We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting  (Read 4217 times)

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« on: February 10, 2015, 05:21:05 am »
Hello guys;
 
I guess i have this diagram in my house. I want to connect double relay for universal dimmer (so i won't use the neutral) .
This is a 2-way switch. Will you please tell me how to connect it?

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 07:08:20 am »

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2015, 07:43:04 am »
So i only can use the dimmer :(

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2015, 08:16:13 am »
Are you sure that you have Neutral on the switch in the right switchbox or is it Com?

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2015, 01:15:38 pm »
Yes. I have wired this one there.

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2015, 01:44:06 pm »
With Neutral available in the right switchbox, I would take a Fibaro relay switch rather than a dimmer and connect the switch like the dimmer shown in Figure 2 of Vesternets schematic above (APNT-52). Ignore the bridge between N and O and connect Neutral direct with N of the relay switch. Hope it works. I never tried it this way - pls let me know.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2015, 01:46:04 pm by Kullematz »

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2015, 02:03:49 am »
The think is that I don't have Line in the right box. The line is alternative between the tow ports. As a two way switch, the line on the right box depends on the status of the left box.

This is why i was trying to use dimmer on the left size. But as i don't trust the Fibaro Dimmer that much, i wanted a more reliable solution.

Even though, using the Dimmer might not solve the problem. As the load is connected to the right box

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2015, 03:21:19 am »
But you have Live in the left switchbox plus two Com wires going to the right switchbox. So simply transmit Live from the left to the right switchbox where you even have Neutral for the relay switch. Have a look to Figure 2 of APNT-52 where you can see how to connect everything.

Offline korttoma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +26/-5
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2015, 04:09:24 am »
Pictures say more than words. I guess you will need to be able to make the switches momentary for this to work right?
- Tomas

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2015, 04:54:46 am »
I dont think with this connecting the switches will be 2way switches any more

In parameters of the dimmer you can change the type of switch and the type of load to ON/OFF
However, I can use the double switch with your graph but i might loose the 2way feature

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2015, 05:34:16 am »
Okay, here is the schematic of that what I have in mind...
« Last Edit: February 22, 2015, 11:15:32 am by Kullematz »

Offline korttoma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +26/-5
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2015, 05:46:57 am »
Seems like the functionality of the S2 input on the Dimmer module works differently from the S2 input on the Relay module so I guess your right then since he wanted to use a relay module.
- Tomas

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2015, 11:57:10 am »
So you believe this will keep the 2way feature of both switches on the right and the left one?

Offline Kullematz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2015, 12:15:54 pm »
It should, find it out and let us know...

Offline therealabdo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 2 -way fibaro double relay connecting
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2015, 12:22:37 pm »
Ok will try it

Hope it works :D