We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Firmware upgrade failed! [Solved]  (Read 5578 times)

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5630
  • Karma: +157/-382
Re: Firmware upgrade failed! [Solved]
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2015, 02:18:29 pm »
Quote
I'm assuming your tying the MAC address to an IP in the router?

Yes indeed. Some routers make it easy by allowing you to select the device from a list of currently connected clients and then specifying the new, fixed IP address.

I used to run alot only DDWRT routers, but I got a new NETGEAR R8000 and software don't end up so great when moving away from the stock. So I haven't played with it. I'll have to dig a bit in this netgear software.

Offline mcgyver210

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Firmware upgrade failed! [Solved]
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2015, 03:04:00 pm »
My Asus Router is very easy to set Static Ips, I just click a Lock & Save if I want to use existing one or change it if I want to.
Newbie Starting over soon due to total house fire loss
Vera Edge UI7 (Started with Vera3 UI5 - UI7) |Sclage BE469NX CAM 716, BE369NX CAM 716 | Kwikset 912TNL TRL ZW 11P SMT | Nest Plugin | Iris/Ge On/Off Switch| Iris Garage Door| More to come as wife lets me that is LOL

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-143
Re: Firmware upgrade failed! [Solved]
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2015, 09:17:47 pm »
What we are talking about is not technically a static IP address ...
It is a reserved DPCP address.

Vera still makes a DHCP request for an IP address ... the router returns the same address ... as a result it looks like a static IP address.

If it were a Static IP address ... Vera would NOT request an IP address from a DHCP server (Most routers have an internal DHCP server).

Offline mcgyver210

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Firmware upgrade failed! [Solved]
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2015, 10:40:57 pm »

What we are talking about is not technically a static IP address ...
It is a reserved DPCP address.

Vera still makes a DHCP request for an IP address ... the router returns the same address ... as a result it looks like a static IP address.

If it were a Static IP address ... Vera would NOT request an IP address from a DHCP server (Most routers have an internal DHCP server).

Thanks for the detailed description. I think routers call it static for a simplicity but I may be incorrect since I am definitely not a router expert.

Either way I like learning new things.


Sent from my iPhone
Newbie Starting over soon due to total house fire loss
Vera Edge UI7 (Started with Vera3 UI5 - UI7) |Sclage BE469NX CAM 716, BE369NX CAM 716 | Kwikset 912TNL TRL ZW 11P SMT | Nest Plugin | Iris/Ge On/Off Switch| Iris Garage Door| More to come as wife lets me that is LOL