
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2015, 05:08:26 pm »
I bought the startech, i hope to receive it this week.  :)

Nice...if it still gets hot then you know it must be something else.
1x Vera3@UI5 = PROD (1x Edge@UI7 = SandBox ), 15x ZWAVE Devices, 8x 'legacy' X10 devices controlled via Visonic PowerMax Alarm Panel Plugin, 5x Philips HUE devices, 1x iTach IP2CC, 1x Netatmo Weather Station, AltUI

Offline garethiandavies

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connection plugin with Powerlink2 module
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2015, 05:16:04 am »
Hi,

I am thinking of buying a VeraEdge,  but I also have a Powermax Complete.  I am not planning to connect the two (at least not for now) but I am concerned that they are both 868MHz.  I see that lots of people have both here, but does this not cause interference problems?