We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact  (Read 12819 times)

Offline trswyo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #15 on: November 12, 2015, 10:11:12 pm »
Im having a hell of a time to get the temp to work. First off, it appears that some field changed since this thread.  I have updated the xml and json file.  I do see my motion sensor device (id#9), additional temporature device (#10).  I selected the additional temp device, went to advanced, then variables and put in 9 in the IDoorContacts variable, to match my motion sensor device.

Then I go to settings->z-wave settings->advanced->reload engine.  After it loads up I do see a new device, iDoor #9 temp sensor.  However this sensor does not display anything but 0F.

In the motion sensor (#9) advanced variables, i have tried putting in 9, 10, or 11 in the iDoorContacts variable.  None of these seem to do anything to the temperature.  I know Im close and must be missing something.  If a picture helps, please let me know, i would upload one.  Also the #9 device has wakeupIterval of 1800 set.  I do see the temp in the variables of the motion sensor (#9) device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Did you ever find a solution to this? I am having the same issue.

Thanks

Offline dbldown768

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2015, 08:06:54 am »
Nope. Was just going to ask, if anyone has any suggestions or comments, it would be much appreciated. Right now this thing is sitting on my counter as I really wanted the temp part of this sensor.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk


Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2015, 10:22:33 am »
I manually created a temperature sensor device and created a scene to poll the temperature from the motion sensor every 5 minutes. I found this somewhere in this forum. Didn't need any plugging to do this. If interested, maybe do a search on Vision Motion sensor. I would have to look it up.

Edit: Found it

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,13041.msg146816.html#msg146816
« Last Edit: November 13, 2015, 10:24:41 am by anhman »
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2015, 02:35:59 am »
I've been seeing a lot of posts where people can't get the Additional Temperature Device plugin configured properly...

So, I automated the device configuration.... updated implementation file is attached...

To use this:

1) Install the plugin, if you haven't already.
2) Once your Vera has finished reloading, find the "Additional Temperature Device" that was created in the dashboard.
3) Go to the device settings/advanced page and change the impl_file attribute to "I_iDoorContact-auto.xml"
4) Go to Apps/Develop Apps/Luup files... Make sure "restart luup after upload" is checked, and upload the L_iDoorContact-auto.xml" file to your Vera.

When your Vera reloads, the new implimentation will create a temperature sensor device for each installed device that:
A) Is a Z-Wave device
B) reports that it supports COMMAND_CLASS_SENSOR_MULTILEVEL
C) contains a populated "CurrentTemperature" variable.

NOTE 1: When you initially add a Z-Wave device with temperature sensor (such a a vision, monoprice,etc) to your Vera, the "CurrentTemperature" variable may not be populated immediately... If the additional temperature device does not appear immediately, wait 30 minutes and try again.

NOTE 2: The default name given to the created temperature sensors can be changed without affecting the operation of the plugin.

Offline dbldown768

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2015, 10:08:33 am »
cybrmage, thanks for the update.  I tried you latest auto setup.  It seems to have the same result when i tried manually.  Maybe i have to unpair the sensor and start all over again?  i took some screenshot of what i see.  let me know if more information would help

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2015, 02:25:26 pm »
let me know if more information would help

More information would be good... The variables look like they are from a motion sensor... but the iDoorContacts variable should not be present on the motion sensor...

First... look in the LuaUPnP.log... I added some debug logging to the updated implementation, so you should be able to see what is happening...

It should look something like:
Code: [Select]
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.295   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Starting iDoorContact ATS controller with autodetect <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.296   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::findDevices) Discovering eligable devices <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.297   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::findDevices) found device -  id [291] name [LR ZW Motion Sensor] type [urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:MotionSensor:1] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.298   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::CreateChildDevices) Creating/updating ATS device for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.300   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::GetChildDevices) Found ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.301   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Monitoring device [291] <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.302   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Startup complete <0x76bc6520>

The temperature value that is diaplayed (0 - zero), indicated that the temperature device has never been updated... Have you waited for at least the pool interval? The motion sensor does not update the temperature reading continuously... only when the device determines that the temperature has changed enough to sent a new report.

So the next step is to test that a change in the CurrentTemperature variable actually updated the ATS device... Go to the advanced/variables tab for the motion sensor device and change the CurrentTemperature variable to 1... then look in the log... you should see something like...

Code: [Select]
50      11/14/15 11:51:14.573   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x72661520>
50      11/14/15 11:51:14.575   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [1] from [1] devices. <0x72661520>

This verifies that the plugin works.

If you do NOT see the log output for the UpdateLevel function, then verify that you are changing the variable for the correct motion sensor device.

If everything in the logs looks ok, then test your motion sensor... Remove it from the wal/ceiling/test bench and place it in the freezer for a few minutes... then replace the sensor in its original location... As the sensor cools down and warms up, it should send updated temperature reports... and you should see this reflected in the logs.

