Author Topic: Altsteon working on UI7  (Read 11659 times)

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2016, 03:21:57 pm »
Ok, got those downloaded and unzipped. I found a copy of WinSCP and I am downloading it.  The part the instructions lose me is when it says to 'start the daemon'.  if its running on the Vera, I don't see how to do that.  Also the part about the IP address of where the daemon is running, if its on the Vera, its obviously the IP of the Vera I assume.

Also, for a Vera Edge, I assume I use Vera 2 folder?

I wish they had a book called "Alsteon for real dummies"

thanks

Bill
« Last Edit: March 25, 2016, 03:24:10 pm by BillC »

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2016, 03:35:03 pm »
Ok, got those downloaded and unzipped. I found a copy of WinSCP and I am downloading it.  The part the instructions lose me is when it says to 'start the daemon'.  if its running on the Vera, I don't see how to do that.  Also the part about the IP address of where the daemon is running, if its on the Vera, its obviously the IP of the Vera I assume.

Also, for a Vera Edge, I assume I use Vera 2 folder?

I wish they had a book called "Alsteon for real dummies"

thanks

Bill

The directions appear to assume you are comfortable with the command line, and as such would know how to start a daemon. If you are familiar with ssh, starting the daemon is as easy as ssh-ing into the vera and running
Code: [Select]
/overlay/sbin/altsteon.

If you are not familiar with SSH, then you are going to have more difficulty. For one thing, I'm pretty sure you *have* to access the command line to add the devices to altsteon. So maybe that should be your next research project: figure out ssh :)

unfortunately, altsteon, while quite nice and powerful, is not really terribly user friendly at the moment.

Regarding binaries, for the edge I don't know. Like I said, I used the 3 binaries for both my Lite and Plus, and my thought would be that the Edge would be somewhere in-between those two and as such would also want the 3 binaries. But I really don't know.

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2016, 04:54:36 pm »
thanks, I fumbled my way through getting shell access to Vera, but now I can't figure where the files go.  The docs show the '/overlay/sbin/' directory which i don't have

bill

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2016, 05:01:40 pm »
thanks, I fumbled my way through getting shell access to Vera, but now I can't figure where the files go.  The docs show the '/overlay/sbin/' directory which i don't have

bill
Yeah, I ran into that as well. You just need to create the directory:
Code: [Select]
mkdir /overlay/sbinThen, using win scp (or whatever, but you said you were downloading that), you should be able to transfer the files into that directory that you just created.

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2016, 06:00:14 pm »
Ok, that helped.  Slowly making progress, but now I think I need to shut down the original (factory) Insteon process.  I can't find where to do that


thanks

Bill

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2016, 06:33:07 pm »
Ok, that helped.  Slowly making progress, but now I think I need to shut down the original (factory) Insteon process.  I can't find where to do that


thanks

Bill
I'm not sure I can help much with that, since I never turned on the factory insteon. I do know that you control it through the settings->insteon page of your vera, but as to the exact process once you get there, I don't know. Maybe someone else can help with that?

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2016, 06:49:30 pm »
Now I have native Insteon shut down.  I think I have altsteon installed.
I figured out how to add devices as well, but I am not sure if I have alsteon running

thanks

Bill
« Last Edit: March 25, 2016, 06:56:06 pm by BillC »

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2016, 07:30:26 pm »
Now I have native Insteon shut down.  I think I have altsteon installed.
How do you run the alsteon interface to add devices?

thanks

Bill
The first thing you need to do is start the Altsteon daemon. This will all be done from the shell access of the vera. To launch the daemon, you simply issue the command:
Code: [Select]
/overlay/sbin/altsteon Note that this *might* not work, depending on what "interface" your PLM shows up as. you might need to change that command to something like:
Code: [Select]
/overlay/sbin/altsteon -p /dev/ttyUSB1trying different numbers at the end until the output indicates success. In my experience, it has always been ttyUSB0 or ttyUSB1, almost always ttyUSB0. That is the default if you just run the first command I gave.

Once the output of that indicates it is running and talking to the plm, you can go into the command interface of altsteon with the command
Code: [Select]
overlay/sbin/altsteon_clifrom there is where you issue commands such as
Code: [Select]
add 11.22.33to add devices to the PLM (see documentation)
to get out of the altsteon_cli, issue the command
Code: [Select]
quit
you will also need to add the proper code to the startup lua to launch altsteon at boot time, that procedure is in the altsteon_instructions.txt file, as is the procedure for adding the devices to the Vera interface once they are added to the insteon plm.

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2016, 07:34:18 pm »
OK!!!

Now I feel like a real idiot.

 It all just clicked except now I am getting
root@MiOS_45002367:~# altsteon -p /dev/ttyUSB0
root@MiOS_45002367:~# Debug Level : 0
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:01] - --| Starting altsteon!
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:01] - Running on non-apple Hardware
[ERROR] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - PLM didn't respond!
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - Modem info :
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - cflag = 00000CBE
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - oflag = 00000000
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - iflag = 00000804
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - lflag = 00000000
[ERROR] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - Failed to initialize PLM.

  I have native insteon turned off.  I am not sure if I have to kill the process or just remove the interface from the GUI

so close

Thanks so much for getting me to this point.

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2016, 07:47:48 pm »
OK!!!

Now I feel like a real idiot.

