We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?  (Read 26956 times)

Offline kwiky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2015, 03:10:04 pm »
If I were to make a VM for openhab in esxi (i7 hex core, 24gb ddr3, plenty of storage) what type of specs should I give it? 1core, 2 core? 1-2gb? how much storage?

Offline guessed

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2015, 03:21:44 pm »
If I were to make a VM for openhab in esxi (i7 hex core, 24gb ddr3, plenty of storage) what type of specs should I give it? 1core, 2 core? 1-2gb? how much storage?

Think about your viable target options.  The processor will likely be different (ARM-variant vs Intel), but most other things will be in the same territory.

Commodity, low-cost, 2 or 4 Core ARM devices, with 1-2GB RAM are available for $50-150 when fully equipped.

With that in mind, using a VM with 1-2 Cores, and 1GB RAM, will get you a great starter system.  You can always tweak it up or down from there as needed... it's just a VM.

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2015, 05:15:35 am »
Of course just to add to the conversation, I wonder what the performance on the new RASPi would be.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/raspberry-pi-2-on-sale/


Offline guessed

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2015, 09:49:50 am »
Of course just to add to the conversation, I wonder what the performance on the new RASPi would be.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/raspberry-pi-2-on-sale/

I like that they've finally made speed improvement, more options is a great thing for users.

Let's hope they changed to gigE and much faster SDHC interfaces also, or it'll be moot (choking on its IO lanes).

Offline AgileHumor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Karma: +51/-27
  • KISS
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2015, 11:03:46 am »
I have one i7 Windows PC that handles:
* Media Center / Media Browser HTPC (fed to 8 TV's via HDMI splitter that turn on with motion)
* VoxCommando TTS (from Vera) and Speech Recognition
* iSpy controlling 10 x 720p IR Camera  (and one Foscam camara as an audio/video baby monitor)
* Misc Tools:
   ** NZBGet
   ** Utorrent
   ** CouchPotato
   ** Sonarr
   ** DynDNS updater
* Now, Adding OpenHab to relieve my Vera which flakes out about once a month (even with daily reboots) providing uncertainty in my 99% automated home :(
« Last Edit: February 02, 2015, 12:16:38 pm by AgileHumor »
WMC Leviton:18xVPE06,8xVRS15,3xVRP03-W,2xVRR15,4xVRCS4,2xVRCS2,VP00R,8xVRS15 Aeon:5xDSC06106,4xDSC24,4xDSC25,12xDSB29,2xDSC11,4xDSB54,DSB05,3xDSA22,DSA38,2xDSA03202B,DSB09104,HEM Other:3xYale,12xHSM100v3,7xSP103,45604,WDHA-12,SSA2USR,EVLCD1T,6xWWA02A,7xIPC-HFW2100,URTSI,Hue,Russound,OpenSprinker

Offline nwootton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2015, 07:21:52 am »
New Raspberry Pi arrived today, and I managed to scavenge up a micro SD card, installed January's Wheezy image and then installed the three core systems I use on the current Pi to run my HA stuff - OpenHAB 1.6.2, Mosquitto and MySQL (5.5.x). I've copied across the same configs from the current RPi(B) box and booted the new one.

Feels much faster boot time to prompt.
Boot of OpenHAB to first "I'm alive message" on new Pi is 30 seconds, on the old Pi ~110-130 seconds, so definitely faster to fire up my environment.

No scientific analysis here, but first impressions are that the new Pi is much more capable for my particular scenario and will give me enough headroom to expand/add bindings without the cost of a CubieTruck or ODroid U3 board.

Offline shmixx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2015, 09:55:28 am »
Glad to see someone take a dive with the RPi2. I was curious if it would make an improvement enough to void all the other issues people have complained about. Now if only we could find a REALLY nice Wave child board, add a battery pack, it could be just like an OpenHAB Vera Lite box! :)

Just wanted to add some input for some folks bringing up some other platforms mentioned and give you my feedback:

FreeNAS - I was running this originally. I started testing OH on my Mac, but knew I needed an actual platform that was always on and available to update regularly. So my first attempt was my FreeNAS system. It was running my Plex, SB, Sab, etc without any issues. I threw in a new jail for OH, learned from FreeBSD command line along the way, and got OH running. It required essentially just getting Java to run properly, then the rest was a breeze. Being a NAS system, it's also pretty easy to make the config files available to yourself for quick edits via the Designer. Depending on your hardware, you mileage will vary of course. I'd imagine if it's anything current, you'll be fine. Even some older stuff should process and run fine with at least 4GB RAM and a modern proc.

