We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Vera3 -> VeraEdge  (Read 2111 times)

Offline 838joel

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-1
Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« on: January 30, 2015, 09:29:44 am »
Hi,
I have a Vera3 at the moment... Connected to my home router using WiFi since I cannot connect it directly with a cat5 cable.
Also I did configured a static IP on it.

So the first question is: would I be able to do the same configuration with the VeraEdge?

Second: is there any advantage of changing the HW? Or should I keep my Vera3?

Third: should I wait for the next HW (I remember reading about VeraPlus / VeraPro!!!)?

Thank you for all the advice!
Joel

Offline ServiceXp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +9/-6
Re: Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 10:03:56 am »
Personally I would wait if at all possible. That said, it's going to be a loooooong wait.

There are many threads on the differences between the two.
U.S.A Vera 3

Offline faustiano

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 03:49:54 pm »
Sorry to Hijack the thread, but I was wondering if anyone had comments on either getting the VeraEdge for $150 or the VeraLite for $89.  Is there a significant benefit getting the VeraEdge?  I have been reading many posts from VeraEdge users and they many are not happy, while I do not hear many issues from VeraLite users.


Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5630
  • Karma: +157/-382
Re: Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2015, 04:52:06 pm »
Hi,
I have a Vera3 at the moment... Connected to my home router using WiFi since I cannot connect it directly with a cat5 cable.
Also I did configured a static IP on it.

So the first question is: would I be able to do the same configuration with the VeraEdge?

Second: is there any advantage of changing the HW? Or should I keep my Vera3?

Third: should I wait for the next HW (I remember reading about VeraPlus / VeraPro!!!)?

Thank you for all the advice!
Joel

Currently the EDGE cannot connect to your wifi network. It is said to be fixed in the future, but who knows when that will be.

You should not change to the EDGE. The only advantage you might be able to take advantage of is the z-wave 500 chip. But there is slim to none of the devices on the market that can also use it. Without you have those devices your are at no advantage.
RAM is the same on both. Personally you should stay where you are for a while longer.

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5630
  • Karma: +157/-382
Re: Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2015, 04:59:16 pm »
Sorry to Hijack the thread, but I was wondering if anyone had comments on either getting the VeraEdge for $150 or the VeraLite for $89.  Is there a significant benefit getting the VeraEdge?  I have been reading many posts from VeraEdge users and they many are not happy, while I do not hear many issues from VeraLite users.

I own a LITE and bought a VERA EDGE to upgrade. EDGE is new and is not fully functional. Basics work but not everything. VERA lite has been out for years and can run the older ui5 software (which everything works) or the newer ui7. EDGE can only run the new UI7 which not all plugins work with it.

Problem I have with the LITE is the RAM is half of the edge. I installed 6 or 7 plugins, (weather, camera, pleg, day or night, and few others) and I ran out of RAM and my vera started rebooting loosing settings and all kinds of weird things due to it.

So less problems for a beginner would be to run ui5 on a LITE. Better for the long run will be to get an edge and stick it out for a bumpy road in the beginning.  Some beginning users don't have problems with EDGE as it works for basic devices. It's alot of the Plugins, USB port and such that don't work.

VERA 3 has the same ram as the EDGE but can also run ui5. It doesn't have the new z-wave chip tho. So it's like a middle ground and a solid bet for today. Altho the price is currently higher then the EDGE so I wouldn't by one today.

Offline faustiano

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Vera3 -> VeraEdge
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2015, 05:56:30 pm »

I own a LITE and bought a VERA EDGE to upgrade. EDGE is new and is not fully functional. Basics work but not everything. VERA lite has been out for years and can run the older ui5 software (which everything works) or the newer ui7. EDGE can only run the new UI7 which not all plugins work with it.

Problem I have with the LITE is the RAM is half of the edge. I installed 6 or 7 plugins, (weather, camera, pleg, day or night, and few others) and I ran out of RAM and my vera started rebooting loosing settings and all kinds of weird things due to it.

So less problems for a beginner would be to run ui5 on a LITE. Better for the long run will be to get an edge and stick it out for a bumpy road in the beginning.  Some beginning users don't have problems with EDGE as it works for basic devices. It's alot of the Plugins, USB port and such that don't work.

VERA 3 has the same ram as the EDGE but can also run ui5. It doesn't have the new z-wave chip tho. So it's like a middle ground and a solid bet for today. Altho the price is currently higher then the EDGE so I wouldn't by one today.

Thank you for the advice!