 It all just clicked except now I am getting
root@MiOS_45002367:~# altsteon -p /dev/ttyUSB0
root@MiOS_45002367:~# Debug Level : 0
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:01] - --| Starting altsteon!
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:01] - Running on non-apple Hardware
[ERROR] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - PLM didn't respond!
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - Modem info :
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - cflag = 00000CBE
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - oflag = 00000000
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - iflag = 00000804
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - lflag = 00000000
[ERROR] [3/25/2016 - 18:30:11] - Failed to initialize PLM.

  I have native insteon turned off.  I am not sure if I have to kill the process or just remove the interface from the GUI

so close

Thanks so much for getting me to this point.
Couple of possibilities come to mind. The first is exactly what you said: the native insteon is still running. Try a full reboot of your vera (I typically unplug, although I'm pretty sure there is a "reboot" button in the network settings or the like) and then check the insteon tab under settings again to make sure it still shows as off/disabled.

The other is that the modem isn't on ttyUSB0 - that's where you might need to try ttyUSB1 or the like instead.

Of course, this all assumes that the PLM is functioning and talking to the vera, but if you were using the native insteon before, then this is a safe bet.

Still, progress!

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2016, 08:55:26 pm »
correction
root@MiOS_45002367:~# altsteon -t 2  -p /dev/ttyUSB0
root@MiOS_45002367:~# Debug Level : 0
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:27:25] - --| Starting altsteon!
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:27:25] - Running on non-apple Hardware
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:27:25] - PLM is devcat 3, subcat 21, address 3D.9A.25 running software rev. 158.

its running, sees the devices, but it won't recognize the traps from the leak sensor.  I can arm and disarm but no alerts
It does see the button press on the leak sensor, i get

[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:10] - 37.86.b1 is open.
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - Broadcast cmd1 = 11  cmd2 = 01
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - 37.86.b1 is open.
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - Broadcast cmd1 = 06  cmd2 = 00
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - Processing : cmd1 = 06, cmd1 = 01
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - Broadcast cmd1 = 06  cmd2 = 00
[INFO ] [3/25/2016 - 20:29:11] - Processing : cmd1 = 06, cmd1 = 01


so darn close

Bill
« Last Edit: March 25, 2016, 09:32:45 pm by BillC »

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #26 on: March 26, 2016, 12:08:27 am »
Well, I've never worked with a leak sensor, but to me that looks like normal operation, unless you are saying that there are events occurring on the sensor that aren't showing up there. Altsteon doesn't actually do anything with the data it receives- it's just a bridge from insteon to vera. If you want alerts, you still have to set up the vera interface to generate the appropriate alerts in response to the events you are interested in.

That said, while the support in altsteon for insteon devices blows away the built-in vera support, it still isn't perfect. It is possible that the functionality you want simply doesn't exist on the vera. Hopefully not, but possible.

On a different note, I noticed that you used the -t 2 switch. Given that the default value is 10 minutes, it seems to me that putting that down at 2 seconds would be excessive, probably resulting in a high load on your vera, not to mention the insteon network. In fact, I've never found a reason to change that value - when the devices are properly linked to the PLM (insteon linking, not altsteon), the devices generally notify the PLM, and thus altsteon/vera when something happens, with no need of polling. On the devices I have where this is not the case (such as when a fanlinc state is changed via another insteon device), i've simply set up a vera scene to trigger a poll of the fanlinc when the other devices does its thing. All that, however, is simply my opinion, and you are, of course, free to set up your system however works best for you :)

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #27 on: March 26, 2016, 12:19:44 am »
Thanks for the insights. You are right, I will change the timeout to default settings.
I have the device set up to text if it's tripped but it doesn't text. I saw the exact model listed in the .txt so I was hoping it would work. I may still be misunderstanding some pieces of this so I really appreciate all the help on this. Eventually I'll get it all figured out.

You mentioned PLM linking as opposed to altsteon linking. What's the difference?

Thanks

Bill

Offline ibrewster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #28 on: March 26, 2016, 01:31:07 pm »
You mentioned PLM linking as opposed to altsteon linking. What's the difference?

Thanks

Bill

By PLM linking, I mean the native insteon linking. That is, insteon devices talk directly to each other, with no need of a central controller - or, perhaps more precisely, you can set up many devices as either controllers or responders. So in my case, I have a KepadLinc and a FanLinc. I had the keypad link set up as a controller, and the fanlinc set as responder, and that works to control the fan from the KeypadLinc. I then connected my PLM to the vera, and from altsteon issued the add commands to add my keypadlinc and fanlinc (what I am referring to as altsteon linking). This worked to get the vera to talk to the devices, but the PLM/vera was still not being notified when I pressed a button on my KeypadLinc. In order to get that working, I had to use the buttons on the KeypadLinc and the PLM to set up the PLM as a responder to the KeypadLinc in addition to the FanLinc. Now that I've linked them at the insteon level, I see an event in altsteon/vera immediately whenever I press one of the buttons on the keypadlinc, and can set up scenes in response to said button presses.

The key being to link them as insteon controller/responder, completely apart from anything I did in Altsteon/Vera. Hopefully that helps clear things up, rather than just confusing the issue.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 01:32:58 pm by ibrewster »

Offline BillC

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Altsteon working on UI7
« Reply #29 on: April 01, 2016, 05:48:57 pm »
I think you figured out the problem!!  I bet I need to link the PLM to the Sensor. The PLM talks to the sensor, but not vice versa.   I have been searching and I can't find any documentation to do that.  How do I perform the PLM>sensor linking?

thanks

Bill