Synology - So this is a dichotomy. From what I've heard, the actual Syno boxes don't have horsepower. Many people try Plex, but move to another platform because its sub-par. That said, if you're not doing anything too crazy, I can't imagine that OH wouldn't be able to run fairly easily. If you aren't bootstrapped, you may have some problems getting things working appropriately, or relying on some folks to re-package the latest builds for you. I had to manually put together the latest build into a package based off the model of another package.

XPEnology - If you haven't heard of it, check it out. It's basically a boot platform to run Synology DSM software on your own hardware. For those who've complained of Plex performance on a regular DSM box, this alleviates the problem. I turned my FreeNAS box into an XPEnology box. It works like a dream!! The only catch is that the boot loaders generally are not ready as soon as the latest DSM software releases. So if you need to be bleeding edge with DSM software, you will be a little disappointed. With the right patience though, it's worth the endeavor. I'm running everything I had on my FreeNAS, but with the advantage of a nice beautiful GUI for those who don't want to be dropping to a Terminal session regularly to control their system efficiently or with any advanced configurations.

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2015, 01:14:42 am »
Is there more feedback from anyone using an RPi2 yet? I'm on the fence between that and the Odroid C1....

or I could just buy both since they are cheap as chips

... not that I'm going to allow myself to get sucked into this just yet anyway :)
« Last Edit: February 10, 2015, 01:16:29 am by strangely »
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2015, 01:46:21 am »
Is there more feedback from anyone using an RPi2 yet? I'm on the fence between that and the Odroid C1....

or I could just buy both since they are cheap as chips

... not that I'm going to allow myself to get sucked into this just yet anyway :)

Not even looking at anything at the moment; however, just for you @strangley for a testiment see https://twitter.com/kaikreuzer/status/564086697546481664/photo/1

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #24 on: February 11, 2015, 03:09:45 am »
Thanks @Brientim, exciting times for these little machines ahead.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline gerardosamara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2015, 04:44:45 am »
Hello ,

Very interesting project.

What you think about running this app on an hardware like android tablet which is running some kind of Linux OS ?

VeraLite+VeraEdge/EnOcean version US en UI7.1.17 + Vera Mobile UI7 V7.15.17.40 + Imperihome pro V2.8.3
Wall switch : Leviton VRS15 , Smart switch : Aeotec DSC24 , Motion sensor : Aeotec 4in1 DSB05 + Everspring HSP02 , Cameras Dlink 742L + Foscam 8910 + Foscam 9853EP

Offline guessed

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2015, 10:48:32 am »
What you think about running this app on an hardware like android tablet which is running some kind of Linux OS ?

Probably a question best asked over on the openHAB Forum itself.  There are more people there, with experiences running across a variety of different Linux's and Hardware variations.

Offline Otje

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #27 on: February 20, 2015, 07:22:43 am »
Hi all

This post made me curious to understand how openhab works and i decided to purchase raspberry Pi 2.
just installed it (demo mode) but without any hazzle and good performance so far.

avg cpu loading is 2%.

openhab starts quickly, so far so good.  i will share my further experiences also here in this post
VERA Plus, VERA 3 Lite , couple of PIR's, several switch units, wall mounted tablet, Sonos integration with TTS, Temperature sensors, Imperihome, Zwave LED bulbs

Offline guessed

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2015, 05:54:22 pm »
Welcome to the ToyBox @Otje!

Let us know how you get on with your rPi 2, the more feedback the merrier! 

Given it's capabilities, and price-point (etc), it looks to become the defacto option for openHAB users.  There are reports about lockups of Java on the rPi2, so just keep an eye on the openHAB forums for reported issues.

macrho

  • Guest
Re: Hardware: What are you using to run openHAB?
« Reply #29 on: February 26, 2015, 11:56:30 am »
I have one i7 Windows PC that handles:
* Media Center / Media Browser HTPC (fed to 8 TV's via HDMI splitter that turn on with motion)
* VoxCommando TTS (from Vera) and Speech Recognition
* iSpy controlling 10 x 720p IR Camera  (and one Foscam camara as an audio/video baby monitor)
* Misc Tools:
   ** NZBGet
   ** Utorrent
   ** CouchPotato
   ** Sonarr
   ** DynDNS updater
* Now, Adding OpenHab to relieve my Vera which flakes out about once a month (even with daily reboots) providing uncertainty in my 99% automated home :(

nearly the same set up as I have though Kodi instead of MediaBrowser, been trying to use it but the Aeon MQ5 skin just does all I need. Finally kicked sickbeard to the curb and went with Sonarr, quite nice

I have an ODROID-C1 that I've begun setting up with OpenHAB just have to get some more time to finish it