Author Topic: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats  (Read 173497 times)

Offline auto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2015, 02:09:08 pm »
Hi JoeyD-

Thank you for the great app!  Everything working great so far.  One request is to add the ability to change the fan mode in a scene.  For example: If my Netatmo CO2 shows higher than 900 turn fan on.  Currently there is not an option to control the fan in create new scene on UI7.

Thanks again!

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2015, 03:29:50 pm »
Hi JoeyD-

Thank you for the great app!  Everything working great so far.  One request is to add the ability to change the fan mode in a scene.  For example: If my Netatmo CO2 shows higher than 900 turn fan on.  Currently there is not an option to control the fan in create new scene on UI7.

Thanks again!

Hi auto,

You should be able to do this by using the thermostat device actions (not the parent honeywell device).  For the fan, the plugin supports the following action:

service    /      action
urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_FanOperatingMode1   /         SetMode

This action takes one parameter "NewMode", and you can set it to any of the following:
  • Auto
  • PeriodicOn
  • ContinuousOn
  • FollowSchedule

(PeriodicOn is used for "circulate" mode). 

Again, you need to run the action against the child device thermostat, not the parent "honeywell" device.  You co do this via luup code, or with the "advanced editor" in UI7 scenes.  Give it a shot and let me know how it goes. :)
« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 03:36:52 pm by JoeyD »

Offline auto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2015, 01:08:35 pm »
JoeyD-

You are the best!  Works great.  I did not even notice the advanced editor in the scene creator.

Thanks again.

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2015, 03:06:39 pm »
Yes, as you start getting more and more into creating scenes, you'll quickly find out that for many devices the default actions you can perform are very limiting.  (They are limited to the actions you can perform on the dashboard UI).

So then you'll start using the advanced scene editor more and more for the next level of complexity.

Pretty soon you'll probably find out that even the advanced editor is too limiting for more complicated logic.  So then you'll start entering snippets of luup code...

...and then you'll start writing plug-ins. ;)

Offline Grwebster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2015, 10:24:44 pm »
Thanks so much for this plugin!  I was struggling about what to buy to replace my crappy Remotec thermostat.  When I saw you had it working, I knew I had the answer.   Honeywell has a much better method for setting the schedule than Vera has.  What I want to do is to set the thermostat to a specific temp when away, and then just set it back to it's program when done.  Can this be done with the current plugin?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2015, 12:01:09 am »
Hi Grwebster,

Yes, this can be done (See post 2 in this thread.)  Specifically, the sections near the bottom for "CancelSetpointHold" and "HoldSetpoint" actions for the parent Honeywell device (not the individual thermostat devices).  You will want to set the set-point with a permanent SetpointType when you go away, and when you return you'll want to cancel the setpoint hold.

You can use (assuming UI7) either the advanced editor, or use luup code.  (Luup code examples are given.)

Let us know if you need additional help, and good luck!

Offline Grwebster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2015, 12:37:12 pm »
Perfect.   Thanks very much JoeyD.  The Honeywell program has a great interface for setting the schedule for the whole week, and the Vera can be used for override only.  Makes me glad I did not buy the z-wave version, because then I would be stuck trying to do it using many scenes in Vera to get things done.  Definitely this is the way to go.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #22 on: January 25, 2015, 04:55:01 pm »
Yup...I tend to agree about the scheduling.  In fact this is a rare device in that the UI that honeywell built for it is actually pretty damn good on the whole!

There are however a couple downsides to using the WiFi version vs. a Z-Wave version...which mainly comes down to using the internet as an interface between the thermostat and vera:

1)  If your internet goes down at your home, you won't be able to control or get the status of the thermostat...which means that any scenes you build also won't work if the internet goes down.  With a z-wave device this is not an issue since z-wave devices talk directly to vera.

2) Because the thermostat can't "push" status updates to vera, we have to actively "poll" to get its status.  In order to avoid the overhead of constantly polling all the time, we limit this to once every 5 minutes.  This means that in a worst case scenario, your vera unit won't know something has changed with your thermostats until 5 minutes after the fact.

The take-away is that for "mission critical" applications, you probably want a z-wave thermostat.  For most of us (myself included), the internet limitation isn't a problem.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2015, 04:56:56 pm by JoeyD »

Offline Grwebster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +6/-4
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2015, 11:20:19 am »
Yes, Vera would do well to take a look at how they have it set up.  It is too bad that that it can't be local, but the stat has the program and will do it's thing so I am not that concerned.  I did see the delay when playing with it after I set it up.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline rsaroki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2015, 11:43:34 am »
Hi there i am having trouble communicating with the thermostats i am getting a error code 500 when i refresh the units. I am able to log in to my account but no luck talking to the stats i did input the stats id any idea what im doing wrong thanks. 

Offline memonstatus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #25 on: January 26, 2015, 02:06:55 pm »
Works great so far. Really amazing work. Took about 10 minutes to set up (for some reason it wasn't saving my thermostat IDs), but once I got the IDs saved, it added the thermostats when I did a reload.

Currently, the app supports up to 3 thermostats.

 Any idea if you might support more than 3 stats? I have 5, if you need me to test something, let me know.

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #26 on: January 26, 2015, 02:31:51 pm »

 Any idea if you might support more than 3 stats? I have 5, if you need me to test something, let me know.

As a matter of fact, the next release will support up to 8. :)  I've changed the set-up so that it should automatically find and install all your thermostats (up to 8 ) pretty much automatically.

Since you asked, I may use you as a guinea pig and post beta files here that you can upload and try out.  I just need to check my code and make sure it's suitable for a beta or release candidate....
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 02:51:38 pm by JoeyD »

Offline JoeyD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +36/-5
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #27 on: January 26, 2015, 02:57:39 pm »
Well I've been running this version for about a week now with no surprises, so I guess it's safe to post as a beta.  You can download the attached zip, and upload the included files to your vera (no need to uninstall your current version).  The set-up tab will change (after a luup restart and a browser refresh) to what you see in the second attachment.

The new set-up tab will automatically "find" up to 8 of the thermostats you have included in your account.  By default, new thermostats that are found are automatically added to your vera devices.

 If, however, you don't want a given thermostat to show up in your vera devices, disable it by pressing the "D" button and then "refresh", and that device will be removed from Vera.  (It will still show up on the list of thermostats as "disabled."

Let me know how it goes!

« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 02:59:37 pm by JoeyD »

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #28 on: January 26, 2015, 06:50:35 pm »
Does the "D" thing work in U1.5?
U.S.A Vera 3

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Re: PLUGIN: Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Thermostats
« Reply #29 on: January 26, 2015, 06:51:25 pm »
Nevermind..
U.S.A Vera 3