Author Topic: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?  (Read 7205 times)

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« on: January 16, 2015, 12:47:50 pm »
Is anybody running OpenHab on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform? If so, any issues? I have enough HP left on my FreeBSD N40L NAS for it. But I really don't want to have to convert that one to eg Linux as ZFS seems to run best on the BSD platform.

I am hedging my bets and making sure I have a backup solution for my HA.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline guessed

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 01:06:10 pm »
Is anybody running OpenHab on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform? If so, any issues? I have enough HP left on my FreeBSD N40L NAS for it. But I really don't want to have to convert that one to eg Linux as ZFS seems to run best on the BSD platform.

@BOFH,
For general questions on openHAB, you'll want to post to the openHAB forum as there are a lot more users, with a wider variety of deployments/experiences.

You'll also find a starter-list of platforms in their Hardware FAQ:
    https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/Hardware-FAQ

It's not the most complete list, but it's a good start.

Generally speaking, the platform will need Java (1.7 or above) available for the Platform, as well as enough Memory (512M starter, more preferred) to run the system in a reasonable manner.

Offline shmixx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2015, 01:10:40 pm »
@BOFH - yes it can be done and is pretty stable. Search on the Google Groups forum for FreeNAS and you'll likely find a bunch of posts (mostly from me) when I got mine up and running. The hardest part for me was the learning curve of FreeBSD as I wasn't as familiar with it. Run Java 7, not 8 or 6. And there should be a thread you will find about startup scripts to set it to run as a service. A kind soul on the forum shared his script and it worked perfectly.

I no longer run FreeNAS as I've switched to XPEnology (basically open source synology) and can't help as much anymore. There is support thought, and the mios binding works great too.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2015, 01:13:11 pm »
@Guessed/shmixx: Thanks for the update. Memory is not really an issue as that N40L has 8GB (Needed for ZFS) and an AMD 1.5GHz AMD Turion II. Time to check out the OpenHab forums and see what they say. I've used FreeBSD since version 1.x so I am very familiar with it. Leaving the learning curve to be OpenHab. I searched google for Openhab and FreeBSD and found nothing. Guess I should have used FreeNAS instead. (Which basically is a stripped down version of FreeBSD targeted at NAS functionality)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2015, 01:17:28 pm by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline shmixx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2015, 02:28:27 pm »
@BOFH - target the search from the Google Groups forum as @guessed indicated. General googling won't bear as much fruit. You should find some hits from the Groups site if you use FreeBSD on the forum. FreeNAS should get you almost as many hits. I think I tried to include both as much as possible to ensure people understood.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2015, 10:08:49 am »
First encounter with Google+ communities and I am totally lost as to how to navigate that. Not really wanting to get a Google+ account so the oompaloompa's at Google can track me all over. A quick search of that community (without logging in) for FreeBSD and FreeNAS brought up 0 results so not very promising there.  Guess I am too old a fart to deal with all this modern stuff.  8)

Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline shmixx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2015, 10:15:23 am »
It's actually not in the Google+ pages. I'm not sure how people navigate that one either. It's in the Google Groups section for openhab that @guessed linked above.

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/openhab

Copy and pasted here for you. Once you hit that page, there will be a search bar right at the top of the page you can use. It is very much like a regular forum, just no individual boards to sift through. Just a laundry list of topics you can dive into and join a conversation. I don't recall if you need to login if you only want to browse the content, I don't believe you do. To reply you need a Google account.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2015, 10:26:05 am »
*hitting head* I copied guessed's link but it seems my smartphone browser had an issue with it and pushed me to a different page. Which was the one I could not navigate. I tried it on Firefox on my laptop and now I am getting where I need to be. Thanks again.
Looks like I can read and search fine but yeah, to post you need a Google+ (not just a Google) account.

Time to build a lil jail on my NAS box and start playing with OpenHAB.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2015, 10:27:56 am by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline shmixx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2015, 11:26:47 am »
Ahh gotcha. Ya that could do it. LoL. The mobile pages are hard to navigate I can agree there. One other benefit you get using FreeNAS - ZFS snapshots. They're your friend and easy to take of the jail before install, and/or at milestones of functional progress! That way you can easily start fresh or pick up where you left off with a known good config.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Anybody running openHAB on a FreeBSD or FreeNAS platform?
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2015, 12:28:22 pm »
Yup. That is why I run that N40L with a full FreeBSD setup with ZFS. Worst case I can use it as a failover for my other N40L FreeBSD box that handles my servers/gateway/firewall duties so I don't lose my internet connection.

Thanks again for the pointers.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W