We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?  (Read 8797 times)

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2014, 07:13:32 pm »
Beauty... thanks.  Looks like I may be taking some of Friday off from work  ::)

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2014, 06:42:02 pm »
how long does it take to finally see all the devices, scenes, etc?

I got most of my devices back... but no rooms/scenes, etc.  Maybe I didn't wait long enough?  (like 10 minutes)

trying another restore now.

EDIT.... and there it is.  Wonder why today's back was different than yesterdays.  Oh well... beginning testing now!

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2014, 01:41:44 pm »
FYI for the next person... this worked great... just have a little patience on the restore.  I've had zero problems so far.

One thing to note that was in another thread... your new unit may come with U17 on it (mine did), which will mean you cannot log-in per the instructions provided, as your account is on the older servers/system.  You'll have to connect directly to the unit first (figure out it's IP via your router), and then do a firmware downgrade.

You will ALSO NEED TO remove the upgrade flag by talking to support.  I left them a voicemail after waiting online for about 15 minutes... and to their credit they did call back a day later. But I didn't want to wait, so I initiated a chat, that happened immediately (good to note).  Tech guy removed the flag, then sent me the firmware instructions via email.

All very smooth after that.

Thanks to all that helped!

Offline tyfoon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2015, 03:12:59 am »
I moved my configuration from Vera Lite to Vera 3 like so:

On Vera Lite
Backup Z-Wave
Save local backup on PC
Remove power

On Vera 3
Configure network settings (different IP to Vera Lite)
Restore from backup on PC

Once I was happy that the Vera 3 was working correctly, I powered it off. Then:

On Vera Lite
Power on
Reset Z-Wave Network
Factory reset
Configure network settings

Then I restarted the Vera 3 and they both lived happily together.

The Vera 3 now had the same SSH password as the Vera Lite but retained its own serial number.


Unfortunately I cannot get this to work.

My veraLite is running 1.5.672 (=beta) so I uploaded this also to Vera3 first to assure same firmware version.
Vera 3 still works fine after upgrade
Then I execute above steps (beside resetting the VeraLite as I still want to have it as a backup)
Vera 3 never returns correctly (also left it overnight hoping it would take long). Local it can't even be reached, remotely I see the first screen but empty with 'loading devices'
Hard reset had brought the Vera3 back to life

Three Q's:

Are beta firmware's for VeraLite and Vera3 identical or do they have specific versions?
How long does it normally take after a full restore like this?
Any other suggestions?

« Last Edit: February 15, 2015, 03:17:08 am by tyfoon »

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2015, 05:48:50 am »
Quote
Are beta firmware's for VeraLite and Vera3 identical or do they have specific versions?

Normally the same firmware runs on both VeraLite and Vera3.

Quote
How long does it normally take after a full restore like this?

I don't remember exactly but I think it was around 10-15 minutes.

Quote
Any other suggestions?

Try again from the top with a fresh backup of both Z-Wave and Configuration. If that still doesn't work, call Vera Support.

Offline tyfoon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2015, 02:43:34 pm »

Quote
Try again from the top with a fresh backup of both Z-Wave and Configuration. If that still doesn't work, call Vera Support.

Indeed. That did the trick. For the benefit of others;

I did the Z wave network backup on the 'backup page' before I did a full backup and saved it to my mac. Backup page also came back with 'correct' zwave network backup date. However it turned out that the 'zwave settings page' still mentioned a back up of an older date. Within the advanced settings of this page you can also create a zwave network backup; do it here. Check if the date is updated correctly and then create a new full backup via de backup page. This backup could be restored successfully to the Vera3

Offline RexBeckett

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3891
  • Karma: +483/-12
Re: Smartest way to transfer devices to new Vera?
« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2015, 05:41:10 pm »
Quote
Indeed. That did the trick.

That is great news. I hope you enjoy your new Vera. You now have more room for fun plugins.  ;)