We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: UI5 Display Shenanigans  (Read 1047 times)

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
UI5 Display Shenanigans
« on: January 12, 2015, 01:22:36 pm »
So I've just about pulled what's left of my hair out this UI5 display issue.

I whittled down a json file (attached) for a device to its simplest form which still recreates the issue.  This is a description of what's in the json file:

1) 2 Tabs.  One named "Control" (position 0) one named "TCC Setup" (position 1)
2) There are no control groups or scene groups to keep things simple.
3) Both tabs are "flash" tabs.
4) Only 1 label and 1 variable on each tab.  (Different text for the labels, and different variables.)
5) The first tab (Control) looks fine.
6) The second tab (TCC Setup) displays the correct label, but instead of displaying the contents of the second variable, it's displaying the FIRST variable.

The same json works fine in UI7.

I've certainly refreshed and even tried different browsers...

???

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: UI5 Display Shenanigans
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 06:27:13 pm »
I WIN.

At least I figured out how to work around this UI bug.  From what I can tell, if you put a variable on the first tab, the UI5 wants to put the contents of that variable in "other" controls on subsequent tabs. It seems like (I have not verified), that the first variable wants to put its conents on the second control, the 2nd variable puts its conents in the 4th control, etc.  So at the end of the day, if you have 4 variables on your first tab, the 2nd, 4th, 6th, and 8th controls on your subsequent tabs will be corrupted.

So my work around was to create 8 "dummy" controls and stick them on the bottom of the tab...and the contents all get dumped in there instead of throughout the rest of the tab.  (See screenshot.)

So has this just never come up before?!  It's hard to believe that this kind of bug would make it all the way though the UI5 lifetime without being addressed....

« Last Edit: January 13, 2015, 06:31:58 pm by JoeyD »

Offline mvader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +29/-75
Re: UI5 Display Shenanigans
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 07:58:46 pm »
I see this on the myq/chamerblain/assurelink garage door plugin.
when i click on the control tab, everything is garbled on top of each other.
glad you figured out a way around it!!!

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: UI5 Display Shenanigans
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2015, 09:39:28 pm »
I see this on the myq/chamerblain/assurelink garage door plugin.
when i click on the control tab, everything is garbled on top of each other.
glad you figured out a way around it!!!

Yeah...I'll fix that one next!