Author Topic: Not getting data from weather underground  (Read 6104 times)

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Not getting data from weather underground
« on: January 17, 2015, 09:26:21 am »
Hi All - I'm a new veralite owner.  U/I 5, Version 1.6.641.  I've installed the weather underground app, have entered my WU code, and also manually set the location (the code for the closest airport) and polling (900).  I did not upload any .zip files because I really didn't understand where or what needed to be uploaded.

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2015, 09:30:52 am »
Here's the app settings.  I am unable to select the auto update box.

Offline dzmiller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Karma: +10/-14
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2015, 09:43:46 am »
The auto update field doesn't seem to work. Did you put location under the advance tab? Are the capital letters in your key correct?  When you log into WU, you see the key you entered in Vera?
If you showed your actual key in the gifs above, you will want to generate a new key and not make it publicly available..
« Last Edit: January 17, 2015, 09:50:19 am by dzmiller »

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2015, 09:50:00 am »
Hi dz.  Yes and yes.  see attached from WU

Offline dzmiller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Karma: +10/-14
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2015, 09:52:41 am »
Your key is not you location code. You get a unique key from the WU developer site.

http://www.wunderground.com/weather/api/d/login.html

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2015, 01:22:14 am »
Hi dz - created and account with WU and entered the key that they provided.  thats a different field.  my key is KMEPORTL22.  Am i missing or misunderstanding something?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +763/-142
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2015, 05:51:22 am »
KMEPORTL22 looks like a PWS (Personal Weather Station) identifier.

A key will look like an arbitrary hex encoded string about 16 characters long.

A hex encoded string uses the numbers 0-9 and the letters a-f.


Offline dzmiller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Karma: +10/-14
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2015, 09:20:43 am »
Yes, the first screen shot you provided show the weather station code in the provider key field - a reference to Kamembe airport , I believe. As Richard points out that's not your unique, random user key provided by WU.
WU uses your unique key to make sure you don't hit their server too often from a free developer account.

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2015, 10:15:40 am »
Oh - you're right.  I guess that I am confused about obtaining the key from WU.  I did establish an account, but I guess that I didn't understand how/where to generate the key.

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2015, 11:36:17 am »
If you're not sure what your key is, go to :

http://www.wunderground.com/weather/api

And sign in with your account....click on Key Settings and you'll see your key.

Offline Gringokarlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2015, 01:02:21 pm »
Awesome!  Thanks, Joey.  I got it set up.  The WU site isn't very easy to navigate.  I spent quite a bit of time looking around for the key issue function.  Your link worked like a charm.

Offline tedp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Karma: +6/-2
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2015, 09:01:01 pm »
Hello -- I must be daft or something, but I do not see a "key management" link at http://www.wunderground.com/weather/api

There's the option to purchase a key (of which the basic version is free). Is this what I need to do in order to obtain one?

I've attached a screengrab from the website in case I'm missing something obvious.

Thx

Online tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 983
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2015, 10:04:50 pm »
You "purchase" the free api giving you 500 calls a day.

Offline fabstar81

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2015, 08:25:44 am »
Sorry to hijack this thread. But in the Weather Underground plugin I get the following error, which probably has its origins in a setting in vera I cannot access.

WUIWeather : Location not established in MiOS Preferences/Toolbox, Latitude and Longitude required for Plugin to work.

Obviously I tried to override the mios settings in the plugin, by putting the longitude, latitude, nearest by weather station, even country codes and all, but I keep getting this error.

In vera the location tab does say my.location, but I think I miss the tab where you can enter your latitude and longitude settings. Also the current cost per kWh I cannot submit anymore.

I did a factory reset (soft) last month and built up from scratch. Since then I have this error. Previously, I had no issues at all using the plug-in.

Offline akbooer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6126
  • Karma: +274/-69
  • "Less is more"
Re: Not getting data from weather underground
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2015, 09:02:52 am »
I don't know why this is happening, but you could manually set your latitude and longitude by running a couple of lines of Lua in the test code window...

Code: [Select]
luup.attr_set ("longitude", -1.234)
luup.attr_set ("latitude", 54.321)

...using the right numbers, of course!
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.