Author Topic: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7  (Read 7210 times)

Offline chadsell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« on: March 20, 2015, 09:39:43 pm »
I have my Ecobee3 connected to my VeraEdge via the Ecobee plugin. I can see data from the Ecobee, but I can't seem to make any changes to the set points or system heat/off/cool settings. Whenever I try to use the ecobee in a scene, the settings show up, but are all faded/greyed out and can't be changed.

I'm trying to set it up so that the thermostat shuts off (or goes to significantly lower set point) when the front door has been open for ore than a 30 seconds. I think I've got everything else set up right, but the inability to change the actual settings has proven to be quite the road block!

Does anyone else use an ecobee with UI7 and/or VeraEdge? Any tips?

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2015, 11:10:14 pm »
I can reproduce your experience using the published Ecobee plugin on UI7 1.7.1018 on a VeraEdge.  I can change the mode from Off to Heat (for example) from the UI, but not when trying to define a scene, as the choices are greyed out.  The plugin does not have this issue on UI5, so I would say this is a UI7 bug that Vera ought to fix. 

My only advice is to report this bug to Vera and hope they fix it.  If they don't fix the bug in a reasonably short timeframe, there are other home automation products (including free and open source) that work with Ecobee that don't have this sort of issue.

watou

Offline chadsell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2015, 11:56:37 pm »
Thanks, Watou. I'll let the support at micasaverde know about the bug.

Do you have recommendations for other home automation platforms that might be worth looking into?

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2015, 12:30:37 am »
Thanks, Watou. I'll let the support at micasaverde know about the bug.

Do you have recommendations for other home automation platforms that might be worth looking into?

It's hard to recommend one over the other without knowing a lot more about your objectives, but...  Ecobee can be monitored and controlled with Vera, SmartThings, IFTTT, and OpenHAB (and maybe others).  I'm personally interested in OpenHAB because it's free, open-source, very capable, runs on lots of different hardware, and is not a "black box" controlled by a private company.  (I also wrote the Ecobee and Nest bindings for it.)  That being said, it's a bit technical to set up in its current form and requires more computer knowledge to get going than pre-packaged commercial products.

watou

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2015, 12:45:52 pm »
Watou,

Don't leave us man! 😊

You still planning on supporting this at some point?  I'm still waiting for Ecobee to give access to the remote sensors so 'you' can incorporate into the plugin  ;D

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2015, 01:09:11 pm »
I'm still hanging around, and hoping that someday the Vera developers get UI7 back to the point UI5 achieved, where a plugin author can make a thermostat plugin that works correctly (i.e., can respect the various setpoints of the actual device) and looks like the "native" thermostats (has the current temperature in the right place and other UI basics).  I'm much in the same frame of mind as other plugin developers you've probably heard from in other threads.  I worry about releasing plugin updates that only fix/improve the shrinking list of things I have control over, only to be critiqued that setpoints, scenes and UI features are still obviously broken.  I continue to marvel at the state of UI7 with respect to plugins.

I hope to add support for remote sensors to the Ecobee plugin, but it's always disappointing to see the limits in UI7 that weren't there in UI5.

watou

Watou,

Don't leave us man! 😊

You still planning on supporting this at some point?  I'm still waiting for Ecobee to give access to the remote sensors so 'you' can incorporate into the plugin  ;D

Offline chadsell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2015, 08:18:58 pm »
I just stumbled across this alternate UI:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30310.0.html

I'm going to install it now and see if it fixes the problem with thermostats. The author thinks it should, but doesn't have a 'stat to test with.

Fingers crossed!

Offline chadsell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2015, 12:04:18 am »
Well, I can't seem to create new scenes in AltUI at all, yet. Not sure it it's my problem, or the UI's.

However...

Back on UI7, I tried setting up my trigger/scene with PLEG. When I got to the action, I used the "Advanced" function to "SetCurrentSetpoint." And it totally worked!

Moral of the story: Control of the ecobee3 in scenes totally works, but you have to use luup codes and/or PLEG to make it happen. No GUI buttons.