Code: [Select]
50      11/14/15 12:05:29.510   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:05:29.511   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [23] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:06:48.624   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:06:48.626   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [17] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>

50      11/14/15 12:13:43.374   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:13:43.376   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [19] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:15:58.684   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:15:58.686   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [21] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>

If you do not see the UpdateLevel function being triggered, you may have a defective sensor, or the sensor did not pair with your Vera properly, in which case you should unpair (exclude) the sensor... make sure the Vera device is removed from the UI, and re-pair (include) the sensor.

The other possibility... Some of the more recent monoprice sensors have been ZP3102-5 instead of ZP3102... These newer sensors are Z-Wave Plus, and may not report temperature (and may not even pair correctly) with a VeraLite/Vera3... Check the model number reported on the motion sensors advanced/parameters page...


Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #21 on: November 14, 2015, 04:08:36 pm »
@Cybrmage: I have several Monoprice (Vision) ZP3102-5 PIR sensors on my UI7 Vera 3 and for all of them I have a working temperature sensor using the original ATS plugin. Granted. I installed them way back somewhere between 7.02 and 7.04. I lost the ATS device (without losing the temp sensor functionality) but your fix resolved that.

I'm wondering if something changed in a recent firmware that is causing new temp sensors no longer to work. Unfortunately I don't have any spare ZP3102-5's and I really don't want to remove and re-add an existing one and lose my temperature sensor for it.

If I install your auto config, will it mess with my existing ones? If not I can try that if you need logs. Worst case I run a backup before and restore to that.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2015, 04:37:24 pm »
I have several Monoprice (Vision) ZP3102-5 PIR sensors on my UI7 Vera 3 and for all of them I have a working temperature sensor
So... that eliminates the possibility of it being a Z-Wave plus issue...

I'm wondering if something changed in a recent firmware that is causing new temp sensors no longer to work.
Something has changed... The main ATS device now displays a generic default icon... the filename of the default icon has changed... but that's only cosmetic...

Also, the z-wave firmware changed (sometime around 7.0.8)... this may be causing an issue with veralite/vera3...

Did you follow the troubleshooting steps I posted above?? what was the results?? Does the motion sensor device has a CurrentTemperature variable? does it update with the current temperature??


If I install your auto config, will it mess with my existing ones?
It shouldn't... The new implementation file does not change the mechanism for creating the child devices... It just eliminates the need to configure the plugin... Instead of storing the list of iDoorContact devices in a variable, it creates the list on startup by testing the installed devices. It also extends the base main ATS device with Average temperature (for the devices it monitors)...

The new D_iDoorContact1.json file, that fixes the icon and displays the average temperature, is attached.






Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #23 on: November 14, 2015, 06:10:41 pm »
My temp sensors have worked correctly since I installed the plugin. The only issue I ever ran into was that the ATS device no longer displayed.Your file fixed that. But even then, and still, my temp sensors are displaying correctly. So whatever changed in the firmware does not seem to affect already set up devices.

The ATS device does have a default zwave icon on my now. All temp sensor devices it has created have a CurrentTemperature variable that shows the current temperature and does change appropriately.

I just got home from work and am trying to wind down. I'll give your file a try tomorrow after I create a backup just in case. :)
« Last Edit: November 14, 2015, 06:15:11 pm by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline dbldown768

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2015, 10:12:06 am »
Hey, thanks for all the help. I left for the day, came back and now i am seeing temp readings on the new device. I guess I'll need to see how often it updates.  I'm guessing every 30 mins.

Now I will need to research on how to use this to adjust my nest. The plan was to use this like an ecobee sensor in my daughter's room. When the temp gets too low, I want to turn the heat up on the nest.  I'll ask in the appropriate thread. Any tips welcome. Thanks again!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk


Offline dbldown768

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2015, 06:52:13 pm »
If I change the polling interval of the sensor, does that also change how often the temperature is updated in vera?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk


Offline dbldown768

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2015, 09:56:20 am »
I ended up switching to use a scene to update temperatures as described in this link:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,13041.msg146816.html#msg146816

It works well.  Will update on whatever interval i need.  Thanks all for the help.

Offline wrk24wheel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2015, 12:44:55 pm »
Installed this as per directions.  I see my two temperature sensors, but both have had 0F listed for a couple of days now.  I have the newer ZP3102-5 sensors.  It looks like maybe they broke something or changed something that doesn't like these new sensors.  I have tried just about everything and can not get them to display a temp.  Anyone else get these new sensors actually showing a temp?

Offline meathead88

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #28 on: January 02, 2016, 04:21:04 pm »
Same problem here :(

Offline meathead88

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2016, 09:28:26 am »
OK, i'm really not understanding this.  I paired my monoprice motion/temp sensor using add "generic device".
I even get a "CurrentTemperature" variable in the "advanced" then "variables" page in UI7 for the added motion sensor!

I've followed all these instructions multiple times but nothing!

If the temp seems to be in the motion sensor device's variables correctly, how can this be so hard to display in UI7 somewhere?!