We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Key Fob to unlock doors upon arrival by proximity and immediately lock once shut  (Read 1812 times)

Offline abfarris

I am new to HA but I was wondering.  Is there anything out there that with scripting can allow my door to unlock as I arrive and then lock back automatically after five minutes once I am inside and the door is shut?  I am thinking along the lines of how new cars have a key fob that unlocks the door as you arrive for anyone who has the fob.  I am assuming that I would have to place the keys away from the door.   Is there any sensors out there that once I start up my steps (before I get to my door) it will trigger the door to unlock if I have a key fob?   

I really want my doors to unlock automatically without having to punch in a key code or open an app but only for someone with a fob or some other security measure (id app??)

I'm not too techie, but I can generally figure this stuff out after many attempts.  I just didn't know if such a thing even existed. 

Offline lingerba

I'm not sure of how to do this using Vera.  There are other products on the market that can do this:
http://www.august.com/
http://www.kwikset.com/kevo/

macrho

I'm using an iBeacon to do this along with the iViri app and it's working flawlessly for me.
I have a Schlage z-wave doorlock.

Offline kyb2012

I have an Android phone.  Using Tasker and Autovera plugin, my phone automatically disarms my alarm, turns on my lights, and unlock my front door based in GPS.  And then PLEG automatically locks the door 2 minutes after I enter the house and close the door.

Offline BOFH

• Sr. Hero Member
I'm using the DD-WRT presence script for this.