Author Topic: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app  (Read 11855 times)

Offline RoChess

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2015, 12:43:37 pm »
How many devices are you running on your vera set up?

2x Acer 21.5" Android touchscreen AIO
1x Samsung S2
1x Samsung S3
1x Nexus 7 1st gen
1x Nexus 7-LTE 2nd gen
1x LG Pad 7-LTE

All running ImperiHome, but probably a max of 3 devices simultaneously.

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2015, 07:41:08 pm »
How many devices are you running on your vera set up?

What are you trying to do?  Control the phones with the Vera app or just control vera with the app?  I have two phones controlled by vera but 5 that can control vera. 
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2015, 07:55:51 pm »
How many devices are you running on your vera set up?

What are you trying to do?  Control the phones with the Vera app or just control vera with the app?  I have two phones controlled by vera but 5 that can control vera.

If I understand correctly, I am trying to do both. 

If somebody triggers my outdoor motion sensor I have a scene in vera that wakes the phone and opens the corresponding page to the needed camera.  I also have a "security" page that gets brought up showing what security device has been tripped.

In the area of "phone controlling vera" I have a page where I can arm and disarm my security system from the phone by executing scenes in vera. 

So far, one phone.  I was thinking of doing similar set ups in different parts of the house.  Probably two more touchscreens.   Weekend project...but to be honest ImperiHome is really easy so should only take a bit.  My main concern was I would make U17 wonky/unstable by adding to many ImperiHome "devices."
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2015, 08:04:37 pm »
How many devices are you running on your vera set up?

What are you trying to do?  Control the phones with the Vera app or just control vera with the app?  I have two phones controlled by vera but 5 that can control vera.

If I understand correctly, I am trying to do both. 

If somebody triggers my outdoor motion sensor I have a scene in vera that wakes the phone and opens the corresponding page to the needed camera.  I also have a "security" page that gets brought up showing what security device has been tripped.

In the area of "phone controlling vera" I have a page where I can arm and disarm my security system from the phone by executing scenes in vera. 

So far, one phone.  I was thinking of doing similar set ups in different parts of the house.  Probably two more touchscreens.   Weekend project...but to be honest ImperiHome is really easy so should only take a bit.  My main concern was I would make U17 wonky/unstable by adding to many ImperiHome "devices."

Ok, that makes sense.  I guess can't fully answer but I have 2 and everything seems to be working fine.  I'm also still on UI5.  Let us know how it goes :)
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #19 on: April 24, 2015, 12:48:10 pm »
4 Touchscreens up and running.  No meltdown yet.....

3 old Droid 4's positioned around house with a cheap 49 dollar android 7 inch touchscreen. 

Have a nice outdoor motion sensor working within a scene to bring up the appropriate cameras when someone approaches the house.  Very nice.

I will re-post if edge melts.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2015, 08:58:08 am »
...added a rooted kindle to the mix.  I don't need 5 TS's but more curious about the limits.  Each TS is part of the same scene which pops up the appropriate cameras when sensing movement. 

I will probably retire one of the droid's since the kindle screen is bigger.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #21 on: April 27, 2015, 03:50:53 pm »
Nice!  Thanks for the update.
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline dannieboiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2015, 01:15:10 am »
I followed your instruction and was able to get motion detection to work. Screen turns on everytime. however, the screen off time out remains active even if you're using the phone, so it would blink at the interval set and turn back on. How can we overcome this issue?

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2015, 03:22:03 pm »
I followed your instruction and was able to get motion detection to work. Screen turns on everytime. however, the screen off time out remains active even if you're using the phone, so it would blink at the interval set and turn back on. How can we overcome this issue?
Sorry for the delayed reply.  I was never notified of your post.  I primarily intended this to be used on old phones that are dedicated as control panels.  I don't know if this will be good to use on a phone that you use for purposes other than this.  It will probably drain your battery pretty fast.
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline emknowledge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2015, 12:03:26 pm »
I HAVE FOLLOWS STEP-BY-STEP PROCEDURES FROM YOUR VIDEOS HERE.

Part 1: Setting up the ImperiHome App - http://youtu.be/5W6C4psWs-4
Part 2: Turn on/off screen using Tasker - http://youtu.be/qIh1xXGVXeI
Part 3: Install & Configure the ImperiHome Vera App - http://youtu.be/wF88xN_pO54

I am still having trouble getting the tablet or phone to come on let alone turn off and start Imperihome app. Everything looks just as you did in videos, but mine does not perform as such. A ny clue as to what could be the problem. Thanks.

Offline ando1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2015, 01:13:46 pm »

Have a nice outdoor motion sensor working within a scene to bring up the appropriate cameras when someone approaches the house.  Very nice.


Hi,

I was wondering what you are using as the outdoor motion sensor as I am also looking for these.

Thanks,
Andy

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #26 on: August 03, 2015, 03:43:10 pm »
I HAVE FOLLOWS STEP-BY-STEP PROCEDURES FROM YOUR VIDEOS HERE.

Part 1: Setting up the ImperiHome App - http://youtu.be/5W6C4psWs-4
Part 2: Turn on/off screen using Tasker - http://youtu.be/qIh1xXGVXeI
Part 3: Install & Configure the ImperiHome Vera App - http://youtu.be/wF88xN_pO54

I am still having trouble getting the tablet or phone to come on let alone turn off and start Imperihome app. Everything looks just as you did in videos, but mine does not perform as such. A ny clue as to what could be the problem. Thanks.

Have you rooted your device.  That may be necessary for some devices (not all of mine required it but one did).
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline petewill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +20/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2015, 03:45:52 pm »

Hi,

I was wondering what you are using as the outdoor motion sensor as I am also looking for these.

Thanks,
Andy

Andy, I know you were asking Inzax but I use MySensors (http://www.mysensors.org/build/motion) for my outdoor motion sensor.  Cost me about $5.  It's not waterproof but I have it under my porch and it has been working flawlessly for over a year. 
My "How To" home automation video channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq_Evyh5PQALx4m4CQuxqkA

Offline ando1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #28 on: August 04, 2015, 06:19:53 am »

Andy, I know you were asking Inzax but I use MySensors (http://www.mysensors.org/build/motion) for my outdoor motion sensor.  Cost me about $5.  It's not waterproof but I have it under my porch and it has been working flawlessly for over a year.

@petewill:

Thanks! That looks really interesting and I am going to give it a try!

Andy

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: (Video) How to setup and configure the ImperiHome app
« Reply #29 on: August 04, 2015, 08:18:40 am »

Have a nice outdoor motion sensor working within a scene to bring up the appropriate cameras when someone approaches the house.  Very nice.


Hi,

I was wondering what you are using as the outdoor motion sensor as I am also looking for these.

Thanks,
Andy

Hey Andy.  My wireless motion sensor runs through my security panel (concord 4).  It is not a zwave device however, since vera interfaces with my security panel there is no difference I can tell on its functionality.  The motion sensor I have is an old GE model.  I tried to find the exact make however, it is not sold anymore.  It is big, old and probably not what you need.  It actually works with a door sensor placed inside the module. 

Right now, there are much better options that are smaller and work exactly the same directly through the vera module.  If you really want to know the make I can probably find it online.  The closest I could find based on pictures is a DSC outdoor module.  Mine looks close to this.  http://www.homesecuritystore.com/dsc-lc-171?
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!