Author Topic: Next version in development (1.0)  (Read 21492 times)

Offline TwannieM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2015, 06:18:57 am »
I have a question.
When I click on a switch in the Vera UI7 webinterface (from a 433Mhz device) the light turns on right away BUT the circling of the "hour glass" runs for about 15 seconds. During that time the webinterface does noet respond/cannot be used.
However, When I click on the off or on button in the "control" tab the webinterface can be used right away.

Do you know what causes this? This only is the case with 433Mhz modules.

Offline strips

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2015, 01:01:44 am »
I have a question.
When I click on a switch in the Vera UI7 webinterface (from a 433Mhz device) the light turns on right away BUT the circling of the "hour glass" runs for about 15 seconds. During that time the webinterface does noet respond/cannot be used.
However, When I click on the off or on button in the "control" tab the webinterface can be used right away.

Do you know what causes this? This only is the case with 433Mhz modules.
I have that too but have mostly used rfxcom stuff. Kind of annoying.

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2015, 04:00:20 am »
I have a question.
When I click on a switch in the Vera UI7 webinterface (from a 433Mhz device) the light turns on right away BUT the circling of the "hour glass" runs for about 15 seconds. During that time the webinterface does noet respond/cannot be used.
However, When I click on the off or on button in the "control" tab the webinterface can be used right away.

Do you know what causes this? This only is the case with 433Mhz modules.
I have that too but have mostly used rfxcom stuff. Kind of annoying.

When I tested the plugin with UI7 6 months ago, I noticed something similar. It was reported to the forum even if I don't find my message today.
I assume it is a UI7 bug ... or feature !

Offline TwannieM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2015, 04:14:45 am »
Maybe it has to do with the fact the 433Mhz plugin reporting back the state after such a long time? Or not reporting at all?

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2015, 04:24:10 am »
Maybe it has to do with the fact the 433Mhz plugin reporting back the state after such a long time? Or not reporting at all?

That is only a UI problem. The device state is updated quickly but this update is not immediately taken into account in the UI.
Maybe something changed but as I got no answer...

Offline TwannieM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2015, 06:05:59 am »
I don't understand, if it is a UI problem, why is it only happening with the 433Mhz devices?
Maybe I should contact support to find out?

Offline lolodomo

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #22 on: June 13, 2015, 06:21:14 am »
I don't understand, if it is a UI problem, why is it only happening with the 433Mhz devices?
Maybe I should contact support to find out?

It is apparently happening for devices managed by MY plugin.
Either it s a more UI7 generic problem for all plugins that create/use child devices, or it is a specific problem with my plugin, something that could have be changed in UI7 that would require a code change in my plugin that I am not aware.
I don't have this problem with UI5.

Offline TwannieM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #23 on: June 13, 2015, 07:30:56 am »
I see, so we have to wait for you to move over to UI7  ;)

Offline SchattenMann

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2015, 01:33:37 pm »
Hi there,
I recently bought some Imagintronix Soil Moisture sensors.
However they don't seem to work out-of-box with the plugin, mostly because we don't have the option to enable Imagintronix protocol.
With the help of Martyn i was able to make some changes to the necessary files so one can now enable Imagintronix - i'm attaching the required files in case someone needs it.
Keep in mind though that although the Sensors now "work" i found them very unreliable - i'm not sure if this is something on the sensor hardware itself or if
some sort of communication issue with the RFXtrx.
I am now trying to add a new variable SignalStrength to every device since that would be helpful to troubleshoot some situation - is this something you are planing to do yourself lolodomo?
thanks

Offline b_weijenberg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #25 on: July 04, 2015, 06:05:24 am »
The latest RFXtrx firmware has improvements for the Imagintronix protocol.

To extend the transmit range of the sensor you can replace the coil antenna inside the sensor by a 17.5cm wire.
Drill a hole in the enclosure for the wire and use silicon sealant to make it water tight.

Offline SchattenMann

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #26 on: July 05, 2015, 12:50:05 pm »
The latest RFXtrx firmware has improvements for the Imagintronix protocol.

To extend the transmit range of the sensor you can replace the coil antenna inside the sensor by a 17.5cm wire.
Drill a hole in the enclosure for the wire and use silicon sealant to make it water tight.

thanks, that's actually very interesting.
I'm using firmware version 242 but i'll try with 243 and see if it gets any better.
Regarding range, what kind of wire are you using? copper wire? gouge? isolation?
thanks

Offline b_weijenberg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #27 on: July 05, 2015, 03:06:21 pm »
a 1mm thin copper wire

Offline glith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2015, 02:27:52 pm »
I'd like to suggest a feature if possible...
I would love to see a list of seen devices the last x couples of minutes or so, maybe 1 hour,  and from that list select which devices I would like to add to the Vera system.

I have lots of neighbours who use 433 devices and I do not want them to automatically be added, but that is the only way I can see them now.. Or maybe I have missed something. =)

Offline Andr

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Next version in development (1.0)
« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2015, 07:35:34 pm »
I may be blind or something, but i can't get this to work. :(

Recently bought a Vera Edge (UI7) and a RfxcomE, both with latest firmware.

I upload the files to my Vera (first tried with beta3, then with 1.0/trunk)

Create a device, set ?Upnp Device Filename? to "D_RFXtrx.XML", everything else left to default.

Going to Serial Port configuration and set Baud to 38400
Set "Used by device" to "[]" (because i didnt name my device in the step above.)

Then what?

My new device get 4 menues: Control, Setting, advanced, Device Options.
In advanced/variables the IOPortPath is /dev/ttyUSB0

I have verified that my rfx work in my pc.