Online amg0

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2515
  • Karma: +154/-8
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2015, 04:47:13 pm »
Since then,  ALTUI scene editor is finished, you may want to give it another trial
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30310.0.html

Good luck

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2015, 08:33:51 pm »
I am currently testing the changes described in the issues for the v1.2 version of the plugin:

https://github.com/watou/vera-ecobee/issues?q=is%3Aopen+is%3Aissue+milestone%3Av1.2

11. Point to official api.ecobee.com endpoints
12. Repoint external icon references to http://watou.github.io/vera-ecobee/icons/*.png
13. Map home/away buttons to set hold for named climates for non-EMS thermostats
14. Add temperature, humidity and/or motion devices for remote sensors
16. Change min poll frequency to 3 minutes per API docs

When I think it's solid enough, I will submit it to the apps site for Vera and post same here.

A later v1.3 will have minor improvements when running on UI7, but the above changes are disruptive enough that I decided to release them first.

watou

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2015, 11:35:07 pm »
I am currently testing the changes described in the issues for the v1.2 version of the plugin:

https://github.com/watou/vera-ecobee/issues?q=is%3Aopen+is%3Aissue+milestone%3Av1.2

11. Point to official api.ecobee.com endpoints
12. Repoint external icon references to http://watou.github.io/vera-ecobee/icons/*.png
13. Map home/away buttons to set hold for named climates for non-EMS thermostats
14. Add temperature, humidity and/or motion devices for remote sensors
16. Change min poll frequency to 3 minutes per API docs

When I think it's solid enough, I will submit it to the apps site for Vera and post same here.

A later v1.3 will have minor improvements when running on UI7, but the above changes are disruptive enough that I decided to release them first.

watou

Such a good line: 

but the above changes are disruptive enough that I decided to release them first   :-)

Assume you are not ready for us to beta test?

Offline NickTheGreat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +2/-5
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2015, 02:35:09 am »
I am currently testing the changes described in the issues for the v1.2 version of the plugin:

https://github.com/watou/vera-ecobee/issues?q=is%3Aopen+is%3Aissue+milestone%3Av1.2

11. Point to official api.ecobee.com endpoints
12. Repoint external icon references to http://watou.github.io/vera-ecobee/icons/*.png
13. Map home/away buttons to set hold for named climates for non-EMS thermostats
14. Add temperature, humidity and/or motion devices for remote sensors
16. Change min poll frequency to 3 minutes per API docs

When I think it's solid enough, I will submit it to the apps site for Vera and post same here.

A later v1.3 will have minor improvements when running on UI7, but the above changes are disruptive enough that I decided to release them first.

watou
I like the sound of being able to use the remote sensors in Vera

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2015, 05:37:01 am »
All of this is pretty exciting news! That would enable coordination of the Econet registers to the ecobee!
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2015, 06:44:07 am »
@tomgru: As long as you and other users don't disagree with the descriptions of these changes (at github), I don't see the need to have a beta test.  I will probably feel ready to upload v1.2 later today, and then it will take the Vera people some time to review the changes.

@anhman and @NickTheGreat: The remote Ecobee sensors appear as standard motion and temperature sensors, so you ought to be able to automate with them.  Please note that if your wireless remote sensor goes offline, the device will set CommFailure to 1 and CurrentTemperature to -500 (if using Fahrenheit, or equivalent in Celsius).  Also, the motion sensors can take up to 3 minutes to trip (the new minimum polling cycle), and stay tripped until 30 minutes after last motion (according to Ecobee).

watou

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Ecobee3 control from VeraEdge UI7
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2015, 04:25:38 pm »
I've submitted v1.2 of the Ecobee plugin to the app store, and updated the documentation:

http://watou.github.io/vera-ecobee/

The docs have a quick screen shot of some sensor devices in UI5.

Hopefully v1.2 will be made available soon.  Once it installs, it will take one or two 3-minute polls before your sensors start to show up, and then you will probably have to refresh your browser.

Please let me know detailed problem reports in case I missed something.

Regards,
watou